Hello!!
Welcome to the Lantus Club!!! Once Zazzy starts using Lantus you will start posting in the Lantus Basaglar and Levemir Insulin support group (ISG) which you can access from the main FDMB page.
Awesome job getting a head start on BG testing and Feeding wet food! you are well on your way to success already

like others mentioned, the next steps here (when you get a chance) will be setting up your signature and a spreadsheet these tools are invaluable to member here who want to support and help you along the way on this journey.
A few beginner pointers for starting in the Lantus world ( sorry because I will probably repeat some of the good advice you’ve already received):
When it comes to dosing with Lantus we follow two methods here: Start Low Go Slow, and Tight Regulation. Have a look at the description of these methods
Here and decide which one is best for you. Once you decide, add it to your signature so that members here can provide feedback for dosing as you move ahead.
In both TR and SLGS. We only increase or decrease the dose by 0.25u at a time. How long you hold a dose depends also on whether you follow TR or SLGS. Both TR and SLGS methods were designed to be used with human glucometers but you can also use a pet monitor if you prefer.
Although this is a bit of a repeat of the above given information, a lot of members here prefer to get the Lantus pens instead of the vial, they come in a set of 5 x 3ml pens. We like these because you only have to use one at a time, they aren't breakable, and you don't risk contamination / loss of efficacy in all of the pens at once when you use them. This means that you basically purchase a years worth of insulin in one go. We use the pens as if they were a vial, when you take the cap off of them you will see it has a similar top to a vial that you can draw insulin from using a u100 syringe. Some people here order there insulin from Marks Marine Pharmacy in Canada since it is more affordable than buying in the states. In Canada we don’t need a script to get insulin but when you order from Canada online from the states you will have to send them your prescription
We use u100 syringes with 0.5u markings and 8mm needle, you can get the relion brand at walmart, and some people have luck finding other brands for better prices at Costco. We use the smaller markings for help with fine dosing since we increase or decrease dosage by 0.25u at a time. So the 0.5u markers are a must
When it comes to testing blood you can use either a BG monitor for humans or pets, but keep in mind that dosing methods for Lantus are designed around human monitors. Additionally you will save a literal fortune if you use a human monitor... especially If you’re from the states
Some general advice for when you start looking around the Lantus, Basaglar, & Levemir group (LB&L) definitely read all the stickies at the top of the LB&L ISG especially around how to recognize and treat hypoglycemia and learn the information about how Lantus is a depot insulin and the way it works.
You will have to wait a few days for the Lantus to kick in since it is depot style and you will need to wait for the depot to build. Don’t be discouraged, it takes a few days.
Post daily if you can, only one post a day since it’s a busy forum, make your title in the following general format:
Date, Cat’s Name, AMPS value, additional testing values during the day, PMPS value.
Additional testing values are good to add to the title if you have them because experienced members may be able to notice if Zazzy has entered a dangerous situation that needs action, or may be able to provide feedback on dosage amounts.
You can edit the title with updates on your latest tests as the day goes by or add a question to the title if you end up with a question by the end of the day. For example you could start with this:
07/16 Zazzy AMPS 300
And end up by the end of the day having a title like this:
? 07/16 Zazzy AMPS 300 Starting Lantus, Advice / Tips wanted
In your post, link the previous days post at the beginning so that members can easily follow your progress backward and provide more valuable feedback.
The LB&L forum can be really overwhelming when you first go in, but don’t be intimidated! It is a really supportive group, you’ll like it over there because we’re all so awesome

Let us know how everything goes sourcing your insulin and getting your BG testing set up.
I’m looking forward to Zazzy’s first post over in LB&L land! See you the.
