Newbie to site with one year diabetic kitty experience

Status
Not open for further replies.

Boo Bear

Member Since 2013
Hi! I'm a newbie here, but not so much a newbie when it comes to my diabetic kitty.

Bear was diagnosed last January at nine years old. It was a struggle for us both at first, but I love this cat. He is such a joy to own. He's so easy going and emotionally intelligent. No joke. Before his diagnosis, I went through a bad health spell that lasted for well over a year. I was in pain nearly everyday, with tears rolling down my face most days from the pain, stuck in the bed most of the time. This angel of a cat would come and lay down beside me with such a look of concern and then he would put his paw on my cheek and stroke my cheek. He would do his best to comfort me and he did comfort me. I am devoted to this little angel. That is one of the reasons I joined this forum. I want to be better for him and for my other cats, Patches (10 year old female) and Smokey (11 year old male). I know I still have lots to learn because I've been continually learning since his diagnosis.

I have learned so much, most of which I did not learn from the vet. When Bear was first diagnosed, my vet didn't even recommend at-home glucose testing! I had to request that and get a monitor ordered for me after he had a terrible hypo episode followed by a period of really high sugar due to the reduced insulin the vet put him on after the hypo episode. When I got the monitor and finally learned how to test him, I discovered that his sugar fluctuates too much for him to be on a fixed dosage. I had to fight my way through most of this including changing their diet from dry prescription food to canned wet food. That is when I learned that not all vets know about feline nutrition needs, much to my surprise! Each one of my cats improved in overall health, but Bear's main improvement was that he began to require less insulin when on wet food.

I have recently started trying to improve my cats health more. I'm currently interested in supplementing with coconut oil and have started my diabetic cat on about a half teaspoon of coconut oil a day. It is probably too early to tell anything, just three days, but he does love the oil and his black coat is super shiny. In addition to his daily dose, I've also been treating an ear problem of his with the oil as well. I drop three-four drops of the coconut oil into his ears each day and will continue this till the end of January when I'll go to once a week to try to get a handle on his recurrent ear issues. I will say that after the second day of treatment for his ears, he no longer scratched or tilted his head with his ear down. It appears to be working well.

I am also interested in pycnogenol and vit c supplementation and plan to look into that soon to determine if it is safe and if it will improve my cats' health and quality of life.

Please forgive anything that is not up to normal procedure. I am a newbie, an excited newbie at that. I look forward to learning on here and meeting you all. Thank God for our precious animals!
 
Welcome! It sounds like you have educated yourself and your vet and are doing great things for your sweet Boo. I don't know about the oils you are asking about but hope others will. One of the tools we have on the forum,that is very useful for us, is a color coded spreadsheet. It is a great way to keep track of Boo's numbers and doses and watch for trends and patterns. Here are the directions if you are interested:

http://www.felinediabetes.com/FDMB/viewtopic.php?f=6&t=18207
 
The spreadsheet sounds interesting! I'll check it out. Thanks! Niko is a cutey. So sorry about Oliver.
 
Here are a few links that might help.

Not sure what insulin your sweet kitty is on. There is a link on lantus. Lantus does better with the same
dose with gradual increase or decrease. The experts on dosage are on the (lantus tight reg. forum)

http://www.amazon.com/gp/product/B00165 ... 02_s00_i01 (fortiFlora-probiotic) Helps digestion&can help with appetite and switching to wet from dry food))

http://felinediabetes.com/diet.htm (Food Info)

http://catinfo.org/docs/Tips%20for%20Tr ... -14-11.pdf (Food Info)

http://www.catinfo.org/docs/Food%20Char ... -22-12.pdf (wet food carb list)

viewtopic.php?f=28&t=86436&p=925576&hilit=testing+ear#p925576 (testing tips)

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=_zE12-4fVn8 (ear)
http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=q_3TLtN8XYo (shot)

viewtopic.php?f=6&t=18207 (spread sheet)

http://www.felinediabetes.com/FDMB/view ... =9&t=85113 (BS testing tips)

viewtopic.php?f=9&t=1581 (lantus proticol
 
Thanks so much for the links! I went immediately to the wet food links. My cats eat Wellness (Turkey and chicken, alternating) and have been eating it with great results for almost a year.

I use ProZinc insulin on Bear. It's the only insulin he's ever used. He gets injected twice a day if he needs it. Lately he is running between 130-180 (so thankful for that!). His insulin stays below 200 for the most part now and never over 250 since I switched his diet. Before the diet switch, he rarely dipped below 250.

I test with the trak2 testing meter and strips, btw.

I would love to do the tight regulation. I'll look into that. I think my cat is currently considered well regulated according to another area of this site, but I've also heard the trak2 meters numbers are higher (confusing). So, I'm not really sure if my numbers are well-regulated or tight regulated after all now.There is so much on here! So much to learn.
 
The tight regulation is used with Lantus and Levemir, which are depot insulins and tend to have longer cycles than ProZinc. We do have a PZI forum: http://www.felinediabetes.com/FDMB/viewforum.php?f=24 and an informational document about ProZinc: http://www.felinediabetes.com/FDMB/viewtopic.php?f=24&t=32799

The only "tight regulation" most members use with ProZinc is to be more agressive with dosing, after much data has been collected and there is good information on how the kitty might react to a given dosage. We have members who are giving small doses (one unit or less) and shoot under our suggested cut off of 200 for beginning diabetics. You might check out the spreadsheets of some of the posters on the PZI forum and the remission thread at the top of that page.

Just for comparison. We generally consider a cat well regulated if they are in the low 200s at preshot and in double digits at nadir (though not below 40) when on insulin. We consider a cat in remission if they are between 40 -120, off insulin, with the majority of the time spent in double digits.
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top