Sunshine & BA said:
When is the timeline for the first curve?
I don't know that there is an "official" timeline. If you look at the
tight regulation protocol, they suggest a mini-curve (i.e., at pre-shot, +3, +6, +9, and +12) during the first 3 days. Many people on the Board are still getting comfortable testing during this time. Ideally, you can get a curve as soon as you want. The idea is to start gathering data as best you can.
I guess I really missed that one. The first day of treatment at home was disrupted by a sick kitty with vomiting
How does her new UTI affect BG and insulin?
Any source of infection will raise BG. You may need to increase insulin in order to offset the infection. However, if BA is on antibiotics, hopefully, the infection is being controlled. Is BA prone to developing ketones? It is important to test for ketones if an infection is present. The presence of an infection, not enough insulin, and if appetite is off, can be a recipe for diabetic ketoacidosis.
BG was 133 AMPS and 109 PMPS...left me questioning if a fluke, response to antibotic treatment or first week of treatment paying off. Little nervous of hypoG risk though.
Is there a typical timeframe weight loss stops? She's lost about 10 oz. as a small kitty. I'm pushing tons of food which mostly goes in one end and out the other.
Does this mean BA is having problems with diarrhea? If so, are you doing anything to address the problem?
No diarrhea. I just push alot of food. She loses weight and poops alot.
There isn't a typical timeframe for weight related issues. Once BA is better regulated, he will be metabolizing food more effectively. In the mean time, feed him as much as he wants. If you're not doing so already, you may want to make sure you are feeding gluten free food and stay away from flavors that many cats develop allergies to (e.g., beef).
Food choices are a little limited due to pancreatitis.
I've read the lantus sticky notes. For some reason I can't wrap my fatigue brain around the article on dosing lantus.
If you mean the formal version of the Tight Regulation (aka Tilly) Protocol, it can be a tough slog through in the beginning! If you look at the "Tight Regulation Protocols" sticky, there are general/modified guidelines about half way down. See if that helps. If it's still unclear, just post and ask. People will be happy to help get you oriented and explain.
Thanks.
If lantus is dropped, knocked from counter to floor, nothing broken, clear and otherwise intact, should it be replaced?
This is a big, "I don't know." The only way to tell may be if BAs numbers start to get weird.
I hope this helps. I didn't know the answer to your spreadsheet question. You could post on the Tech forum and ask. I do tend to think we are all so used to the SS we use here that it's easy for us to navigate. If you haven't done so, I would suggest color coding your numbers in the same way as we do for the sake of consistency.