Hi All,
So, I am about to start administering Lantus to my 9 y.o. cat, who was dx in January, but went on an 8-month remission after switching him to Janet&Binky's wet food. He had a relapse about 10 days ago with his numbers hovering in high 200s-up to 390 every day. Still trying to figure out if perhaps dental issues could have caused the relapse...
My vet is not knowedgable about dosing Lantus, but agreed to work with me. I am home-testing regularly.
I read all the info in stickys and on the Lantus board, but am still confused as to dosing rules. Here are my questions:
1. I know to start at 1u every twelve hours. I found a rule for newbies not to shoot at bg =200 and lower, but looking through people's spreadsheets I noticed that many ppl do shoot lower #s from the very beginning. Is it better to do fixed dosing and skip a shot entirely at bg=200, or is it better to lower the dose instead of skipping?
2. What does it mean that a "skinny" or "fat" dose was given? How does that look like on the syringe?
3. I read somewhere that before drawing insulin one should inject an air bubble to the vial that is equivalent to the dose one will be using. But that sounds counterintuitive- don't vials go bad faster when they have air in them? Any pointers/links on appropriate drawing technique from a SoloStarPen?
I will appreciate all advice, especially that I am largely going at it on my own. My vet, as I mentioned, has very outdated knowledge about FD.
Thank you,
Eva
P.S. And one more question- no shaking, mixing, or rolling with the SoloStar pen, right? Just draw from it as it is?
So, I am about to start administering Lantus to my 9 y.o. cat, who was dx in January, but went on an 8-month remission after switching him to Janet&Binky's wet food. He had a relapse about 10 days ago with his numbers hovering in high 200s-up to 390 every day. Still trying to figure out if perhaps dental issues could have caused the relapse...
My vet is not knowedgable about dosing Lantus, but agreed to work with me. I am home-testing regularly.
I read all the info in stickys and on the Lantus board, but am still confused as to dosing rules. Here are my questions:
1. I know to start at 1u every twelve hours. I found a rule for newbies not to shoot at bg =200 and lower, but looking through people's spreadsheets I noticed that many ppl do shoot lower #s from the very beginning. Is it better to do fixed dosing and skip a shot entirely at bg=200, or is it better to lower the dose instead of skipping?
2. What does it mean that a "skinny" or "fat" dose was given? How does that look like on the syringe?
3. I read somewhere that before drawing insulin one should inject an air bubble to the vial that is equivalent to the dose one will be using. But that sounds counterintuitive- don't vials go bad faster when they have air in them? Any pointers/links on appropriate drawing technique from a SoloStarPen?
I will appreciate all advice, especially that I am largely going at it on my own. My vet, as I mentioned, has very outdated knowledge about FD.
Thank you,
Eva
P.S. And one more question- no shaking, mixing, or rolling with the SoloStar pen, right? Just draw from it as it is?