20Merlin24
Member Since 2024
Hello everybody!
My name is Anna and I have a newly diagnosed male named Merlin. He had a rough start in life and almost died from panleukopenia when he was a baby. He was brought to me as a rescue that the local shelter wouldn't take because they didn't have the resources to look after him. Anyway, that was about six years ago.
In the last year or so he had a dental and ALL his teeth removed after some had already fallen out by themselves. Since this he has not been eating much kibble, but mostly Friskies and Fancy Feast pate, as well as boiled chicken and jarred baby food.
We live in a very rural area and the closest vet (as well as everything else) is an hour away. It's a small office with sparse tech. The vet is a skilled diagnostician but as far as newer information, he is not very up on it.
We're actually in the process of moving out of state next month, to a more populated area. The added moving stress is maybe not a good thing for any of us...
Merlin was initially put on 3 units "1/2 Strength NPH". (They will not prescribe anything else, I asked.) Three days later (before I had any info) I brough him in for a re-check in the morning. He had just eaten a large meal because I was told to do whatever is the normal routine. He was extremely stressed and tested 327 on their human glucometer. Based on that - and nothing else - they increased his dose to 4 Units and gave the shot right there. Knowing what I know now I would imagine his meal (and stress level) possibly could have influenced that reading. I had no "before food" reading. They didn't ask anything at all regarding food, or even if he had eaten at all.
I didn't have a glucometer yet, but based on how he acted all day after, especially early afternoon, I started getting really concerned about hypoglycemia. When I called the office for advice I was told to give Karo or something - if I was worried. And skip the evening dose - if I wanted. Or I could just skip the injections entirely until I had my meter.
I opted for safety first. Skipped the evening dose and then resumed at 1 Unit the next day. Yesterday we started at 2.5 Units. AMPS was 302 and one hour after injection 305. The low for the day was 278 at 3+. PMPS was very difficult to obtain so now my schedule is off, but reading was 294. Concerned that this reading was lower than before I only gave 2 Units.
I have some questions if anyone is up for it:
1. Re the AMPS and PMPS at this early stage - should another reading be taken immediately before the shot...? I'm just testing an hour before, and then feeding. A little unsure how to properly log it.
2. This morning AMPS is 290. He then ate a full jar of beef baby food and half a can of Fancy Feast pate. How much should I shoot? Is it OK to jump right to 3 or 4 like the vet's office said? I was thinking 2.5 again but am looking for input.
My name is Anna and I have a newly diagnosed male named Merlin. He had a rough start in life and almost died from panleukopenia when he was a baby. He was brought to me as a rescue that the local shelter wouldn't take because they didn't have the resources to look after him. Anyway, that was about six years ago.
In the last year or so he had a dental and ALL his teeth removed after some had already fallen out by themselves. Since this he has not been eating much kibble, but mostly Friskies and Fancy Feast pate, as well as boiled chicken and jarred baby food.
We live in a very rural area and the closest vet (as well as everything else) is an hour away. It's a small office with sparse tech. The vet is a skilled diagnostician but as far as newer information, he is not very up on it.
We're actually in the process of moving out of state next month, to a more populated area. The added moving stress is maybe not a good thing for any of us...
Merlin was initially put on 3 units "1/2 Strength NPH". (They will not prescribe anything else, I asked.) Three days later (before I had any info) I brough him in for a re-check in the morning. He had just eaten a large meal because I was told to do whatever is the normal routine. He was extremely stressed and tested 327 on their human glucometer. Based on that - and nothing else - they increased his dose to 4 Units and gave the shot right there. Knowing what I know now I would imagine his meal (and stress level) possibly could have influenced that reading. I had no "before food" reading. They didn't ask anything at all regarding food, or even if he had eaten at all.
I didn't have a glucometer yet, but based on how he acted all day after, especially early afternoon, I started getting really concerned about hypoglycemia. When I called the office for advice I was told to give Karo or something - if I was worried. And skip the evening dose - if I wanted. Or I could just skip the injections entirely until I had my meter.
I opted for safety first. Skipped the evening dose and then resumed at 1 Unit the next day. Yesterday we started at 2.5 Units. AMPS was 302 and one hour after injection 305. The low for the day was 278 at 3+. PMPS was very difficult to obtain so now my schedule is off, but reading was 294. Concerned that this reading was lower than before I only gave 2 Units.
I have some questions if anyone is up for it:
1. Re the AMPS and PMPS at this early stage - should another reading be taken immediately before the shot...? I'm just testing an hour before, and then feeding. A little unsure how to properly log it.
2. This morning AMPS is 290. He then ate a full jar of beef baby food and half a can of Fancy Feast pate. How much should I shoot? Is it OK to jump right to 3 or 4 like the vet's office said? I was thinking 2.5 again but am looking for input.


New area has quite a few. Fingers crossed!