beggargirl
Member Since 2011
viewtopic.php?f=28&t=47398
I am going to translate this to american numbers for any experienced eyes that pop in to check this out:
+4 = 144
+5 = 136
+8 = 88
+11.5 = 106
Thanks guys.
Hello. I am new here and hoping someone can help me.
My cat Lucy was recently diagnosed with diabetes, and has been on Lantus for about a month now.
She is given 1 unit twice a day as prescribed by the vet.
I was getting too paranoid about how much water she was drinking and how enthusiastic she got about food, which was difficult to tell, so I started testing her BG at home about a week ago.
In the begenning I had a lot of difficulties getting enough blood, so I could not test often enough.
I am getting better at it, and today, for the first time, I was able to test 4 times between meals.(!!!)
But I realized I don't know how to interpret the results except that it should not go too low or too high.
Could you please take a look at her today's results and let me know what you think?
I give her insulin shot right after her each meal.
10:30 am : 8.0 mmol/L (=144 mg/dL) --- 4 hrs since last meal & insulin shot
11:30 am : 7.6 mmol/L (=137 mg/dL) --- 5 hrs since last meal & insulin shot
02:30 pm : 4.9 mmol/L (=88 mg/dL) --- 8 hrs since last meal & insulin shot
06:00 pm : 5.9 mmol/L (=106 mg/dL) --- 11.5 hrs since last meal & insulin shot (right before next meal)
What concerns me is that her BG dropped to 4.9 mmol/L at 2:30 pm, but went up slightly to 5.9 mmol/L at 6 pm.
Is it OK that her BG elevated even a little bit when furthest from the last time she ate?
I thought I would get the lowest BG right before the meal.... No?
Does this mean that the effect of Lantus wore out sometime between 2:30 pm and 6 pm?
Shouldn't BG decrease steadily as time passes since last meal?
I am new to caring for a diatetic cat and very concerned if I am doing things right.
I just discovered about this forum today, and will read the past log to lean more about feline diabetes before I ask more questions here (I have a lot!!).
But for today, please let me know what this slight increase of BG between 8th hour and 12th hour since last meal & shot indicate.
Is this normal or bad?
Thank you very much for reading this. Hoping to hear some advice.
I am going to translate this to american numbers for any experienced eyes that pop in to check this out:
+4 = 144
+5 = 136
+8 = 88
+11.5 = 106
Thanks guys.