Newbie just checking in

Status
Not open for further replies.

macal

Member Since 2012
Hi,
My cat Molly was just diagnosed with diabetes during a dental about 4 weeks ago. I had noticed she was losing weight...no hanging around the water or increased urine output though. I asked them to check her urine while she was under and BINGO diabetes.
So a brief synopsis
Molly is 11, female calico.
Her diet was changed to canned only (FF classic and Purina DM) approx 3 weeks ago, and about 1 week ago we began Lantus. Molly is quite feral (but an indoor kitty) so the vet suggested 1U every 12 hours to start (vet's fructosamine analysis before and after diet change indicated levels in the mid 500s and her BG in the high 300s)
I started with this protocol, but braved it and started checking her BG levels and pulled off the insulin because her levels were suprisingly different than the vet's....turned out this was because of the meter I was using (TrueTest brand) which apparently many users on this board have had issues with.
I've now switched to a Relion micro and starting Molly on a tentative 0.5 U morning and evening when BG is above 200 (and I'm able to get a reading).
I've been making little discoveries over the holidays....like the fact that she was getting into the dry dog food in the evenings, so that was remedied today.
Just wondering what your thoughts were on the patterns you see in her spreadsheet. Is 0.5 U too high? I opted not to dose her tonight since she was well below 200 an hour before PMPS.
Should I have fed her a big supper (which I did...I've put her 1.5 hr post supper BG here ) and then dosed her anyway?
Thanks for any advice you can give.
 
It's great that you are doing home testing. I would stick with the lower dose if i were you. Keep feeding the Fancy Feast canned, Classics are the best, no gravies! It is a good idea to take the diabetic cat off of all dry food. Even the prescription food is not good, to high in carbs. Please move over to tight regulation Lantus, more eyes. Relaxed is not checked very often. I used to be on this board but has since moved so no one is checking in every day. Good luck with your kitty, he seems to have pretty good numbers. :smile:
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top