? Newly diagnosed cat and would like some advice

Christine&Arnold

Member Since 2025
Hello I am Christine and my cat Arnold got diagnosed last month. My cat is a 10 year old male housecat and he started showing symptoms in the beginning of December. I originally thought he had dental problems (which he has) but turns out he also had diabetes.
He has been on ProZinc since February 3rd and with consultations from the vet we changed his dosis February 11th.
We changed his food from Hills i/d til Hills m/d and has since changed to Mac's wet food.
I was recommended to post his SS here and get an extra set of eyes on his journey with diabetes.
Since I am very new to the diagnosis and care, I really want to do the best I can for my cat, so any helpful advice, tips and tricks are greatly appreciated!

I would very much like to have some insight on his dosis and if I should continue with the current amount?
Any advice on what I can do better in the future?

Thank you many times in advance and I hope to learn more.


I am still learning the SS, but I keep it updated daily:
https://docs.google.com/spreadsheets/d/1MgIJPlyXPJRBf2UAaF1VvIGCUUYmRWlCXzNnZd5n4ew/edit?gid=5#gid=5
 
Hello I am Christine and my cat Arnold got diagnosed last month. My cat is a 10 year old male housecat and he started showing symptoms in the beginning of December. I originally thought he had dental problems (which he has) but turns out he also had diabetes.
He has been on ProZinc since February 3rd and with consultations from the vet we changed his dosis February 11th.
We changed his food from Hills i/d til Hills m/d and has since changed to Mac's wet food.
I was recommended to post his SS here and get an extra set of eyes on his journey with diabetes.
Since I am very new to the diagnosis and care, I really want to do the best I can for my cat, so any helpful advice, tips and tricks are greatly appreciated!

I would very much like to have some insight on his dosis and if I should continue with the current amount?
Any advice on what I can do better in the future?

Thank you many times in advance and I hope to learn more.


I am still learning the SS, but I keep it updated daily:
https://docs.google.com/spreadsheets/d/1MgIJPlyXPJRBf2UAaF1VvIGCUUYmRWlCXzNnZd5n4ew/edit?gid=5#gid=5
@Suzanne & Darcy
 
Hello Christine and welcome! It looks like you are doing an amazing job helping your Arnold with his diabetes. I would love to help you and I would really like to talk to you tomorrow. For right now, don’t change his dose. He is starting to see some really good numbers recently and I see you changed his food recently as well. Tell me about this Mac’s food. Do you know what percentage of carbs it is? It looks like he is doing very well on this food — at least with improved BG numbers. Please tell me what his feeding schedule is? When and how much is he eating. You are doing so great on the BG testing, although I am a bit worried about you getting enough sleep! I see how much you love Arnold. :bighug:
 
Hello Christine and welcome! It looks like you are doing an amazing job helping your Arnold with his diabetes. I would love to help you and I would really like to talk to you tomorrow. For right now, don’t change his dose. He is starting to see some really good numbers recently and I see you changed his food recently as well. Tell me about this Mac’s food. Do you know what percentage of carbs it is? It looks like he is doing very well on this food — at least with improved BG numbers. Please tell me what his feeding schedule is? When and how much is he eating. You are doing so great on the BG testing, although I am a bit worried about you getting enough sleep! I see how much you love Arnold. :bighug:
The food was one of the recommended ones on the SS with different foods with lower carbs. I bought 2 different kinds and they should both be below 5%
He lost quite a bit of weight before the diagnosis, so he has access to food all the time. He is still new to wet food, so he is a bit picky with the consistency of it, I have to mash it completely and mix it with water for him. So far I am using one can(200gr) every day, but he always has access to food.
 
The food was one of the recommended ones on the SS with different foods with lower carbs. I bought 2 different kinds and they should both be below 5%
He lost quite a bit of weight before the diagnosis, so he has access to food all the time. He is still new to wet food, so he is a bit picky with the consistency of it, I have to mash it completely and mix it with water for him. So far I am using one can(200gr) every day, but he always has access to food.
@Suzanne & Darcy
 
@Christine&Arnold
Hi Christine
Here is the information we need for your signature. It's at the end of everyone's post in gray letters
Just click on your name up top and then tap signature and add this information.
  • Add info we need to help you:
    • Caregiver & kitty's name
    • DX: Date
    • Name of Insulin (do not include dose or frequency)
    • Name of your meter
    • Diet: "LC wet" or "dry food" or "combo"
    • Dosing: TR or SLGS or Custom (if applicable)
    • DKA or other recent health issue (if applicable)
    • Bexacat or Senvelgo (if applicable) and dates
    • Acro, IAA, or Cushings (if applicable)
    • Spreadsheet link. Please put the signature link on the bottom line of your signature information, on its own, so it is easy to find.
    • Please do not put any information about your location in the signature for security reasons. If you wish to add your country location, please add it to your profile.
Be sure to click the 'Save Changes' button at the bottom. If you need help urgently it is important we know these things at a glance. We don’t want to waste valuable time finding out information.
 
@Christine&Arnold
Hi Christine
Here is the information we need for your signature. It's at the end of everyone's post in gray letters
Just click on your name up top and then tap signature and add this information.
  • Add info we need to help you:
    • Caregiver & kitty's name
    • DX: Date
    • Name of Insulin (do not include dose or frequency)
    • Name of your meter
    • Diet: "LC wet" or "dry food" or "combo"
    • Dosing: TR or SLGS or Custom (if applicable)
    • DKA or other recent health issue (if applicable)
    • Bexacat or Senvelgo (if applicable) and dates
    • Acro, IAA, or Cushings (if applicable)
    • Spreadsheet link. Please put the signature link on the bottom line of your signature information, on its own, so it is easy to find.
    • Please do not put any information about your location in the signature for security reasons. If you wish to add your country location, please add it to your profile.
Be sure to click the 'Save Changes' button at the bottom. If you need help urgently it is important we know these things at a glance. We don’t want to waste valuable time finding out information.

Hi Welcome to FDR, we are here to help you in this journey, My Corky uses the same insulin ProZinc, it's been a long road, but a couple of years later we are seeing great results, ProZinc is a great insulin, awesome that you are home testing and have your SS and signature set up. Make sure you always test feed and shoot, feed low carb foods between 0-10% carbs, also create a HYPO KYT this needs to include some Medium carb food between 11-15%, some High carb food between 16-24% and some KARO Syrup or Honey, and a small no-needle syringe,(to give the syrup) this is in case Arnold's BG goes below 50, we can help you bring the BG up to safe numbers with food, the syrup and honey are a QUICK FIX, then the food in increments of every 1/2 hour will bring the BG safe, we can guide you along if that was to happen, just place 911 in front of a new title with the low BG and someone will be within you in no time. Arnold's BG numbers looked much better yesterday, keep asking questions no concern is a small concern, there will always someone that will step in to assist you, I cannot help you with dosing matters, but any other concern such as feeding , low BG, mostly anything , but dosing I am here for you, again welcome to you and Arnold:bighug::bighug::bighug::cat::cat:
 
Last edited:
Back
Top