My cat was put on Prozinc insulin on June 13, 2013. She gets injections every 12 hours. She continued with her high carb diet at first and started with a 2 unit dose twice a day. I went to the vet about twice a week to spot check a few BG times. Her numbers came down but were too high. we then tried 2 1/2 and then 3 units. Anyway, I believe she had a er hypoglemic episode almost 3 weeks ago. She has week hind legs, but this day her gait was unusual and she had trouble walking. I gave pancake syrup went to emergency and then the Bg was in the 400 's when tested at the emergency vet. I went to my vet and another vet disagreed that it was a hypoglemic episode and suggested I give the 3 units. I gave the 3 units and brought her in at 5 hour later for a BG. BG was 70. My vet suggested 2 1/2 units.
After this scare, I bought Alphatrack meter at the vet and have been paw testing. My cat is a good patient but doesn't like the paw prick.
Anway, I gradually changed from high carb wet and dry food to low carb wet. For 11 days, she has had only the low carb wet food. Since I am still learning, I don't always get a reading when I want one. Anyway using my meter I gave my cat 2 units for 4 days. I got a preshot number of 185 one day so I gave 1 1/2 units and did the BG about 6 hours later and it was 200. I fluctated dose between 1 3/4 and 1 1/4 for about 4 days with some testing usually giving 1 1/2 units. I tested at about 7 hour post shot for 5 days and got numbers ranging from 178 to 101.
I ran out of test strips so I gave a 1 3/4 dose for 3 administrations when I did a preshot Bg (30 minute before shot) I got 133. I gave 1 1/4 units and then did the Bg in 4 hours. I got a bG of 53. I gave food and treats and the Bg went up to 87 in 2 hours. When I did the next Bg the number was 294. I panicked and gave 1 unit. The next preshot was 387, I gave 1 1/ 4 units. After speaking with my vet, he said that the 1 3/4 was too much and that 1 1/2 should be given for at least 5 da
ys consistently without testing so much. I gave 1 1/2 units for 3 aministrations, but was nervous so I did a preshot (45 minutes before next shot and got a 139. I fed her and then tested again and I got a reading of 244. Cat was nervous after 2 paw pricks (trying to escape). I gave a token dose of 1/2 unit since it was late and could not call vet.
What do preshot readings in the 100s mean? Is the insuliln lasting two long?
Anyhelp would be much appreciated.
After this scare, I bought Alphatrack meter at the vet and have been paw testing. My cat is a good patient but doesn't like the paw prick.
Anway, I gradually changed from high carb wet and dry food to low carb wet. For 11 days, she has had only the low carb wet food. Since I am still learning, I don't always get a reading when I want one. Anyway using my meter I gave my cat 2 units for 4 days. I got a preshot number of 185 one day so I gave 1 1/2 units and did the BG about 6 hours later and it was 200. I fluctated dose between 1 3/4 and 1 1/4 for about 4 days with some testing usually giving 1 1/2 units. I tested at about 7 hour post shot for 5 days and got numbers ranging from 178 to 101.
I ran out of test strips so I gave a 1 3/4 dose for 3 administrations when I did a preshot Bg (30 minute before shot) I got 133. I gave 1 1/4 units and then did the Bg in 4 hours. I got a bG of 53. I gave food and treats and the Bg went up to 87 in 2 hours. When I did the next Bg the number was 294. I panicked and gave 1 unit. The next preshot was 387, I gave 1 1/ 4 units. After speaking with my vet, he said that the 1 3/4 was too much and that 1 1/2 should be given for at least 5 da
ys consistently without testing so much. I gave 1 1/2 units for 3 aministrations, but was nervous so I did a preshot (45 minutes before next shot and got a 139. I fed her and then tested again and I got a reading of 244. Cat was nervous after 2 paw pricks (trying to escape). I gave a token dose of 1/2 unit since it was late and could not call vet.
What do preshot readings in the 100s mean? Is the insuliln lasting two long?
Anyhelp would be much appreciated.