Newbie Stray Michael

Status
Not open for further replies.

Sue and Oliver (GA)

Member Since 2009
Reposted from another thread:


Hi all,
Not sure how to post on a specific topic. A feral black cat adopted my Minnesota porch the past two winters. he wouldn't let me trap or touch him until I found him near coma. I rushed him to the vet and his BG was 568 with 8% dehydrated. After one week on 2 units of Lantus and fluids I read this site and bought a Relion meter. his BG in the morning before insulin after a week was 55. I freaked and called the vet and he said no insulin if the read was below 85. After 4 days without insulin his levels on this meter are between 69 and 79. Is this too low and inaccurate? other than a voracious appetite, he seems alert and much much better. I am wondering if Anyone knows if the Relion reads lower or higher when the bg is low? I am nervous that his readings of 55 are dangerously low.
 
If he is not on insulin, your 69 - 79 numbers are perfectly normal and non diabetic. (If you were on insulin, we would not want you to be shooting at those numbers) It might be that he was just in such terrible shape, he was a transient diabetic. How wonderful that you rescued and saved him!

Do you feed wet lo carb food? That will help keep his numbers in a nice low range.
 
Thank you so much. This has been so scary and new to me. I didn't have the heart to put him down without trying. He is on Purina DM (two cans a day that he eats in 30 seconds) which doesn't thrill me. I need to research or read on another topic what might be a good food for him. He actually looks a lot like Oliver. A very handsome boy!
 
Good for you for taking this boy in! Especially this nasty winter, I bet he appreciates someone taking care of him. The numbers you are seeing are great and it sounds like you may have gotten him diet controlled pretty quickly. 2 units of Lantus is a high start so it was really good that you were hometesting.

Most patte style cat foods will be good for diabetics cats, many here use Fancy Feast classics, Friskies Wellness, and Walmart Special Kitty to get the food more affordable. Avoid gravies and you should be fine. There is a link around the site for Janet & Binkies food charts. They are a bit dated, but still a good guide to what foods to look for.

Nothing scientific, but to me it seemed like the ReliOn tended to read a bit lower that some of the other meters. In my time in Lantus ISG (which I admit was a blessedly short 2-3 months so not a large sampling) it seemed like those with the ReliOn had their kitties going OTJ that were holding in the 50s and 60s where some of us using the Accuchek were in the seeing more 70s and 80s.
 
I got Nomad the same way- he camped out on my porch and wouldn't leave. It sounds like now you have a buddy for life. I am glad you bought a meter and tested him. You probably want to continue testing him daily for a least a few weeks. If he ever has to go back on insulin, have your vet consider a lower starting dose. You may want to visit the lantus insulin subforum for some info. In case your kitty ever needs insulin again.

Some people pick their cats; In our cases, our cats adopted us. LOL :-)
 
Hi and welcome,

Harley and I are in Minnesota too. It sounds like Stray Michael picked the right house.

Hang in there, let us know if you need anything.

Robin
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top