Newly diagnosed - any tips?

annie coscione

Member Since 2026
Hi, so happy to find this board!
Squiggy was diagnosed with diabetes on 2/27/26.
Prior to that we were at the ER in Jan where he was diagnosed with pancreatitis. The high glucose number was disregarded as "stress". I pushed his regular vet for a urinalysis and it confirmed diabetes. He is had been on 1 unit twice daily of Vetsulin and Hills Gluco Support food. I just got a meter to check his levels. Both readings were around 320 (4 hours and 8 hours post insulin injection). Any insight or advice on why his numbers would still be high? He is drinking less water, urinating less, and acting more like himself (grooming, etc). Thank you!!!
 
Welcome to FDMB
GREAT! You will be home testing, you should test prior to shots and at least 3-4 times during the day, however the best insulin for cats are ProZinc and Lantus they are a12-hour insulin easy on the cat Vetsulin/ Caninsulin is a dog insulin it hits hard and fast in a cat! As for food Hills any “prescribed food “ contain anywhere from 18-25% carbs cats cannot digest carbs
Diabetic cats need to have a diet of wet can or raw foods between 0-10% carbs so no dry , prescribed or grazing you should feed with a schedule the two main meals before shots and 3-4 small meals or snacks during the Dayton keep the insulin in check, a non diabetic cats’ glucose level is between 50-120, when transitioning from high carbs to low carbs it should be a slow process not to upset the stomach or cause a downward spike in BG diabetes is diagnosed with blood not urine, did your vet tested to see if there were Ketones present? Keep asking we are here for you
 
Thank you! His urinalysis had a trace amount of ketones in it. He has always been on pretty low carb wet food (sheba salmon pate and weruva chicken pouches). The Hills they gave me was canned "Gluco Support". I will have to check the carb % on it, I don't love the ingredients in it. He now eats twice a day (8am and 8pm) and gets his insulin 5-10 mins after eating. This morning prior eating his glucose was 326, very similar to yesterdays numbers. I would think after 12 hours that number would be lower.
 
The Hills food is over 18% carbs and not good for your cat in order to regulate Squiggy to good numbers you should tell your vet you want to switch insulin to either ProZinc or Lantus and that you will feel more comfortable staring at a lower dose, the Vetsulin hits hard and fast you may see decent BG after shot but it will go right back to the 300’ this is not good for Squiggy’s system, make sure he has several meal/snacks during the day this helps to get rid of Ketones
 
The Hills food is over 18% carbs and not good for your cat in order to regulate Squiggy to good numbers you should tell your vet you want to switch insulin to either ProZinc or Lantus and that you will feel more comfortable staring at a lower dose, the Vetsulin hits hard and fast you may see decent BG after shot but it will go right back to the 300’ this is not good for Squiggy’s system, make sure he has several meal/snacks during the day this helps to get rid of Ketones
a diabetic cat needs to have a diet of wet can or raw foods between 0-10% carbs a feeding schedule the two main meals before each shot and at least 3-4 small meals or snacks during the day, so no high carbs "prescribed" (save your money) no grazing, no kibbles or high carb treats, below is an approved Drs food list the third column contains the carb % for each food, transitioning from any high arb to low carbs has to be slow process, you do not want to upset the stomach as well as it will cause a dive in the glucose level. so testing when you begin the transition at least 2 hours after shot and 3-4 times during the day will be safer
 
That’s a very high increase first the glucose levels will always be much higher at the vets office due to stress, and increasing to such high dose can be a danger for a hypoglycemic episode, and Vetsulin/ Caninsulin hits hard and fast in a cat, you need to home test before each shot and several times during the day, the” Gluco support” food is all wrong for a diabetic cat is very high in carbs, please do test him as soon as you can, I’m concerned about such a high dose increase, you are new to this you need to feel comfortable with his diabetes first and a smaller dose increase increment of 0.25u at a time is what is recommended I do not give dosing advice, but it’s been 4 years learning
I will tag a member that can give input on dosing, make sure your cat eats several small meals or snacks during the day as well, did you ask for an insulin change??
@Suzanne & Darcy
 
The vet comes to the house, I don't think he was too stressed. Plus, I was testing him 4 times a day with no change in his BG. Yesterday his BG was 244 4hrs post injection. Switched him back to his old food which is low carb and has better ingredients. I asked for different insulin, they said no.
 
Did you let the vet know that Caninsulin is for dogs,although I’m sure he knows or should know this
 
The vet comes to the house, I don't think he was too stressed. Plus, I was testing him 4 times a day with no change in his BG. Yesterday his BG was 244 4hrs post injection. Switched him back to his old food which is low carb and has better ingredients. I asked for different insulin, they said no.


You're paying the vet for a service. If you're not getting good service, it would be best to find a new vet. Is there another mobile vet you can use? Or could you take your cat to a vet office? What reason did the vet give you for not using a different insulin?

There's a 2025 guide to managing diabetes here that you can read and share with the vet: 2025 iCatCare consensus guidelines on the diagnosis and management of diabetes mellitus in cats
 
Back
Top