Newbie Lantus Dose Help

Status
Not open for further replies.

Pallid

Member Since 2011
Hello Everyone,

I went to new vet today. She is so sweet and She knows about Diabetes...
She made some tests...

FIV negative
Urea Normal
etc etc.

But His BG was 412 there... So the new vet wants to start with 1u and check for a week. She wanted me to feed first then give shot...
What do you think about it?

His mouth seems so bad... I think steroids live his body...So wounds seems so much worse... I was thinking that Interferon would help it. But If it did, wounds wouldnt be seeming that bad. huh? I think It was the steroids helped his mouth... He has so much pain in his mouth now... :(
He has gingivitis and stomatitis...
She wanted me to leave Interferon. Because It can cause high blood sugar. I already left it last night thankfully. I really need to thank you that You warned me about it...

She decided to treat Diabetes first.. Then she will treat his mouth... She wanted me to go again a week later that she will check his BG every 2 hours...
Then she will know how his body reacts to Lantus...She wanted to wait for shanga's body to get used to Lantus for a week...

I need your advices...

Thank You
 
Hello Pallid,

Many kitties have high BG at the vet, due to stress. My advice is that, based on the data you have collected so far, 1u is too much for Shanga.
I would start with .25u at the very most.
best to be safe - you can always increase in a week if 0.25u does not do a good job.

You can check Shangas BG every 2 hours at home, where he will not feel "vet stress". The results will be more true. You can then provide the vet with the results. I don't think there is a need for you to take Sahnga to the vet for that.

I'm sure others will come alongn today with their advice.
 
I want to give him lower dose. But the syringe lets me 1u... I was practising since yesterday, I am not sure I can make it same everytime ... Sometimes it can be 0.25, sometimes 0.30...
I dont trust myself about it. It would be a problem? Its really hard to find out right dose with this syringes.....
 
Hande,

I am confused now. I thought Shanga was on Levemir a few days ago when you posted for help after his first Levemir shot but now he is on Lantus? You need to stick with one type of insulin for awhile.

Also, you don't need to take Shanga to the vet for bg testing every two hours. You can do this at home since you are already doing home testing. If you can start Shanga's spreadsheet and post a tread asking for dosing advice, you can get much better adivce here than from your vet. Has your vet treated feline diabetes with either Levemir or Lantus? People here are dealing with sugar kitties on a daily basis, and many have years of experience.

Please check your inbox. I just sent you a PM. I sent you some Information on the latest treatment for stomatitis (it's called stomatitis cocktail) at Dallas Animal Dental & Surgicenter.

Personally, I don't think you should delay Shanga's stomatitis treatment. Did you have a chance to read the document on stomatitis treatment I sent you? That's something you can start at home now. Everything you need to start the home treatment can be purchased from pharmacy and health food store/vitamin shop. It's a very, very painful disease. If left untreated, Shanga may stop eating.
 
Pallid, Sienne left some good advice in your condo the other day about measuring the dose :

You can take a syringe and practice getting the dose you want. I'd use a colored liquid so you can see when you're practicing. Once you have drawn up the dose as accurately as you can, save the syringe. (You can mark the amount with tape around the syringe barrel, nail polish, etc. You can then use that syringe as a comparison with the one you will actually be using with insulin. This should help you to dose as consistently as possible.

Don't worry if it is actually 0.25 or 0.30 - the most important thing is that once you create a syringe to use as a guide, you try and consistently match each dose to it. Lantus likes consistency.

Remember, Lantus dose is not so much determined by PS number, it is determined by cycle nadir (lowest number in the cycle)
 
Yes I wrote everything :) I kept practising maybe billion times :) Sienne helped me a lot about documents and informing me... I am so thankful she helps me.
And I gave him first shot. :) Hope I made it 0.25u... maybe little bit more. Oh God I am relieved... :)
I made a sample as you said but I am not sure about the dose... All I know Its lower then 0.50u ... :)

Thank You,
 
great job! like sandy said, just keep the dose amount consistent every shot now for 5-7 days. get some tests in so we can see how the dose is working in Shanga's body. it will take a few days for the shed to build up in his body.

now your next shot will be in 12 hours from the last shot.
 
Shanga is a lucky kitty! You are doing such a great job. You pay for a vet's professional advice, but sometimes it's just obvious that they aren't seeing what you do, or they may not have a lot of experience with the particular condition your kitty is dealing with. You have been very proactive and Shanga owes his life to your persistence.
 
My Dear KSAkitties,

First thank you for being there for shanga and me.
I went to different vet today. Because As I always said I couldnt trust other vet for diabetes treatment nor other people here...
She uses Lantus and she got remission with Lantus several times.
And I didnt use Lenevir. Just once and you know what happened shanga after over dose ...
Believe me I am more concerned with his mouth right now.It seemed terrible today.... I read the documents that you sent... Ofcourse I am gonna try for everything. Vet didnt give any medicine but she wants to use herbal for his mouth... I already ordered some from ebay. I hope I can get theM ASAP...
The documents that u send helped me a lot...
I talked the vet now, she read it and she will research about it... Because she said it can be a testing...and may be they are looking for subject.

I am gonna research about it... I was so happpy until the vet said that...
Thank You my friend, Thank you very much... That means a lot...

Big Hug
 
Thank You Guys,

If you wouldnt be there for us, I dont know what I would do... You lead me, you warn me, you share your experiences with me, you send documents informing me,you are always there... I feel so lucky... Shanga is a lucky cat that he has you :) Thank you for giving me power on this path.....
I am gonna add results on his SS ... And see hows going on...
I made his first shot at 08 pm... Second shot time is 08 am :)

Love and Big Hug :)
 
I've been watching your posts about Shanga from the beginning, and I am very happy that you may finally be on the right road to helping him feel better.

cat-happy-smile.jpg
 
I have another question... mmm I fed him before Lantus... He just ate half of it... (Fancy Feast)
what will I do?
 
Pallid- you had the power before you met us, as you were willing to fight hard for your beloved Shanga.
The folks here just helped point you in the right direction!

Much love to You and Shanga from Binks & celi :-D
 
Pallid said:
And I gave him first shot. :) Hope I made it 0.25u... maybe little bit more. Oh God I am relieved... :)
I made a sample as you said but I am not sure about the dose... All I know Its lower then 0.50u ... :)
Perfect!
Everybody measures 0.25's different, since there are no .25 lines. Just do your best to make the next shots the same as the one you measured today.

Great job!
 
Feeding before the Lantus is OK, it is good to know he will eat. You just usually want to get the test in before the food sets in so you know the numbers are not affected by the food. Many of us test, feed, shoot unless we know our kitties will eat after the shot is given.

You will have a harder time with the diabetes when you have the stomatitis to combat too. That is a lot of pain and inflammation to combat, both cause havoc on the blood sugars and you don't want to leave him in pain if at all possible. Are you in the US? I thought I saw you were outside the US at one point, but can't remember. The Wiggs cocktail for stomatitis was only available in the US I thought. My vet has been watching because it was in for FDA approval for general availability, not just through the Dallas clinic, and expected to be approved sometime this fall. Maybe then it would become more available, but I haven't heard anything yet. Our little boy has stomatitis so we are watching for it, my vet prefers to wait until it is approved so that more information is released on it. It is supposed to be steroid and antibiotic free.
 
Melanie and Smokey said:
The Wiggs cocktail for stomatitis was only available in the US I thought. My vet has been watching because it was in for FDA approval for general availability, not just through the Dallas clinic, and expected to be approved sometime this fall. Maybe then it would become more available, but I haven't heard anything yet. Our little boy has stomatitis so we are watching for it, my vet prefers to wait until it is approved so that more information is released on it. It is supposed to be steroid and antibiotic free.

I don't know whether or not the stomatitis cocktail is currently only available in the US. A Canadian member's cat of the feline health forum I belong to was treated with the stomatitis cocktails through the Dallas clinic, and has very good result. Dallas Dental Clinic takes what they call 'long-distance patients'. So I thought it's worth a try for Shanga.

Among the info I received on this cocktail, the following caught my attention. I am always on the look our for anything that is safe for diabetic cats.
##The cocktail is safe for diabetic cats; is usually supplied in liquid
form to be given orally or mixed into food; contains no anti-inflammatory
medications whatsoever (i.e., no NSAIDs or steroids); and contains no
chemotherapy drugs.
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top