Hi all-
My cat (Sammie, female) was diagnosed with diabetes 6 weeks ago. Her bloodwork showed a BG of 547. Everything else was normal. (I brought her in due to excessive drinking & urination) I don't know how old she is - she's a rescue, but we've had her 8 years, so probably 10-12. The vet started her on 2.5 u humulin-N 2x/day & wanted to do a BG curve at the vet's but I had read on here that might not be the best thing. I switched vets because the first vet hadn't treated any diabetic cats in about 9 years & I didn't feel comfortable with answers to my questions. I found a vet who has several diabetic patients & had one of her own.
I got a meter but have a lot of trouble getting BG's - she doesn't like to be handled & it's just me now (my partner & her best buddy passed away last Nov). I got one about 3 wks ago & it was 200 about 2 hrs after eating & getting her insulin. The vet did a fructosamine a week ago & she said it was low & decreased her insulin to 2 units. (I don't know the # the fructosamine was).
I managed to get a BG yesterday morning about 4 1/2 hrs after eating & insulin & it was 47. she has no symptoms of hypoglycemia. I called the vet right away, & she said to give her carbs, which I did, & said not to give her any more insulin until sunday, and not to give her any if her BG was belwo 200. We decided to switch her over to the PZI for when she restarts. I just got another BG tonight prior to her eating (altho she nibbles some during the day) & it has only gone up to 56. I fed her her regular wet food, but she didn't eat too much. I just gave her a bunch of cat treats - either Pounce or Whiskas Temptations. I'm very concerned - I don't want to panic, but not sure what to do other than just watching her & make sure she's eating. What would cause her BG to stay so low for such a long time?
I have been reading all the info on this web site, and read posts recently to another newbie. I'm in a similar situation - very little money, and trying to do the best I can for her. Neither vet even recommended doing BG's at home - I just read about doing it here, and as you have read, have not been doing it except the 2 times. I'm going to try to get another 1 tonight to see if it's gone up. I feel neglectful that I haven't been able to get her BG's on a regular basis after reading everything on this site. When I have tried either I don't get any blood, or she gets upset with me handling her too long. I have to be very sneaky about everything with her & giving her her insulin took about 2 weeks until we got a pretty good routine, and it is working pretty well now. I was extremely anxious which probably didn't help.
If anyone is out there on a Sat night, please tell me what I should be doing here. I just got a new bottle on PZI after having spent a lot on the humulin-N, and don't want to haul her off to the emergency vet if I can avoid it, but will , or course, if it seems prudent. Everything I've had to get so far has gone on a credit card, and I will do whatever I need to do, but having a hard time making ends meet here.
Thanks for whatever advice you can offer.
Ellen
My cat (Sammie, female) was diagnosed with diabetes 6 weeks ago. Her bloodwork showed a BG of 547. Everything else was normal. (I brought her in due to excessive drinking & urination) I don't know how old she is - she's a rescue, but we've had her 8 years, so probably 10-12. The vet started her on 2.5 u humulin-N 2x/day & wanted to do a BG curve at the vet's but I had read on here that might not be the best thing. I switched vets because the first vet hadn't treated any diabetic cats in about 9 years & I didn't feel comfortable with answers to my questions. I found a vet who has several diabetic patients & had one of her own.
I got a meter but have a lot of trouble getting BG's - she doesn't like to be handled & it's just me now (my partner & her best buddy passed away last Nov). I got one about 3 wks ago & it was 200 about 2 hrs after eating & getting her insulin. The vet did a fructosamine a week ago & she said it was low & decreased her insulin to 2 units. (I don't know the # the fructosamine was).
I managed to get a BG yesterday morning about 4 1/2 hrs after eating & insulin & it was 47. she has no symptoms of hypoglycemia. I called the vet right away, & she said to give her carbs, which I did, & said not to give her any more insulin until sunday, and not to give her any if her BG was belwo 200. We decided to switch her over to the PZI for when she restarts. I just got another BG tonight prior to her eating (altho she nibbles some during the day) & it has only gone up to 56. I fed her her regular wet food, but she didn't eat too much. I just gave her a bunch of cat treats - either Pounce or Whiskas Temptations. I'm very concerned - I don't want to panic, but not sure what to do other than just watching her & make sure she's eating. What would cause her BG to stay so low for such a long time?
I have been reading all the info on this web site, and read posts recently to another newbie. I'm in a similar situation - very little money, and trying to do the best I can for her. Neither vet even recommended doing BG's at home - I just read about doing it here, and as you have read, have not been doing it except the 2 times. I'm going to try to get another 1 tonight to see if it's gone up. I feel neglectful that I haven't been able to get her BG's on a regular basis after reading everything on this site. When I have tried either I don't get any blood, or she gets upset with me handling her too long. I have to be very sneaky about everything with her & giving her her insulin took about 2 weeks until we got a pretty good routine, and it is working pretty well now. I was extremely anxious which probably didn't help.
If anyone is out there on a Sat night, please tell me what I should be doing here. I just got a new bottle on PZI after having spent a lot on the humulin-N, and don't want to haul her off to the emergency vet if I can avoid it, but will , or course, if it seems prudent. Everything I've had to get so far has gone on a credit card, and I will do whatever I need to do, but having a hard time making ends meet here.
Thanks for whatever advice you can offer.
Ellen