Newbie using pro zinc

Status
Not open for further replies.

sneakers

Member Since 2012
Hi my name is Anne, my cat sneakers was just diagnosed with diabetes. They started him on prozinc 2 u 2x a day. I am doing the home testing and when I gave him his first dose yesterday morning his bg was 252 then it dropped to 45 and stayed there throughout the day. Needless to say he did not get any more insulin. Today it is at 95 so again no insulin. Was wondering if anyone has had this happen with their cat. His bg was 371 and 452 a week ago when he had his blood work done. The 371 was done at home before even seeing the vet. I work at a vet clinic and am familiar with treating diabetic cats but this is my first of my own cats. When he went to 45 yesterday he was acting normal and even after he had some wet food with gravy it still stayed at 45 for a couple of hours.
 
2U as a starting dose is a rather high dose, that could have attributed to the big drop. Usually we see starting doses of 1U or sometimes even 0.5U. Thank goodness you were home testing!!

Did you also change food when you started insulin? A change in food can cause a sudden drop in BGs, that could explain why they aren't coming back up too.

When you start back up with insulin, I would definitely start at a lower dose.
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top