Newly Diagnosed Cat

Discussion in 'Feline Health - (Welcome & Main Forum)' started by Mary Hendricks, Aug 31, 2020.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. Mary Hendricks

Mary Hendricks New Member

Hello Everyone, my cat, Willow, was diagnosed with diabetes back in mid June and has since been on insulin, twice daily, and RX food. She was recently moved to 3 units twice a day and her symptoms and glucose are improving, however, her fructosamine test results are still showing in the “poor” range. I’m very diligent with her insulin shots and she is on much less food than before her diagnosis. I’m just curious how long it took some of y’all to get your cats regulated. My vet now wants to move to 3.5 units, twice daily, and I really don’t want her to become hypoglycemic. Suggestions or thoughts? Thank you, all! I’m new to this stuff and could use some support.

jt and trouble (GA) likes this.
  2. Nan & Amber (GA)

Nan & Amber (GA) Well-Known Member

Hello and welcome!

What kind of insulin are you using? What kind of Rx food (brand, wet vs. dry)?

Most of us here home-test blood glucose rather than relying on fructosamine tests. Not only does that help keep your kitty safe from hypoglycemia :nailbiting:, we find that having that more immediate "read" on progress greatly facilitates regulation and sometimes even remission. Would you be willing to learn to home-test?

3. jt and trouble (GA)

jt and trouble (GA) Well-Known Member

Welcome to FDMB We are happy to see you here.
    Theres a ton of information here with good people to help you digest it all. Regulation is different with every cat. So theres no one set answer.
    I think it will serve you to start here:
    New? How You Can Help Us Help You!

For starters you can answer Nans questions .:p that will help us help you.
    We are a dedicated group of kitty cat lovers all tied by the same thing feline diabetes. Welcome to our family:bighug:
    jeanne

4. Mary Hendricks