newbie Lynn and Pickle 6/4/23

Status
Not open for further replies.

Pickle's person

Member Since 2023
Hi, just saying a startup hello. We got diagnosis Friday, after blood glucose shot up. He's in hospital now doing well on fluids and getting over the crisis. I'm probably picking him up from vet hospital Tuesday to start home treatment. I tended my dog's diabetes (which turned out to be temporary) in 2020 but a lot more scared about tending to cat. The dog took the needle like it was nothing. Pickle is already on steroid for gastro disease so vet specialist says it will be a tough road, but gotta give him every chance I can.
 
Hi and welcome to the forum Lynne and Pickle.
Looking after a cat with diabetes is a bit different to a dog in that a cat’s metabolism is much faster than a dogs, and cats need insulin twice a day.
Do you know what type of insulin the vet has Pickle on? Hopefully it is one of the longer lasting more gentle insulins such as Lantus or Prozinc
You have the date of diagnosis on the signature as 4/2/23, is that correct?
I’m glad you are getting a libre fitted to start with. You might like to look at hometesting moving forward as the libre is expensive to keep up using.
A good meter is the ReliOn premier meter from Walmart. You will also need some test strips to go with the meter, a box of 100 lancets size 26 or 28 and some cotton rounds to hold behind the ear to test. It is a human meter, there is no need to buy a pet meter which is much more expensive to run.
I will link information on hometesting at the bottom.
I will also link a food chart for you. Look for canned food that is 10% carbs or under. Most of us use around 4-7% carbs. There is no need to buy the expensive prescription foods that the vet will want to sell to you. There is nothing special about it and it is higher carb than is suitable for diabetic cats. And dry food is not suitable at all.

Depending on the insulin you are given, you will test the BG (blood glucose), then feed, then give the insulin. If it is one of the faster acting insulins ( which are not suitable for cats, but which many cats are given), you will need to wait 30 or 60 minutes after feeding before the dose. Let us know what type of insulin and we can tell you when you can give the dose after the food. We recommend feeding before both doses of insulin each day and then giving at least a couple of snacks during the 1st half of all cycles. A snack is a teaspoon or 2 of low carb food.
I would ask the vet if Pickle had ketones at diagnosis. If he did, there are extra things you will need to do, which the vet often doesn’t mention but they are very important, so please let us know if there were ketones.
Ask lots of questions.
Here are some links
HELP US HELP YOU this link has information for new members. There is information on how to set up the spreadsheet so you can add the data from the libre into it. It also has the hypo kit on it.please set up hypo kit asap as you never know when it might be needeD
FOOD CHART
 
Hi Bron, Thanks for the welcome. My biggest stress is over giving needle to cat (giving shot to the dog was unstressful for several reasons. Whereas I have had to give cats fluids before, and one cat was super mellow about it but the latter cat was opposite, tended to jump/jolt just at wrong moment, leaving me a little shell shocked.) I am reading all the sources to help with shot technique, trying to regain confidence. For food, getting a diet that works for both diabetes plus his gastrointestinal disease will be Pickle's challenge. I'm told he'll be on the long-acting insulin for his injections, but I do not know what kind yet as he's still recovering at vet hospital where he's been on IV for fluids, anti nausea, some insulin etc., to get him back in a safe zone. He was diagnosed 6/2 (three days ago), I need to correct my typo on that. I will get my orientation/training at vet specialist office today or tomorrow when I pick him up. I'm told they did find ketones. His blood glucose went from 500 to 700 then back to 300 on day/night of diagnosis so they have taken weekend to stabilize him. This morning they plan to start him on the injectable insulin at 8 a.m. and then see how that goes before releasing him for me to take over.
Last night I printed a bunch of literature from here, including the hypoglycemia stuff, so good to have that on hand. Am planning to put together a kit and binder today to be prepared for keeping track of everything.
I really did like the Freestyle Libre for my dog so that is one thing I was relieved about when they said they could do one for Pickle.
I looked into the spreadsheet used here, it's a lot of steps so I just printed out the how to and will get to that once I know what I'm doing with the rest of it.
Thanks much for the support and links. I'm still in the "wish it wasn't so" phase but know I have to rapidly move into "this is how it is" reality.
 
I can get someone to help you with the spreadsheet if you like. No problem.
try giving Pickle something to eat when you give the insulin.
As pickle had ketones at diagnosis, it is really important you do a few things
  • Don’t skip any doses of insulin. If the BG is not high enough, stall , don’t feed and check the BG in20 minutes to see if it is rising. And post and ask for help.
  • Feed Pickle lots of food …he will need up to 1 and a half times as much food as normal for a while so give lots if snacks as well as the two main meals
  • Buy a bottle of Ketostix from Walmart and test every day for ketones in the urine. This is important ..
  • add a teaspoon of warm water to all the snacks so he is getting extra fluids
  • It is insulin and food that will keep the ketones at bay
  • Post daily do we can help you
 
Ok, I'll print out that advice; so much to take in. I am putting together an Amazon shopping cart right now and have added Ketostix. From the hypo toolkit list, I am trying to add a "bulb syringe" and searched this site for what exactly that is and how to use it. Please advise what I should purchase--should it open into two pieces or just be one solid piece? Is it the same kind advertised as for ear cleaning? How does one load and use it? (for rectal glucose administration if emergency, per Hypo Kit) Maybe there is a post I need to read? Many thanks.
 
The good thing about giving insulin is that the needles on the syringe are nowhere near as thick as what you use to give fluids. Most of our cats don't notice getting a shot. I would typically give my cat her shot when she was eating. She was very food motivated and didn't even notice getting a shot.

What GI problems has your cat with diagnosed with? We have any number of cats that have IBS and are typically prescribed budesonside (vs prednisolone). The bottom line is that you can adjust an insulin dose around the effect of a steroid. It's not a huge problem.

Please let us know how we can help!
 
Welcome Lynn and Pickle's, you couldn't have found a better group to join.
There are a lot of experienced members here, if it wasn't for this group and the advice I was given Tyler wouldn't be in remission since 1-24-21
I noticed were you have information on your profile page Pickle's has

gastrointestinal disease and mild heart arrhythmia I would also add this to your signature :cat: Just tap on your name up top then tap on signature and add it then tap Save .You are in good hands here then when you find out what insulin it is and food you are feeding you can add that also
@Pickle's person :cat:
 
Last edited:
Folks, you have all been so kind. I am devastated to write that we had to let Pickle go tonight. Despite excellent care, he kept declining. The final crisis was that tonight while still in intensive care, he began open-mouth breathing/panting and they also discovered that fluid had begun accumulating around his heart; even as they were on the phone telling me, they were all watching him, afraid he might go into cardiac arrest at any moment. There was one other intervention option--physically removing the pooled fluid (I do not know all the terms or what it all meant, doesn't matter now) and then treating him with medicine that is basically reducing fluid in his system just as we are also trying to rehydrate his system (this is my retelling, I may have details blurred, doesn't matter now), but as the specialist--who loved him, and who I felt very confident in--put it, the bigger picture was a 15-year-old fellow whose kidneys are failing and now has worsening heart disease, as well as gastrointestinal disease that we had already been losing ground against for a while. Our decision as his guardians had to take all that into account. With my own heart breaking, I told them to let his little heart rest rather than ask him to tolerate yet another procedure. This was after I had made all preparations Monday to take on treating his diabetes at home, including already purchasing the first insulin bottle (at $300), the syringes, setting up a hypo kit, and printed out many notes from this website. (I need to find a way to donate this unopened, refrigerated insulin, in his memory; the vet's office may know of a local pet in need.)

Please, please, no one offer possible alternate treatment scenarios at this saddest moment. We tried to do our best by him. Pickle had always loved to eat, and starting Tuesday morning, just when we expected to bring him home, we learned he had stopped eating (despite appetite stimulant and many savory options offered). I burst into tears as soon as they told me about that downturn Tuesday morning, because it was such an unexpected setback from what we thought would be a smooth transition back home.

Pickle was my treasured friend, companion, and constant cuddler. As the photo shows, he and I unashamedly kissed on the lips. He would come running when I whistled. His love language was grooming both his humans and his feline housemates. Back in his prime he caught and delivered into the house three black-racer snakes and two baby possums even though he never left his own high-fenced yard. (We rescued and released all; the possums went to local wildlife rescue along with a sizable donation for their care.)

I will have an immense hole in my heart without him. I was scared yet very determined to tackle the diabetes challenge at home, but he just wasn't strong enough to get back home.

I believe I saw some grief support resources here, I will look into those. Tonight, the loss is agony.
 
Last edited:
Lynne :bighug::bighug::bighug:
I am so very sorry to read this update. Sometimes, despite all we do for our precious babies, we can't save them.
Pickle had a lot going on and his little body just could not cope with it.
Setting him free was the kindest thing you could do for him. I know how heartbroken you will be.
We all understand here how hard it is to say goodbye:bighug::bighug::bighug:
Fly free Dear Pickle:rb_icon:cat_wings>o
 
Oh Lynn I am so so sorry to hear this, my heart breaks for you.
You did your very best for him and I'm sure Pickle's knew how loved he was.
I know how you feel 4 years ago I had to let Tyler's brother go due to kidney failure, he was my heart kitty and I still miss him so.
There is only so much we can do for our babies. We never have them long enough.
I'm looking at his picture and you can see the love you both had for each other, I
kiss Tyler on the lips also, cats I had in the past also ,so there is nothing to be ashamed of . Looking at his pic I can tell he was a sweetheart, such a beautiful boy.
In time I hope you will remember all the beautiful times you shared together .
Please take care of yourself Lynn.
Pickle you will be missed but never forgotten. I'm sure you are now chasing butterflies with all the other kitties at the Rainbow Bridge , no more pain sweet Pickle :bighug::bighug::bighug::bighug::bighug::rb_icon:cat_wings>o
 
Lynne :bighug::bighug::bighug:
I am so very sorry to read this update. Sometimes, despite all we do for our precious babies, we can't save them.
Pickle had a lot going on and his little body just could not cope with it.
Setting him free was the kindest thing you could do for him. I know how heartbroken you will be.
We all understand here how hard it is to say goodbye:bighug::bighug::bighug:
Fly free Dear Pickle:rb_icon:cat_wings>o

Bron, thank you so much for your kind condolences and reassurance that we tried to make the right choice for him. Nothing soothes as much as the words of another who knows and shares the depth of our deep love and grief for our fur family. I see the photo of your gorgeous Sheba and know that your empathy is hard won. Thank you for helping me.
 
Oh Lynn I am so so sorry to hear this, my heart breaks for you.
You did your very best for him and I'm sure Pickle's knew how loved he was.
I know how you feel 4 years ago I had to let Tyler's brother go due to kidney failure, he was my heart kitty and I still miss him so.
There is only so much we can do for our babies. We never have them long enough.
I'm looking at his picture and you can see the love you both had for each other, I
kiss Tyler on the lips also, cats I had in the past also ,so there is nothing to be ashamed of . Looking at his pic I can tell he was a sweetheart, such a beautiful boy.
In time I hope you will remember all the beautiful times you shared together .
Please take care of yourself Lynn.
Pickle you will be missed but never forgotten. I'm sure you are now chasing butterflies with all the other kitties at the Rainbow Bridge , no more pain sweet Pickle :bighug::bighug::bighug::bighug::bighug::rb_icon:cat_wings>o

Dear Diane, It is bringing me solace to read your words of comfort and empathy in response to my heartbreaking update. Thank you for the reassurance that my husband and I's choice was fully from love. Yes, Pickle was a heart kitty, just like Tyler's brother. I treasure all my fur family, but a few of those many just seem to love US so much that they dig a little deeper. I have had four like that, over a long life, and Pickle was the last. I am blessed at least he had a "trainee" at home--a mini me little gal named Lily (10 years younger, and unrelated) who seemed to know that of the five cats in our house, she and Pickle were the same color/pattern. She often bookended his poses. Last night, she came and little-spooned me in the bed, where Pickle would always have been. How I will live without Pickle's love, I don't know. But it seems he trained Lily to help me through.
 
Last edited:
. I am blessed at least he had a "trainee" at home--a mini me little gal named Lily (10 years younger, and unrelated) who seemed to know that of the five cats in our house, she and Pickle were the same color/pattern. She often bookended his poses. Last night, she came and little-spooned me in the bed, where Pickle would always have been. How I will live without Pickle's love, I don't know. But it seems he trained Lily to help me through.
I'm sure Pickle's made sure that Lily would comfort you . Please take care ,Pickle's will always be in your heart ,watch over mama Pickle's and let her know you are doing well :bighug::bighug::bighug:
 
Can someone please help me post this "Free Lantus Insulin Alert in 32955 zip code" to the right forum, I don't seem to know how to post without replying to someone.

I have one always-refrigerated bottle of Lantus insulin glargine 100 units/ml to donate. I bought it one week ago today in anticipation of my sweet boy's return home, which alas was not to be.
it cost me $300 so I would like to donate it in his memory.
Recipient needs to be local to me due to refrigeration requirement.
Also a hypo kit, syringes, unopened ketostix, a little t-shirt to wear over glucose monitor. If no one here can use it, can anyone offer advice of other avenues I can offer it.
 
Wait, kept looking and I think I figured it out. I made a new posting in the Lantus forum. I am also going to put the word out through my vet, so whoever responds first has best "shot."
 
Lynn that's so nice of you to donate all of your supplies in memory of Pickles, I'm sure Pickles would want that to help another kitty in need .:bighug::bighug::bighug::bighug:
 
Thank you, Diane. He never met another cat he didn't try to befriend. I am missing him with my whole heart and trying to honor the immense love he gave.

I sure hope this insulin can go to someone in need, it cost so much. Have offered it through my primary vet, too, but not heard back yet.
 
Lynn, I’m so sorry. Losing any of them is difficult; losing those special, once-in-a-lifetime kitties who are burrowed deeply into our hearts and whose eyes reflect so much more soul and understanding than “just a cat” …. well, those losses are excruciating.

I had a cat named Charlie who was my “soulmate.” Even though he had a laundry list of medical issues and was slowly failing, I ended up having to let him go unexpectedly, and I completely relate to your grief. Charlie slept in my arms every night and was the welcoming committee for all new rescues. The night he passed, one of the other cats crawled into my arms and took Charlie’s spot, at least for a few weeks until I felt better. RJ had never done that before and hasn’t done it since, so I’ve always thought that perhaps Charlie enlisted RJ to look after me.

After a loss, the rhythm of life can feel “off” for awhile; I often described it as being like the tilted screen in an old episode of Batman (when the bad guy shows up). The world is just off balance.

It certainly sounds like Pickle had a very caring and dedicated advocate in you and that you truly made the best decisions you could, painful as they may have been. It also clear that Pickle was deeply loved and knew it. I wish all kitties had that.

Sending you many hugs. :bighug:
 
JL, thank you. Isn't it amazing when one of the other resident cats seem to know you need them, and give you their warmth and closeness despite it not being their general nature? This has happened to me twice in my life, and once in my husband's life--where one of the others just intuitively comforts you, in the way only a lap cat can, for a brief time.

Charlie's situation does sound very similar, my sincere condolences for your losses as well. Clearly, the love they shared with us lives on and on.
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top