Newish Member/First Post: 3/11/22- introduction/ dosing question

Status
Not open for further replies.

CaitLovesMo

Member Since 2022
Hello!

My name is Cait and I am the proud owner of Mossimo, a.k.a Mo. He is a 10 year old short domestic kitty with a lot of love to give.

Mo was diagnosed on January 7th after noticing weight loss and a significant increase with water intake. When diagnosed he was over 500. The veterinarian prescribed him 1 unit of lantus two times daily. She sent me on my way without giving me any other information, a prescription for the DM dry food, and a prescription for the libre 2 that she wouldn't put on for another week. I was then blessed to have a high school teacher of mine see my personal posts on facebook and sent me to the facebook page.

Mo is now on a low carb diet using pate friskies and mature again 0 dry food. I tried my best to get him completely off of kibble, but him and my other 2 babies were literally starving themselves and it led to other issues of him not eating. He gets a tiny amount in the morning and at night before his shot along with his wet food. I ensure that I leave wet food in bowls when I leave the house so he always has a small meal since I know he should be have about 4 small meals a day, but my work schedule does not let me do that.

Mo wears a libre 2 in order for me to do home testing. I test him as much as possible throughout the day.

Mo is currently on .1 of lantus 2 times daily with his low carb diet. I have learned so much over the past 3 months with the help of everyone on the facebook page, but now I am a bit stuck and could use more guidance. The .1 dose seems to be helping, but I hit a wall where I don't know what to do. I feel if I increase him to .2 there will be shot times where I will have to skip because he is too low to give a shot. I am not comfortable with shooting low numbers since I am always not home after the fact. I finally have become comfortable with 75 when I know I can check on him.

Here is his spreadsheet that was started from the beginning. Please help us! I know remission isn't for all cats, but I at least need to aim for it!

https://docs.google.com/spreadsheet..._pZf9HmUCy2J_yrOaclzHIPI7E/edit#gid=361360320
 
I would continue with .10 until you see a drop in bg under 50. I would not increase. If you see a drop under 50 then I would try a drop dose. You are getting really close to a food trial but I would not try that just yet.
 
Welcome to FDMB!

Mo's numbers look great! I'd like to make a suggestion that may help to lower his AMPS. The pre-shot numbers, and the AMPS in particular, are often the last numbers to fall into normal range. What can help is to give a snack at around +8 or +9. The food can help to stimulate the pancreas to produce its own insulin.

I am not suggesting that you wake up in the middle of the night!! Many of the members here will use a timed feeder to provide the food overnight.
 
Thank you!

I am trying that today. My problem with a snack in the past is he refuses to eat at that time. If I am successful today and tomorrow I will get an automatic feeder. I know kibble is frowned upon, but I know he will eat dry over wet when it isn't dinner time. Would that be too much if it is a small snack and a low carb food?
 
There are a very few dry foods that are low in carbs -- Young Again Zero Carb, Dr. Elsey's Clean Protein, and there may be one other that I'm not remembering. Another option is freeze dried raw. Stella & Chewy's and ZiwiPeak both have a freeze or air dried food that may be appealing to Mo. If Mo likes human food, even a bit of cooked chicken or other protein would work.
 
I feed him the young again 0 carb. He will not do freeze dried or human people chicken. I am going to try tuna, but if that doesn't work I am out of options.
 
He definitely will! I know that for a fact! He loves it. In 30 minutes I am going to try tuna and if that doesn't work I will give him the young again! Thank you for all your help! I will let you know how it goes!
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top