newly diabetic and first at home injection

Status
Not open for further replies.

wyojonesy

Member
My cat Bob was diagnosed tuesday with diabetes. I get to take him home from the vet today at noon. She wants me to give him 2 units of prozinc twice a day... is BG this morning at the vet is 190. I assume it will be lower when thre isnt the stress of the vets office. i will be doing at home testing. I am just scared i dont want my cat to go hypo with 2 units. How to i judge how much insulin (Prozinc) to give him.... Thank you in advance. There is a spreadsheet in my signature with his BG levels and Units for the last 2 days
 
Did the vet shoot the two units on the bg of 190? What time was that shot given?
Carl
 
I answered your post in PZI too, but the simple answer to your "how to judge how much?" question is by home testing his BG at shot time and at least once per day in between shots to see how effective the Prozinc is. If you can only get one test in the middle, try to get it 5 to 6 hours after the shot when Prozinc should be at its peak.

Carl
 
Hi Carl, BG was tested at 8:30 am and then the two unit were given right after. When i went to pick him up we tested again with a meter i bought and it tested 143 at +4.
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top