Hi Nemismom,
Welcome to Lantus Land. You will find the link to the Lantus group (if you haven't already found it) under Insulin Support Groups (ISG) Lantus (Glargine).
I am not expert at determining what dose you ought to be giving, but I can tell you that it does indeed look as if 2 units are too much. You cannot decide upon a dose by looking at the pre-shot number. Lantus dosing is based on the nadir (lowest number in the 12-hour cycle). Julie is right that the high numbers you have been seeing are "bounces" from the low numbers Cinco has been getting in mid cycles. His body is accustomed to high numbers and when you give too large a dose, the numbers plummet and his liver sees these low numbers and panics, sending glucose and other hormones into the bloodstream. Hence the bounce back to high numbers.
The informational "Stickeys" at the top of the Lantus forum are very informative. Start by reading "New to the Group" and "Tight Regulation Protocol". Once you get your kitty off dry food and onto low-carb wet food you may see a big drop in bg numbers. For this reason, you will have to monitor Cinco's blood glucose carefully to make sure you are not giving too much insulin. I hope that one of our experienced dosing people will be along later today to help you determine what your present dose should be. I think that if Cinco were my kitty, I would start over at 1 unit and see what happens. Follow the protocol ("Tight Regulation Protocol"), holding each dose for the required number of cycles unless the dose seems too high (then you should reduce immediately). It takes a while for a new dose to settle in. If it becomes apparent that 1 unit is too little, you can raise the dose. The purpose of following the protocol is to keep the kitty safe. If bg numbers are too high, it isn't great, but your kitty will be safe. If numbers are too low, it could be life-threatening.
So hang on and wait for some really experienced eyes to take a look at Cinco's spreadsheet.
Welcome!
Ella & Rusty
p.s. What is your name?