jbeausoleil
Member Since 2013
Hi,
I have a 12yr old female at ideal weight of 8.25lbs.
she was on Hill's Science Diet her whole life until last Thursday when diagnosed as type II FD.
She went 100% wet by Sunday afternoon on Nutro grain free turkey loaf.
Today I finally received my order of Evo 95% and she has been eating that since noon.
I am planning to stick withe the Evo.
Last Thur she had BG of 437 at the clinic.
Friday and Saturday I read and bought so many different wet foods that were not being eaten.
Sunday BG 209, 216, 214 & 221 respectively - approx 6hr intervals and before feeding.
Monday BG 190, 166 & 171 and fully off dry for 24 hrs by noon.
Tuesday BG 158,156 & 163
Wednesday 155 & 151 but totally blew the evening test. tried 4 times then gave up for both our sakes.
Today - one week later with the food switch at lunch BG 205,, 159 & 169
No insulin ever injected at this time. we were given a week to see what a diet change would do. Prescribed Lantus.
Tomorrow we go to the vet to test my meter with their equipment to make sure the meter numbers are reasonably accurate and get lessons on insulincare, ketone info and injection lesson.
I kept my vet updated on her success so far. She appears to be a little fighter!
My first question to you experienced folks:
Given how well she is doing without insulin yet AND the switch to Evo only today - should I wait on the insulin another day or so to see how she does on Evo?
It seems she would benefit from the insulin to help healing along so maybe a very low dose for a week?
I'm anxious about the TR because I am single and working and do not feel I can provide sufficient testing.
I have been feeding approx. 1.5 oz of food 4 times per day. I think I can put down more food though. She seems to self manage quite well on a free feed basis.
2 cats in the the household and the other switched right away. of course. Both are now on the same diet so I'm not worried about the feeding aspect.
Thank you in advance!
Izzy FD
I have a 12yr old female at ideal weight of 8.25lbs.
she was on Hill's Science Diet her whole life until last Thursday when diagnosed as type II FD.
She went 100% wet by Sunday afternoon on Nutro grain free turkey loaf.
Today I finally received my order of Evo 95% and she has been eating that since noon.
I am planning to stick withe the Evo.
Last Thur she had BG of 437 at the clinic.
Friday and Saturday I read and bought so many different wet foods that were not being eaten.
Sunday BG 209, 216, 214 & 221 respectively - approx 6hr intervals and before feeding.
Monday BG 190, 166 & 171 and fully off dry for 24 hrs by noon.
Tuesday BG 158,156 & 163
Wednesday 155 & 151 but totally blew the evening test. tried 4 times then gave up for both our sakes.
Today - one week later with the food switch at lunch BG 205,, 159 & 169
No insulin ever injected at this time. we were given a week to see what a diet change would do. Prescribed Lantus.
Tomorrow we go to the vet to test my meter with their equipment to make sure the meter numbers are reasonably accurate and get lessons on insulincare, ketone info and injection lesson.
I kept my vet updated on her success so far. She appears to be a little fighter!
My first question to you experienced folks:
Given how well she is doing without insulin yet AND the switch to Evo only today - should I wait on the insulin another day or so to see how she does on Evo?
It seems she would benefit from the insulin to help healing along so maybe a very low dose for a week?
I'm anxious about the TR because I am single and working and do not feel I can provide sufficient testing.
I have been feeding approx. 1.5 oz of food 4 times per day. I think I can put down more food though. She seems to self manage quite well on a free feed basis.
2 cats in the the household and the other switched right away. of course. Both are now on the same diet so I'm not worried about the feeding aspect.
Thank you in advance!
Izzy FD