Newbie Simon's 1st week results and bg testing questions

Status
Not open for further replies.

Georgia and Simon (GA)

Member Since 2010
I brought my cat, Simon, to the vet a few days ago for his 1 week blood glucose curve to see how he is doing on the insulin (lantus -- 3 units/2x/day). After receiving his insulin at 6:30 AM that morning his bg was 283 at 8:15 am. When he first was diagnosed at the vet, his bg was 750. Throughout the day, the bg went slowly up (319, 366, 402 and finally 400 at 6:00 when I picked him up). Is this a good sign that the insulin is working? The vet wants him to get another unit of insulin 2x/day upping it to 4 units 2x/day. I questioned her about the high dose but she said she wants to try him on it and see how he does at the next bg curve next week. She also cotninues to recommend feeding him Hills WD. I asked her about the low-carb diet and how according to alot of information that I read, WD is too high carb. My vet told me she just attended a conference and they talked about feline diabetes and they were still recommending WD as a good choice. I am thinking about taking him off the WD and putting him back on Friskies and then monitor him by doing home testing. What do you think?

I just received the newbie kit from Lori in the mail (thanks so much, Lori!) and it has everything I need to get started testing Simon. I tried to test him this morning but I am having the worst time getting enough blood on the test strip. I warmed his ear, located the veins by shining a flashlight on his ear, stuck him ok so a little blood came out but it was not enough blood to get the glucometer to work. Is there any other trick to getting enough blood out of his ear? I tried using the lancet pen, but had more luck just using the lancet without the pen. I am very frustrated and Simon is even more unhappy with all the sticks I have done on his ear. I am going to try again in a few hours but if you have any other advice, I would appreciate it. Thank you for your help! Georgia and Simon
 
It is wonderful that you are taking Simon in hand at home. The curve at the vet is not particularly useful information. If Simon was at all stressed, his numbers would be much higher there than at home. So the dose based on those numbers could be too high when given at home.

Re hometesting: What size lancet? (Usually 25-26 guage makes a big enough hole at first.) If you have a smaller size, you can double poke in the same spot to widen the hole. If you put a tiny dab of vaseline on the spot where you are going to poke, it will help the blood bead up. Did you sure get the ear warm enough? The rice sack needs to be very warm but not hot.

Don't get discouraged. We poked poor Oliver for a whole weekend before we got a drop. Just be sure to give Simon a treat, blood drop or not.

Once you get some numbers at home, then you can look at the dose and see whether he needs more insulin or not. And your vet is wrong about dry food. Have we given you Dr. Lisa Pierson's site: http"//www.catinfo.org She explains it very well.
 
W/D is old school and vets that are up to date on FD know this. Please read the article below from Veterinary Practice News.

Home Monitoring Key to Diabetic Regulation

Compliance also improves when client has stake in management

By Sara L. Ford, DVM, Dipl. ACVIM
For Veterinary Practice News

Home blood glucose monitoring is the care standard for human diabetics. In humans, glucose is typically monitored four to six times per day. Exogenous insulin by injection is contraindicated without home monitoring.

This is a safety issue, as glucose values in humans vary significantly day to day. This same daily variability has been documented in dogs and cats.

Variables known to influence glucose in both species include stress, excitement, exercise, quality and quantity of diet, as well as amount of insulin absorbed from the subcutaneous tissue. Varying the injection site leads to different absorption. For this reason, the author does not advise rotation of the injection site.

If local inflammation associated with repeat injections occurs, the injection site is changed to a new site rather than rotated between sites.
Variability in glucose also occurs in the absence of an explainable cause. Inconsistent glucose values are a source of frustration for veterinarians and owners. Once daily glucose monitoring is instituted, the magnitude of the fluctuations becomes apparent.

Simply stated, every day is not the same. In the absence of home monitoring, one is unlikely to be aware of the inconsistent values, as dogs and cats are quite tolerant to both hypoglycemia and hyperglycemia, with a paucity of recognizable clinical signs.

Knowing what the glucose is in real time is empowering, as it allows the pet owner to take an active role in the management of the pet’s diabetes and gives the veterinarian the data to make educated insulin dosing decisions.

Fructosamine levels are a valuable measure of the average blood glucose for the previous three weeks, but do not reflect daily fluctuations. Real-time values allow for real-time decision-making.

No veterinarian in the face of hypoglycemia would knowingly give his or her own diabetic pet insulin—or instruct a pet owner to do so. Unfortunately, this frequently happens because of a lack of home monitoring.

Likewise, if the glucose was high in the face of emerging disease, dietary indiscretion, stress, excitement or a somogyi phenomenon (insulin-induced hypoglycemia, followed by rebound hyperglycemia), a glucose curve or monitoring four times daily can be implemented to determine the correct therapeutic insulin dosage.

Veterinarians tend to err more toward hyperglycemia over hypoglycemia in glucose regulation, as the negative ramifications of the latter are clearly more life limiting in the short term. Long-term complications associated with hyperglycemia, although less immediate, can significantly impact quality of life.

Diabetic neuropathy, noted more frequently in cats than in dogs, results in hind limb weakness, difficulty walking, jumping and climbing stairs. Posterior capsular cataracts in the dog leading to blindness have an obvious negative impact on quality of life.

Patients whose glucose is monitored at home are generally on higher dosages of insulin safely with—for the most part—better glycemic control. Diabetic remission in the cat is much more likely with tight glycemic control, which can be achieved safely only with daily home monitoring.

Diabetic remission is promptly recognized with home testing.

“Guidelines for the Management of Diabetes,” published in the May/June 2010 AAHA Journal, advise home monitoring of glucose: “[It is] ideal and strongly encouraged to obtain the most accurate interpretation of glucose relative to clinical signs.”

Home monitoring eliminates the stress of transport and being in the hospital environment, and allows generation of a 12- to 14-hour blood glucose curve. At home, the curve is not truncated by the hospital or doctor’s schedule. The pet’s daily routine relative to exercise and feeding can be followed at home.

Duplicating the home environment in a caged pet is not possible. Caloric consumption is also hard to reproduce, as many patients do not eat well, or at all, in the hospital. The key difference here is who collects the data.

Empowering the pet owner to measure glucose at home ensures accurate, complete data, which is not attainable in the hospital setting. As a result, the veterinary clinician is able to accurately recommend adjustments in the insulin dose.

Considering staff time required to generate a glucose curve in the hospital, it is more profitable to have the pet owner generate the curve at home. Owners can be asked to perform a glucose curve that will be discussed, along with their daily blood glucose log, at the recheck visit. Owner compliance with long-term glucose monitoring is excellent and does not impact the frequency of re-evaluation by the veterinarian.

The majority of owners are able to learn how to collect capillary blood for home testing and most pets tolerate the procedure well.

A variety of testing sites lend themselves to pet and owner preference. Preferred testing sites in the cat and dog include the pisiform pad (nonweight bearing paw pad proximal to the carpal pad on the forelimbs) and lateral or marginal ear vein. The outer pinna is best in the cat and the inner pinna in the dog (best in dogs with floppy ears).

The buccal mucosa is optimal in large and medium sized dogs with good temperament. The lateral elbow callus in dogs can make sampling easy when it is present. Small dogs and those that exhibit a biting tendency when their ears, feet or mouth are handled do best with testing the redundant skin fold at the dorsal tail base, where a small area of hair can be clipped to facilitate testing.

Blood glucose is ideally measured first thing in the morning, prior to any food and insulin, and 12 hours later. The therapeutic goals are patient and owner driven, but in general the glucose should not be higher than 300 or lower than 80 mg/dl.

Home monitoring puts these seemingly lofty goals within reach, thereby improving the quality of life for both the pet and pet owner. Home monitoring also allows for use of more potent insulin, such as insulin detemir (Levemir), without risking life-threatening hypoglycemia.

Outlined in the October issue of Veterinary Practice News, the use of an insulin dosage chart avoids hypoglycemia, as insulin is not administered if the blood glucose is below a certain predetermined level (typically 120-150 mg/dl).
The insulin dosage chart directs the owner to administer insulin at or above a certain glucose level and withhold insulin if the glucose is too low or food intake is not adequate.

Dosage adjustments are made depending on the daily glucose values and the curve. Home monitoring of blood glucose values can be simply and safely mastered by most pet owners, resulting in a longer and healthier life for their pets and a more satisfied owner and veterinarian.
 
Thank you for the advice. With your encouraging posts, I am not going to give up with the bg testing. I appreciate the article on home testing and after reading it, am more convinced I need to keep trying with the home testing. I'll let you know my success later on today.
 
Home testing is extremely frustrating till you get the hang of it (and it usually seems like that will NEVER happen)---but then you do, and in a little while it becomes a piece of cake. What meter are you using? There are ones that require more or less blood. Mine is a FreeStyle Freedom Lite, which only requires the tiniest amount of blood (otherwise I'd be lost). When you put the edge of the strip to the blood it sips it up even when it is a tiny tiny amount. If you want, once you see blood you can milk the ear to get some more to come out. Also dabbing a very little bit of vaseline on the ear before you poke is most helpful, it causes the blood to bead up and you can see it much better. Keep at it, keep posting, and it will get better!
 
hi - I thought I'd drop you a note since your cat's history sounds quite a bit like mine. He was diagnosed in mid Oct with bg levels in the 400's. He started a lower dose than your cat - 1 unit Lantus. the first two checks at the vet revealed almost no change in bg levels - still in the upper 300's even at 2 units. After we increase to 2.5 units I started doing the home glucose testing. At first, I found it to be nearly impossible, extremely stressful for both me and Boy (that's his name). But then last week I did a test a found his bg level was at 49 so I had to start testing every 4 hours the first day and then every 12 hours for the last 4 days. I'll just say that it gets much easier with practice. I also started having someone help me - and having 2 people, one to hold the cat and one to do the poke also makes it easier. I use a Bayer glucose monitor that I received free at the drugstore - and the strips really do a good job of sucking up a tiny amount of blood.

Good luck - my guy has been in the 70's for 4 days now with no insulin, and someone just sent me an article which showed that this type of remission for cats on Lantus is quite common.
 
It has been 3 days of testing so far and things were going ok until tonight. It was so hard to get any blood tonight and when I finally was able to, Simon moved his head and the blood smeared and I had to start all over again. I am using the True track which doesn't need that big of a drop of blood, but it was extra hard tonight to get a big enough sample. Simon also seems like his ear is pretty sore. Do you know how much it bothers the cats to test on their ear? I am testing right near the top on the inside of his ear -- is this the best place or is it better on the outside of the ear? Also, I heard that you should test on the same ear for more accurate results. Is this true? If not, I will go ahead and test him on the other ear so it is less sore. Thanks for any advice.
 
You can test both ears, I also move up and down the edge of the ear so I'm not poking in the same place. The spot that works the best for mme is right above the double little flap. But anywhere along the edge does work.

Mel & Max
 
I started BG testing 2 weeks ago, and was apologizing profusely to Schroeder for my ineptitude, but asked him to be patient with me.... I found the biggest help in making sure I got enough blood (because too little can lead to incorrect low readings) was to make sure his ear is quite warm. That means heating the inside and the outside of the ear for about 30 seconds with the rice sock. When it's warm enough, the capillaries puff up so you can see them against dark fur. And when the blood is warm, more comes out when you make the prick. Sometimes an alarming amount! Make sure you apply pressure on the site after you get the blood to stop the bleeding and prevent bruising.

Andrea.
 
Warming the ear helps a lot , you can also use neosporin for pain on the ear as well. It helps it heal plus it will makke the blood bead up.

Mel & Max
 
BTW, if it hadn't been for learning how to home test, I would have overdosed Schroeder yesterday when his AMPS was 129. His numbers didn't come down to 300 until 2 pm. I called my vet to let him know, and he said I'm the only client they have that tests at home! Sad. But he did ask for all the links to this information, including FMDB, and asked if I'd come in and show them how to do it, so that they can pass this practice on to subsequent clients. I'm glad my vet is open to learning! Now I just have to get them to stop prescribing Caninsulin....
 
Don't hold the meter at an angle when heading for the blood. Hold it almost level with the ear and kinda slide the end of the test strip into the drop of blood. Once it hits the blood, stop moving and let the strip sip the blood up.
 
I'm glad to know that it is ok to test on either ear and in different areas on the ear. I will also try warming his ear a little longer. I don't know what I would do without your quick answers to my questions! Georgia and Simon
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top