Newbie - Poe AMPS 314

Status
Not open for further replies.

KarensPoe

Member Since 2013
I'm new to this board, coming over from the Main FDMB board.

I've linked my SS, other info in my signature line. Stepping in to get my feet wet and possibly an increased dosage amount now since the .10 leaves him with higher numbers near dosing time. At initial diagnosis, dosage was 1.0, then was advised to decrease to .25, then to .1. Now, its looking as though the .1 is not enough. Should I be going back to the .25?

I am unable to get tests during the day Mon-Fri as I'm at work, but I do test as soon as I get home which is usually a AMPS +8 or +9. I am also getting into the routine of before bed testing. Weekends are easier to obtain more data.

Thanks :)
 
Welcome to lantus land!!!

I am bumping you up to get more eyes as everyone is getting home from work and i want to be sure they dont miss u!

Wendy
 
Hello :)

I'm not quite as happy as I seem, as I know Karre and Jack and Jane quite well, and I just read their sad news...

I see that Poe's PMPS was 287. Hopefully, he'll continue to head on down tonight. I think I would start tonight's testing with a +2. I wish your spreadsheet opened in a different window so that I could have it up at the same time I am writing a post to you, so that I could refer to it as I type. Someone can help you with that. I'm not that tech savvie.

I think if his numbers remain high tonight and are still above 200 tomorrow at AMPS and since you are going to be home tomorrow to monitor him, that increasing back to the 0.25 dose would be good.

Welcome to Lantus Land!
 
Welcome to Lantus Land!

I don't know if the folks over on the Health board suggested that you read the starred, sticky notes at the top of this Board. They are our primer on using Lantus and will help to answer many of your questions (providing you don't get overwhelmed by the sheer wealth of information).

In looking at Poe's spreadsheet, you're doing an incredible job of collecting data! To my eyes, I'd like to see you hold the dose a bit longer. Poe has been at this dose for only 3 days. Prior to that, you were reducing or skipping shots. I think Poe's insulin depot needs a bit longer to stabilize so we can evaluate how well this dose is working. With nadirs that are mostly below 200, you want to hold the dose for 5 days if you're following Tight Regulation and it's looking like Poe is seeing blue nadirs.
 
Hi :-D

I've been reading the sticky's. His PMPS was 287, so I gave him the .10

I will do a PMPS +6 tonight and post as soon as I have it. The SS gives me a fit sometimes...telling me it errored out if I leave it open for too long.

I'm slowly absorbing all the info on Lantus and diabetes...the depot...the doses. It's like a crash course to me, and every time I think I understand, seems his numbers change and I'm skipping or reducing. But slowly that is starting to make sense to me too.

Basic background...approximately 3 weeks ago, on May 14, about 6:30 am he began an asthma attack. It was his second, the first ocurring about 5 years ago. I took him to emergency vet clinic where they also ran blood work and got him stabilized. They found his BG to be in the 480's and contributed some of it to stress, but said even tht was too high for just stress.

Once I got his asthma issue under control with inhaled steroid and albuterol, I made an appt to see a regular vet. Being new to the area, I was very fortunate to find a great lady who also has a diabetic cat herself.

She ran a blood panel with BG, fructo, and the ketones. She also recommended catinfo.org, which I had already found after the emergency clinic told me about his diabetes. From the site, I learned about the dry food, and immediately removed it from his diet (prior to any insulin). I had already been giving him wet 2x a day also.

About 4 days later, after the blood work came back showing his BG at upper 380's, and trace ketones, we began insulin with 1 unit twice a day and she let me borrow a meter, strips, and lancets.

The rest you can see from here and Poe's SS. I have reduced his steroid to one puff every 24 hours, and the albuterol was eliminated about the same time we started the insulin.

He's had no other health issues. He is now about 14 lbs, and I know has lost weight since the onset. Prior to the asthma attack, looking back, I can see now he was eating quite heavily and filling the litter box, although at the time I was thinking that I was getting lazy about cleaning it.

That's basically it in a nutshell. I am learning a bit more every day about this and have told my vet that I'm working closely with you all, and she is pleased.

Thanks for all your help...and I look forward to a day of remission if that is at all possible
 
Karen --

I'm in Chicago. Which vet are you using? It sounds like you found someone who's knowledgeable.

You're doing great! There is an overwhelming amount of information to absorb and it all feels like a moving target in the beginning. It gets better -- really!

I'm a big fan of getting a +2 test. Usually, if the +2 number is considerably lower than your pre-shot test, it is likely to be an active cycle. I would not rely on the +6 being the nadir every cycle. Nadirs can change and some cats have early nadirs whereas others have late nadirs. (These guys refuse to read the rule book! Even if they did, they're cats and they wouldn't follow the rules.)
 
I'm in the city -- so no help! I don't know many of the vets outside of downtown.

Since you said the vet noted ketones, are you testing for them at home?
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top