Newbie Questions: Updated

Status
Not open for further replies.

Sunshine and BA

Member Since 2010
My sweetie recently diagnosed with diabetes, started Lantus 1 unit daily last Friday. Because of chronic pancreatitis and occassional vomiting I was fearful of hypoglycemic event after I leave for work with full unit dosing daily. Vet agreeable to twice daily dosing of 1/2 unit which I am currently doing. I was reading about Lantus of the "official website" and Am. Diabetes .com. where Lantus is discussed as a once daily dosing. What's the rationale behind twice daily dosing for cats? Also, are there some "easy" articles, info to read on Lantus and feline diabetes. I am so exhausted my brain is not grazing through the sticky info as when I'm better rested.

Thanks,
Sunshine.
 
Re: Newbie Quesiton.

Cats rate of metabolism is a lot faster than humans. Lantus is once a day for us, twice a day for them.
 
Re: Newbie Quesiton.

Hi there
welcome to the Lantus forum

Your first thread in the Health forum Feb 22/10
viewtopic.php?f=3&t=7051&p=70543#p70543

Is Sunshine the cat? Or are you Sunshine?
Not going to throw too much info at you just yet, others will be along to give you more specifics about your question, in the meantime here is a link to the Tilly Protocol that we follow here, it has recently been updated as well

viewtopic.php?f=9&t=1581

Are you home testing? This forum is also very numbers oriented. With the data collected thru each cycle, and yes - many here work in the day time too, so they get data in the evenings and weekends.

It may be a good idea to create a profile of your cat, I see in your first post there are other heath issues as well.
From the Tech forum, how to create a profile:
viewtopic.php?f=6&t=531

We would love to see you posting on a regular basis, and to meet your diabetic kitty.
 
Re: Newbie Quesiton.

Just wanted to say hello, and welcome to Lantus Land. The first few weeks can be so overwhelming, especially when there are other medical issues.

I'm not knowledgeable enough to give advice, but I can tell you that you're in the right place for the best support and information. D
 
Re: Newbie Quesiton.

Thanks to all. September 2009 Serum BG normal. Feb 2010 Serum BG 250 Fruitsomine 270. UA 1000-2000+ glucose. First thought to be vet visit stress. I tested at home and found BG as 270 and UA with 2000+ glucose. Currently BG testing preshot, and occassionally at other times It has been very hectic the first week of treatment. I'm soooooo tired but hanging in there. I've updated my profile to include BA's complex medical history.

May I ask lots of questions:

When is the timeline for the first curve?

How does her new UTI affect BG and insulin?

Is there a typical timeframe weight loss stops? She's lost about 10 oz. as a small kitty. I'm pushing tons of food which
mostly goes in one end and out the other.

I created my own spreadsheet, can we only attach the spreadsheet available through FDMB?

I've read the lantus sticky notes. For some reason I can't wrap my fatigue brain around the article on dosing lantus.

If lantus is dropped, knocked from counter to floor, nothing broken, clear and otherwise intact, should it be replaced?

Sunshine
BA: The Shine in My Sun.
 
Sunshine & BA said:
When is the timeline for the first curve?
I don't know that there is an "official" timeline. If you look at the tight regulation protocol, they suggest a mini-curve (i.e., at pre-shot, +3, +6, +9, and +12) during the first 3 days. Many people on the Board are still getting comfortable testing during this time. Ideally, you can get a curve as soon as you want. The idea is to start gathering data as best you can.

How does her new UTI affect BG and insulin?
Any source of infection will raise BG. You may need to increase insulin in order to offset the infection. However, if BA is on antibiotics, hopefully, the infection is being controlled. Is BA prone to developing ketones? It is important to test for ketones if an infection is present. The presence of an infection, not enough insulin, and if appetite is off, can be a recipe for diabetic ketoacidosis.

Is there a typical timeframe weight loss stops? She's lost about 10 oz. as a small kitty. I'm pushing tons of food which mostly goes in one end and out the other.
Does this mean BA is having problems with diarrhea? If so, are you doing anything to address the problem?

There isn't a typical timeframe for weight related issues. Once BA is better regulated, he will be metabolizing food more effectively. In the mean time, feed him as much as he wants. If you're not doing so already, you may want to make sure you are feeding gluten free food and stay away from flavors that many cats develop allergies to (e.g., beef).

I've read the lantus sticky notes. For some reason I can't wrap my fatigue brain around the article on dosing lantus.
If you mean the formal version of the Tight Regulation (aka Tilly) Protocol, it can be a tough slog through in the beginning! If you look at the "Tight Regulation Protocols" sticky, there are general/modified guidelines about half way down. See if that helps. If it's still unclear, just post and ask. People will be happy to help get you oriented and explain.

If lantus is dropped, knocked from counter to floor, nothing broken, clear and otherwise intact, should it be replaced?
This is a big, "I don't know." The only way to tell may be if BAs numbers start to get weird.

I hope this helps. I didn't know the answer to your spreadsheet question. You could post on the Tech forum and ask. I do tend to think we are all so used to the SS we use here that it's easy for us to navigate. If you haven't done so, I would suggest color coding your numbers in the same way as we do for the sake of consistency.
 
Sienne and Gabby said:
Sunshine & BA said:
When is the timeline for the first curve?
I don't know that there is an "official" timeline. If you look at the tight regulation protocol, they suggest a mini-curve (i.e., at pre-shot, +3, +6, +9, and +12) during the first 3 days. Many people on the Board are still getting comfortable testing during this time. Ideally, you can get a curve as soon as you want. The idea is to start gathering data as best you can.

I guess I really missed that one. The first day of treatment at home was disrupted by a sick kitty with vomiting

How does her new UTI affect BG and insulin?
Any source of infection will raise BG. You may need to increase insulin in order to offset the infection. However, if BA is on antibiotics, hopefully, the infection is being controlled. Is BA prone to developing ketones? It is important to test for ketones if an infection is present. The presence of an infection, not enough insulin, and if appetite is off, can be a recipe for diabetic ketoacidosis.
BG was 133 AMPS and 109 PMPS...left me questioning if a fluke, response to antibotic treatment or first week of treatment paying off. Little nervous of hypoG risk though.

Is there a typical timeframe weight loss stops? She's lost about 10 oz. as a small kitty. I'm pushing tons of food which mostly goes in one end and out the other.
Does this mean BA is having problems with diarrhea? If so, are you doing anything to address the problem?
No diarrhea. I just push alot of food. She loses weight and poops alot.

There isn't a typical timeframe for weight related issues. Once BA is better regulated, he will be metabolizing food more effectively. In the mean time, feed him as much as he wants. If you're not doing so already, you may want to make sure you are feeding gluten free food and stay away from flavors that many cats develop allergies to (e.g., beef).
Food choices are a little limited due to pancreatitis.

I've read the lantus sticky notes. For some reason I can't wrap my fatigue brain around the article on dosing lantus.
If you mean the formal version of the Tight Regulation (aka Tilly) Protocol, it can be a tough slog through in the beginning! If you look at the "Tight Regulation Protocols" sticky, there are general/modified guidelines about half way down. See if that helps. If it's still unclear, just post and ask. People will be happy to help get you oriented and explain.
Thanks.

If lantus is dropped, knocked from counter to floor, nothing broken, clear and otherwise intact, should it be replaced?
This is a big, "I don't know." The only way to tell may be if BAs numbers start to get weird.

I hope this helps. I didn't know the answer to your spreadsheet question. You could post on the Tech forum and ask. I do tend to think we are all so used to the SS we use here that it's easy for us to navigate. If you haven't done so, I would suggest color coding your numbers in the same way as we do for the sake of consistency.
 
Greetings, Sunshine! Do you have a condo devoted just to today? If so, I missed it -- but I wanted to stop by and say hello.

The first two weeks are so overwhelming -- but you have a lot of practice caring for your furbabies. You'll be on top of this soon, I know.

And we will be here to cheer you on. :mrgreen:
 
Kathy and Kitty said:
Greetings, Sunshine! Do you have a condo devoted just to today? If so, I missed it -- but I wanted to stop by and say hello. The first two weeks are so overwhelming -- but you have a lot of practice caring for your furbabies. You'll be on top of this soon, I know. And we will be here to cheer you on. :mrgreen:

Condo...........not sure what you are referring to!

Today's BG AMPS 133 PMPS 109 3+111.......I was almost afraid to give PM injection..but she is fed alot in the evening...so I wathced her closely and all was fine...or at least baseline.

Sunshine
 
Hi Sunshine and BA
Welcome to Lantus Land (LL)
Sunshine and BA said:
Condo...........not sure what you are referring to!
A "condo" is the thread each one of us uses for the day,as you can see by the list, we
start with the date, kitty name and the AMPS BG #.
All questions and discussions go in that "condo" we have one per day. The next day you link the previous day to the new one so it becomes easy to follow the history and stories.
Have you started your spreadsheet? This should be included with your signature.
I know this is a lot of information but a good idea is to read the headings with the gold stars (called stickies)
Hope to see your "condo" tomorrow
 
Ok, so a condo is a thred to report daily BG's and each day a new thread is started or yesterday's thread is changed to current day's thread. Not sure how to link threads.

I am tinkering with a spreadsheet, borrowed some idea from the google one and added info I wanted to track. Little different but highly similiar. Just tried to attach, not sure how it will work.

thanks,
Sunshine
 
Sunshine and BA said:
Ok, so a condo is a thred to report daily BG's and each day a new thread is started or yesterday's thread is changed to current day's thread. Not sure how to link threads.

Sunshine, that is pretty much it. YOu can go and have a look at mine to get an idea.
Every day is new. To link the prior day, what I do is go to "view your posts" find my condo of the previous day,
open that post
then at the address line at the top of the webpage, highlight the whole address, right click to cope, then press new topic, then put cursor in main white box and click paste.
Then in the subject line you write the new info.
I hope this is nt too confusing in th way I described it. I beleive there are instructions as well in the tech section.
I'm not expert on the ss, I follow what everyone is doing with regards to the google ss.
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top