Newly Diagnosed annnd....Somogyi?

Status
Not open for further replies.

thatgirlblu

Member Since 2013
Hi there, my name is Blu, and I have a beautiful 11 year old kitty boy named Fluffy who was very recently diagnosed with diabetes. Unfortunately because I, like many before me, had NO idea that commercial dry cat food was so awful for cats (he's had tummy problems his whole life, always used to scarf-n-barf wet food, and almost all food wet or dry made him itchy and vomit a lot, this Purina dry stuff I found from an old vet was the only thing he didn't puke or get sick on so unbeknownst to me about the very high carbs and bad stuff I thought I was doing him a favor) so he's been on a high carb dry food most of his life. I noticed he was peeing a lot and drinking more so I immediately took him to the vet 2 weeks ago. They did blood tests and said he had diabetes. They said it was not anywhere close to the worst cases they've seen and that I caught it extremely early so the outlook was very good. They started him on Vetsulin twice daily (every 12 hours) at 2 units each dose. They also recommended Hill's brand w/d food which I declined to purchase until I could go home and research it (which is when I discovered thanks to Dr. Lisa Pierson DVM of catinfo.org that it was NOT what I wanted to feed my cat). Instead I slowly started switching him to a natural higher quality much lower carbs and higher protein dry food (ya know, with real meat, heh...but wait, there's more) sort of as a buffer to transition him to 90% wet diet, it took me a week of mixing two foods, and giving him small tastes of wet, bear in mind this was also his first week of insulin. Unfortunately it is hardly an option to give him 100% wet as we unfortunately live in a studio apartment (though a large one at that, but still) without rooms to separate the 2 cats in, and my female freaks out and refuses to eat if I put her in the bathroom, and if she doesn't finish hers he eats it, she lets him, and HE cries and freaks out if placed in the bathroom, so there is no extra wet to go back to in the middle of the day should he really need it, so I'm at a loss there, and since his BG gets so low between meals I feel I have to leave out like a 1/4 cup or so of the higher quality dry just in case he needs to eat in between (he does really good about nibbling in only very tiny amounts when I have noticed he's low BG). I bought a blood glucose monitor (Relion Confirm) and have been testing him through out the week during the food change. This is where it gets bad.
So my vet set up once weekly BG tests in the office. Why this is even necessary since I have a BG tester at home and can simply call every week with updates, I don't know, but so be it. I TOLD them he gets REALLY stressed at the vet, he doesn't hiss bite or scratch but he runs into the corner and just shakes and gets low to the ground with his head on the floor. He gets SO nervous I can feel him shaking, ugh I feel so bad. So any way, knowing this, after a week of 2 U twice daily of Vetsulin, and me checking his BG through out the week, I told them "He will show much higher due to stress but I am sure the dose is fine until we can do a glucose curve to be sure, he is starting a wet food diet tomorrow and it is very low carb/high protein and I know doing that can cause a need for reduction in insulin dose immediately and in the interest of preventing hypo I'd like to give it another week cause I'm starting the wet food tomorrow or do a BG curve next week instead" and she INSISTED that going up to 3 U was what he needed and I was wrong and made me feel as though I'd hurt my cat by not listening. So I went home and gave him the 3 U when it was time to give him insluin.
The next day, he was less active so I checked him and his BG was low 4 hours after insulin. 90. Which is not THAT low I realize, but four hours after insulin? They told me peak low was 6 hours, and it shouldn't get much below 100, and in 4 why was he 90? Mind you this was the day we cut out 90% of all dry and fed full wet twice daily. When he was 90 I called the late night vet, they told me to give him food, they said even give a tiny handful of the dry food to bring him up a bit, and check at the 6 hour mark (2 hours later) so I did that. (Now you understand why him having no food for 12 hours between wet food makes me nervous so between wet I leave 1/4 cup of the dry out even though I don't want to :/)
2 hours later at the 6 hour mark he was 70 BG. This is AFTER eating dry and he got a treat too. Called them back to report, they said yes now it is peak time and it is the lowest of the day but 70 is a bit too low for eating and all, so watch him for signs of dropping lower. Fortunately, he did not show signs of getting lower, though I hadn't stressed him more by checking (they just said look for clinical signs now, not necessarily numbers) so I waited for another 2 or 3 hours. Checked him again. He was 549!!! And he hadn't eaten since that small handful and had mostly been resting. What the heck? I KNOW my monitor works, we checked against the vets and it works fine. SO I did some research......and I found this: http://www.vetsulin.com/vet/Cats_Monito ... mogyi.aspx which seems to explain our entire dilemma.
The site says to either decrease dose by 50% or go to 1 IU (I think that translates to what my vet called units, no? not sure) which ever is lower SO I started giving him only 1 unit every 12 hours starting last night and will call my vet when they re open tomorrow to discuss, did I do the right thing? In the short term I'd rather give him less and see his BG a little high than give him more and then maybe he gets too low and it's really dangerous. Especially since he started that all wet food the day AFTER they upped his dose. But he has never been this up and down high and low before when he was on 2 units, close to that but never that low (when he was on 2 units he'd get to 450-490 max but usually more like 350 with a low of 150)
Idk, advice would be awesome.
Also I'm gonna do a BG curve in a week any way. I was told I could do one at home, record it every hour like a diary for 12 hours, and give it to my vet (of course they checked the accuracy of their tester against mine so they can compensate the difference) so they know how the dose is affecting him.
Yeah any way, onto that advice I think I need, heh. Mind you I only learned about feline diabetes 2 weeks ago so I'm new, but I just want what's best for Fluffy! Thanks!
 
First of all, take a deep breath.

What you're seeing with the 549 is what's called a "bounce". Fluffy's body isn't used to low numbers, so his liver "panics" and sends out hormones and glucogen to quickly bring him back up to where he's "used to". This is normal. It can take up to 72 hours to "clear a bounce" though, so don't let your vet convince you to give more insulin just because of that one number.

Next...I'm sorry you are having such a hard time with your vet, especially considering the fact that Vetsulin is NOT a good choice for cats, but vets seem to think they should treat cats the same way as they treat dogs so it's something we hear a lot. The 3 insulins that are best for cats are Lantus, Levemire or Pro Zinc. Lantus, when dosed properly has been proven to get as many as 84% of cats off of insulin, so if at all possible, you need to get a prescription for one of those other insulins that work better on cats. Considering the problems you're having with your vet, you may need to start looking for another one. (I went through 3 before finding one willing to listen and work with us)

Regarding the food issue...most of us feed low carb wet foods from This Chart You need to look for the foods that are under 10% carbs (column C)

You can leave food down for Fluffy...the only time we don't want you to feed is the 2 hours prior to shooting so you get a Pre-shot number that's not influenced by food, so there's no reason you have to separate your cats if you just feed everyone the same food. If you have problems transitioning to all wet food, we can help you with that too.

It's GREAT that you're home testing!!! You do NOT need to have expensive curves done at the vet if you're home testing. Getting curves done at the vet aren't accurate anyway because of the stress they're under. Numbers can go up close to 200 points just from the stress of the vet visit.

When you can, we have a great spreadsheet program that will let you put your results in so you, your vet and all of us can see how Fluffy is doing. Here's the Link to spreadsheet/signature

Good luck with Fluffy! The members here live and breathe diabetes every day, and have a lot more experience with all things "diabetes" than the vast majority of vets ever will. Let us know how we can help you further!
 
Thank you for your reply! I contacted the manufacturer/company and they said the wet food was like 2% or 3% carbs somewhere around there and the dry is in the 20% or slightly higher range which is bad but nowhere near as bad as the food he was on before (some very high like 38% or something) plus it's high protein and real meat used grain free.
I measure 1/4 cup/2 oz and leave it out between wet food so they don't freak out, but eventually I'm going to try to cut that out. It's also just that he eats up all his wet, steals the last of hers, then I can't give him another can til night time and he seems mad about that PLUS the female cat Nikki acts like she wants the wet, scarfs down a bite or two, then walks away. So it's hard but ya know, I try.
I'm going to do a curve myself, at home I think. My husband is sort of the bread winner of the two of us right now, I only work one day a week doing home health aid stuff and he works full time so I can be home all day with the cats, so I can spend 12 hours tracking everything about his day and his BG every hour if I have to.
Money is NOT an issue. Yes we are struggling financially like many other young newlywed couples but that's because we suffered some major losses recently (someone ran a stop sign and hit us at the beginning of the year, we were both badly injured and just got back to work last month :/ ) so we do pinch pennies for sure but I tell you what I will eat Ramen noodles and spam for ever and ever and ever if it saves my kittys life and keeps him happy SO I don't care what the food cost, does any have recommendations for a canned food that comes in big size (like I know some cat foods only come in those teeny cans) at least the 5.5 or 6 oz cans I can split between the cats, each cat gets half a can day and night I think this is appropriate...any way, cost doesn't matter, what is the best food that is preferably natural/holistic like the type of food like blue buffalo or merrick makes but maybe better?
I know things like potatoes aren't great apparently they're high on the glycemic scale but apparently sweet potatoes are lower and a better alternative in food I was told and I want a food that has lots of good things and minerals and vitamins he needs and is real meat but grain free etc. I also read you can add a taurine supplement and that really helps cats out.
I did hear about Insulin Glargine is that what you're talking about? I heard cats have better remission chance on it, should I ask for that?
Also, his ears get red and he has tiny scabs sometimes from BG tests but my vet said not to clean them or use anything like rubbing alcohol or neosporin, should I? Or no? Cause some sites say to use neo others say use nothing.
Sorry for all the questions...obviously no one (especially not my vet) is helping me at all except here now with you guys on this forum so I am like, really hoping to get these answers known before I march into a new vet with my list of demands on a sheet of paper entitled "This is how I want you to treat my cat" LOL! (Okay that's an exaggeration but you get what I mean haha)
Quick background on Fluffy.....long story short, he's 11, I got him as a tiny kitten who had to separated from his Mom a couple weeks early so I had to bottle feed him, he fit in my hand...he's been my best friend ever since! Nikki is not diabetic but she picked me one day when she was found outside and I spent 2 weeks frantically searching for her owners and no one claimed her so I did! She's 8.
https://scontent-b-lga.xx.fbcdn.net/hphotos-frc1/315551_301202423238808_710549254_n.jpg <--that's fluffy :)
thanks <3
 
Welcome to FDMB!

1) Great that you're home testing - it probably saved your cat's life!

2) Read and possibly print a copy of [urp=http://www.catinfo.org]Cat Info[/url] for your vet, who is a somewhat uninformed about feline nutrition. It is written by Dr Lisa Pierson, DVM.

3) What meter are you using? We don't want a cat to go below 50 mg/dL on a human meter or 80 mg/dL on a pet specific meter. If the cat does, he earns a reduction of 0.25 units (which you eyeball as the syringes don't mark it)

4) Is the Vetsulin (aka Caninsulin) a U-40 concentration? Those syringes don't even mark half units. U-100 syringes may be used to get more accurate dosing in that case.
 
Hello and welcome to the board

BJ - she is using a relion confirm

I will try and answer some of your questions

1. food - for low carb food you want something under 10% calories from carbs "as fed". The manufacturer probably gave you the minimum guaranteed analysis by weight. Its not the same thing. However Dr Lisa Pierson as mentioned above has done a full analysis on foods and has the actual % we need. See the list from Chris & China. Thats the one you need to use.
- As a higher quality low carb wet I like Wellness grain free canned as its a good food at a reasonable price and big cans.. but there are a lot of foods on there such as some flavours of Merrick too. We can also recommend low carb dry but wet is better.
- You can also make your own food recipes here: http://www.catinfo.org

2. testing - you can definately do a curve at home - its more accurate. Using a small smear of neosporin pain relief on his ears wont do any harm. We have a spreadsheet I would recommend you use and then we can watch and advise you better : (let me know if you need help with it) : http://www.felinediabetes.com/FDMB/viewtopic.php?f=6&t=18207

3. Insulin - glargine ( lantus) is a proven insulin for cats and good for remission. This vetsulin is new and untested and I understand is harder to regulate. I would ask for Lantus/glargine. Plus you can get more support and help with that here

Wendy
 
Hi Fluffy's mom and sugardude Fluffy and welcome to the FDMB. Would you share your first name with us?

A curve does not require that you test every hour. A full curve, would be testing every 2 hours, starting at pre-shot time (AMPS = morning pre-shot test) and testing every 2 hours until the evening cycle pre-shot test (PMPS = evening pre-shot test). Any tests in between would be at the 2 hour marks. We state the test times in a plus hour format, so people in different time zones understand how many hours have elapsed since the insulin shot. So at AMPS, +2, +4, +6, +8, +10, PMPS would be your tests to get a full 12 hour cycle curve.

A mini curve is testing every 3 hours. So AMPS, +3, +6, +9, PMPS.

Which dry food are you feeding?

Here is a list of lower carb dry foods:
Dry food low carb list

It's not just the quality of the dry food, but the carb content which will make a difference. There are a couple of dry foods that are lower carb than the food you are feeding now or other grain free foods that may appear to be low carb but are not. Hills m/d (15%), Hills w/d (37%) . These might help a great deal with the BG control for a diabetic cat.

1. Natura/Innova Evo Cat & Kitten 8% carb but it has been hit by another recall. Should be back on the shelves now.
2. Young Again Zero Carb, mail order only, expensive, some cats refuse to eat the different sized chunks, a couple of cats have achieved remission on this dry food. Manufacturer claims 0% carb but carb calculators indicate 5%
3. Nature's Variety Raw Instinct chicken 7%
4. Wellness Core Grain-Free Original Formula (tan gold bag)11%
5. Stella and Chewy’s ? % this is actually a freeze dried food but can be given as a meal. Better rehydrated.

Most dry foods are coated with animal digest and that is what cats love the taste of. There is a product called Fortiflora that you can buy to sprinkle on the canned food. Similar to the animal digest coating of the dry foods and cats love the taste.

The water content in the wet food is very important for diabetic cats. When their BG (blood glucose) levels are over renal threshold, 230-280, excess glucose is excreted in the urine. This sugar rich environment makes diabetic cats more prone to UTI's and kidney infection. It's another reason we recommend wet food as much as possible in a diabetic cats diet.
 
Hi, the only pet store I can get to right now is Petsmart. I could not find any of those on the list online as them carrying any.
"Dry food low carb list

1. Natura/Innova Evo Cat & Kitten 8% carb but it has been hit by another recall. Should be back on the shelves now.
2. Young Again Zero Carb, mail order only, expensive, some cats refuse to eat the different sized chunks, a couple of cats have achieved remission on this dry food. Manufacturer claims 0% carb but carb calculators indicate 5%
3. Nature's Variety Raw Instinct chicken 7%
4. Wellness Core Grain-Free Original Formula (tan gold bag)11%
5. Stella and Chewy’s ? % this is actually a freeze dried food but can be given as a meal. Better rehydrated."

^I didn't find any of those on Petsmart website :/
Any one know one that I can get for now that Petsmart does carry? Cause Petsmart said I can return my current bag (Blue Buffalo, they said Blue Buffalo was high protein low carb, but apparently not enough) since it's hardly used and being broke this week (save my emergency vet fund) I can't afford to shell out for a bag anywhere else and don't want poor Nikki to starve in the mean time since she's still having trouble giving up dry entirely.
Again, I'm feeding wet as the main food, my wet is only 2% carbs, but I need a suitable dry for now I can give a 1/4 cup to graze on through out the day. Til I can convince her and get him not getting too low BG that is, me thinks.
 
The Wellness Core is available at PetsMart online Wellness Core Dry Food It may also be available in store.

Young Again Zero Carb is only available online. You can't buy it at any pet stores Young Again Zero Carb

Natura/Innova is available online at many online pet food places but their website has a "where to buy" option that might help you find someplace local you can get it at. Natura/Innova Grain Free

Nature's Variety Raw Instinct is available at many online pet food stores, but they also have a "Find a Store" tab on their website as well as a list of Online retailers Nature's Variety Instinct Website

Stella and Chewy's is also available online or at many online places. Here's the link to see if there's someplace nearby or an online retailer Stella and Chewy's


That being said, it really is important for you to try to get Fluffy off his dry food "habit", not only because of the carbs, but because cats just don't get enough water in their diet and being fed wet helps to prevent kidney problems which are another risk for our diabetic kitty's. Here are some Tips on Transitioning that may be helpful.

It may be helpful for you to look into getting some FortiFlora. The reason dry food tastes so good is because it's coated with animal digest. FortiFlora is the same thing, and can be sprinkled on top of wet food to help get Fluffy more interested in trying it.

Good luck...Fluffy is a real beauty!!
 
The Wellness Core was recently reported on the board as 17% calories from carbohydrate.
 
Somogyi? Forget about it; you are giving a lousy insulin and too high of a dose.

Yes, Lantus is a great insulin, but I much prefer Levemir (detemir) as some cats do even better on Levemir than Lantus. Tell your vet you want to give a decent insulin.

It's great to hear you are home testing; Relion meters are fine and quite economical.
Always test before every shot, and also just before you head to sleep for the nite.... some cats tend to go lower at nite. Of course the google spreadsheet has been mentioned.... it's quite a good tool for you to use to track your testing and add notes, and it's accessible by others, so they can give you a hand to understand how your cat is doing.

For food, Dr. Lisa's list is great. Most people feed Fancy Feast or Friskies pate flavors, no gravies, but just stick to wet food and under the 10% mark. Vet food is not great at all, and their prices are horrific.
To help with having food available for him, you can get an auto feeder and space out his meals... lots of others here use a feeder.... Petsafe has a great 5-compartment one.

You know, you don't need to go to the vet for any sort of testing because all those numbers will be high because of stress, and you are testing at home, so it's ridiculous. Don't waste you money on those visits.
The vet insisted you increase the dose to 3u? Really? Forget about getting dosing info from the vet; you are home testing and can get help here from others.... We are talking about your cat, not the vet's cat I think, so go with what you feel is right. You were not wrong; your vet was.

I can't believe the vet said to give high carb dry food to bring up a low BG number... it will take an hour or more for that bad dry food to have any effect at all and by then, if your cat were going hypo... too late. When your cat goes low, under 50, or very early in the cycle, then give some gravy from some of the high carb cat foods. Most people keep a couple cans of Fancy Feast Grilled or Gravy flavors for just such a need. Toss the dry food out the window; it's no good for any cat with diabetes.

Call your vet and tell her you want to switch to Lantus or Levemir and see what she says. If she says no, start looking for another vet.

Gayle
 
Chris & China said:
The Wellness Core is available at PetsMart online Wellness Core Dry Food It may also be available in store.

Young Again Zero Carb is only available online. You can't buy it at any pet stores Young Again Zero Carb

Natura/Innova is available online at many online pet food places but their website has a "where to buy" option that might help you find someplace local you can get it at. Natura/Innova Grain Free

Nature's Variety Raw Instinct is available at many online pet food stores, but they also have a "Find a Store" tab on their website as well as a list of Online retailers Nature's Variety Instinct Website

Stella and Chewy's is also available online or at many online places. Here's the link to see if there's someplace nearby or an online retailer Stella and Chewy's


That being said, it really is important for you to try to get Fluffy off his dry food "habit", not only because of the carbs, but because cats just don't get enough water in their diet and being fed wet helps to prevent kidney problems which are another risk for our diabetic kitty's. Here are some Tips on Transitioning that may be helpful.

It may be helpful for you to look into getting some FortiFlora. The reason dry food tastes so good is because it's coated with animal digest. FortiFlora is the same thing, and can be sprinkled on top of wet food to help get Fluffy more interested in trying it.

Good luck...Fluffy is a real beauty!!

Thanks! Fluffy is not really the one with the dry food habit though actually it's Nikki, my female. Fluffy cried and cried LOUDLY when I popped open the first wet food can (I guess he knew what it was, heh) and he ate it all the first time, Fluffy was a ZERO issue wet food eater LOL! My issue is we live in a studio apartment, granted a very large studio, but a studio nonetheless...separate rooms don't really exist here due to the open floor plan...unfortunately, so feeding that way is kind of impossible...and Nikki, well she's more timid, and even though I try to stop him, when Fluffy is done with his half can, he runs to her bowl and finishes hers on her, and she lets him :/ She's a slow eater. I tried to feed them with one in the bathroom so the other didn't steal food, and they both freaked out and cried til I let them out of the bathroom and wouldn't eat in there :_( So I have to feed them in different ends of the apartment but he eventually makes his way to her end and steals her meal :/ SO when that happens she walks over to the small 1/4 cup bowl of dry food I've been leaving out in between, and eats a few bites to make up for what she lost. I can't see not giving her that option is the thing :/ I've even tried to hold Fluffy back while Nikki was eating, like when he was done because he always finished fist, hold him in my lap and not let him go til she's had more to eat, but he FREAKS out and struggles and cries til I let him go run to the opposite end of the apartment and steal her food :/ Which is odd for him cause he loves being held.
SO again I know dry food is bad but that's the only thing he won't steal on her. Plus he does seem to have a low insulin peak which was too low and so sometimes he grazes I think maybe he knows he's low and tries to fix it? But 2 oz / (1/4 cup) is not bad amount of dry food to have between two cats UNTIL I can get Nikki to either eat faster, Fluffy to eat slower, or her to actually defend her food lol. I'm working on it! But I just need something for the next week or two til I can figure out a 100% wet food diet, right now I'd consider ours a 85-90% wet food diet. Does that make sense? Sorry for the long story and all the questions.
PS I spoke with a new Vet office today who seems to favor Lantus to Vetsulin, and low carb diets and agreed with me my vet was wrong SO this week we try a vet change, hopefully that helps! Also, is THIS the wellness one I'd want for the next week? Or another flavor? http://www.petsmart.com/product/index.j ... d=12007164
 
Let me also amend this statement "But 2 oz / (1/4 cup) is not bad amount of dry food to have between two cats UNTIL I can get Nikki to either eat faster, Fluffy to eat slower, or her to actually defend her food lol." In case no one read the whole thing, I'm not starving my cats and only giving 1/4 cup of food between the two, that was specifically to mean JUST dry food is 1/4 cup a day, the wet food is half a 5.5 oz can each, morning and evening, which is about a can a day each. I thought that was enough but I wasn't sure but they both need to lose weight. I figured it was the same as feeding 2 small cans a day each, but the big cans are cheaper, so I feed each cat half a big can morning, and half a big can evening (so I use 2 cans a day between 2 cats).
 
We understand you're doing the best you can. Read that one link for some suggestions on how to get Nikki to transition to wet and maybe you'll find something that works. I read where it can sometimes help quite a bit to just put the food down, give them a reasonable time to eat it, and then take it up. If Nikki is a "slow eater", she'll quickly learn that she's better eat it while it's available.....LOL

Of course you have to be ready for "the look"...you know this one...that look that burns into your heart saying "don't you love me anymore Mommy?"....they are really good at that!!

As for the Wellness Core Dry, the variety you're looking at is as good as any for now.


Edited to add...WOOHOO on the new vet!! Sounds like a winner!! Now you need to see how he/she feels about home testing...although it really doesn't matter how he/she feels..it's the only safe way to give insulin. Some vets don't consider that there are people out there who love their cats enough to go the extra mile to home test!
 
Wink was a slow eater. And a dry food addict. I started to take his food up after 30 minutes and not put it back down for a couple of hours. Trying to use his natural hunger drive to get him to eat more. I needed to switch him to meal feeding, because my other 2 cats are Hoovers, Eurekas, Dysons, Bissells......you get the idea.

He still eats a bit slower than the rest, but a couple of ounces of wet food are gone in under 10 minutes now.

It will take time. Time to get better at home testing. Time to get your civie to like the wet food and eat better. Time to get your kitty regulated. We are here to support you all along the way.
 
Yeah I was also thinking of getting one of those eat slow bowls for Fluffy, like this, http://www.drsfostersmith.com/product/prod_display.cfm?pcatid=20531 that way he eats HIS a little slower, then she has some time to finish more of hers before he steals it! While at the same time trying to convince her to still eat a little faster, she eats SO SLOW! Slowest I've seen a cat eat. But the funny thing is she cries for wet food too, as if she's going to die if I don't give it to her right that very second "Meow meow Mommy give me that now pleeeaaseee meow meow!". So she doesn't hate it. She just...stinks at eating it or keeping it for herself before Fluffy takes it lol.
 
Sounds like she's got a very well trained human :lol: :lol:


Instead of spending the money on a bowl, go find a nice size rock...works the same way for less money :-D
 
But the funny thing is she cries for wet food too, as if she's going to die if I don't give it to her right that very second "Meow meow Mommy give me that now pleeeaaseee meow meow!". So she doesn't hate it. She just...stinks at eating it or keeping it for herself before Fluffy takes it lol.
Oh yes! We recognize those pleading cries very well!

Some cats just eat slower than others. I still have to be a little protective of Wink's food so the other 2 don't push him out of the way and steal his food. Neither of them need the extra food, but they sure do want it. :o :shock: :o Wink will be a little protective of his food sometimes, growling to get the other kitties to back off.

Until your sugarkitty is better controlled BG wise, he can't process the food correctly so may need up to 50% more food. You could try increasing his food a bit, or giving him a small second serving. I know you said they both need to lose weight. It may be better to work on Fluffy's weight loss after he's more controlled with the insulin. What did your vet say about that?

How do they rate on this body condition score chart?
 
thatgirlblu said:
... I figured it was the same as feeding 2 small cans a day each, but the big cans are cheaper, so I feed each cat half a big can morning, and half a big can evening (so I use 2 cans a day between 2 cats).

Just an FYI - if a cat loses weight too quickly, the fat may overwhelm the liver, causing hepatic lipidosis, a potentially fatal, expensive to treat condition. Cat Info has some details on safe weight loss you may wish to review. Something you might see if this were happening is yellowing of the whites of the eyes and skin (jaundice), along with signs of GI distress (inappetance, nausea, vomiting).

Regular weigh ins with a digital scale are encouraged, so you may track how fast they are losing weight.
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top