Newbie: I'm Stumped

Status
Not open for further replies.

Chibi

Member Since 2014
My diabetic kitty, Chibi, is having trouble getting regulated and the vet just doesn't seem to have the answers.

Chibi was first diagnosed in May 2012. She was put on Humulin and went into remission in Dec. '12. Symptoms returned in June 2013 and she was rediagnosed the first week of July 2013. We went back on Humulin (new bottle of course) and have had no luck getting her regulated since. Her newest trouble is that she has recurring diarrhea. Mucus and some bright blood mixed in and the most horrific smell imaginable. I took in a stool sample last weekend and it tested negative for all parasites, including Giardia. She was put on probiotics (FortiFlora) last Sunday and has since had 2 episodes of diarrhea (before it was every 2 weeks). Last night at 4:30am it was a large volume..more so than usual and thicker in consistency but that same smell. She went again at 5:20am with some mucus mixed in again and bright blood. Vet has instructed me to take her off can food completely and just feed her dry with probiotics. She's been eating Purina DM since May 2012. She was eating Fancy Feast Kitten can food for the past few months (the diarrhea started before the can food addition to her diet).

I've heard mixed reviews on FortiFlora. Any experience?
Where do I go from here? I lost my job in July and I'm really at a loss. I don't know what to do...if I should find another vet or what. Any advice would be greatly appreciated.

Thank you!
 
Also would like to note, she's been tested for thyroid disease which came back normal. Her BG has been bouncing all over the place.
 
There are so many different things that can cause diarrhea. One of the things you can do is use the search function for it and then read through the threads to find any commonalities with your kitty. Here is one of many:

http://www.felinediabetes.com/FDMB/viewtopic.php?f=28&t=110355&hilit=Diarrhea

You have probably read that Humulin is not popular here. So many cats have an early drop and then they are higher the rest of the cycle. It is encouraging that she went into remission on it. Are you home testing? i am wondering if the insulin may be part of the problem. You might share some recent numbers so we could comment.
 
Diarrhea and a "most horrific smell" suggest exocrine pancreatic insufficiency (EPI) as a possibility. The treatment is digestive enzymes, available over the counter. Mercola makes a product specifically for pets. Discuss this with your vet in terms of empirical therapy - treating as if that is the diagnosis, rather than doing bunches of tests which may find nothing.

Another possibility is IBD - inflammatory bowel disease. This may require a steroid to treat.

Also, food allergy may cause GI revolt, including bloody diarrhea. Keep track of food ingredients carefully, and you may be able to identify a culprit. Many cats are allergic to beef.

If you made any sudden food switches, rather than gradual switches of maybe 20-25% different food each dat, this can upset the GI tract considerably, too.
 
With EPI there is usually weight loss too.. how is her weight?

I use Ultimate flora critical care 1/2 capsule a day and it works well for diarrhea. Takes over a week to work though.
 
Thank you for the feedback everyone.

Yes, I do home testing. I actually took her for a second opinion to a new vet yesterday. He had more experience with feline diabetes in general. We did a fructosamine test and he suggested switching her to Pro Plan kitten can food. The results came back today at 446. He said she was controlled and to keep things as they were (previously mentioned switching her to PZI). If she has anymore problems, we are going to switch her to PZI.

Maybe it's just me but 446 sounds a bit high. Anyone else done fructosamine tests? Any idea on the norm for results?

Thanks in advance!
 
First: Comparing a human glucometer to a pet-specific glucometer is like reading temperature in Celsius vs Fahrenheit. Both are correct. You just need to know the reference ranges to interpret what the numbers mean.

Second:

[Glucose reference ranges are unsubstantiated and have been removed by Moderator]

* * * * * * * * * * * * * * *​

How to use the glucose reference values chart:

When you get a test, look for the number on the chart that either equals, or contains, the test value you have. Read the information. As needed, make a decision and act.

Ex. You are a new insulin user and you test your cat before giving insulin. The test is 300. It probably is safe to give insulin.

Ex. You are an established user of Lantus, following the Tight Regulation protocol. You've tested around +5 to +7 to spot the nadir. It is 200 mg/dL. You probably need to increase the dose, following the instructions for the protocol.

Ex. Your cat is acting funny. The eyes are a bit dilated. You are concerned and test the glucose. The number is 35 mg/dL. ACK! The cat may be in a hypoglycemic state. You quickly follow the HYPO protocol linked in the glucose reference values chart. (which we really, really, suggest you print out and post on your refrigerator.) Funny you should ask that.. let me find it.
 
That 446 was the fructosamine reading, correct?

Are there any BG (blood glucose) readings to supplement that information?

If the BG readings have been swinging from high to low, the fructosamine can come out at a more normal level. That is why some BG readings are helpful.

Think of a range of mountains and valleys. Those are your highs and lows. The fructosamine is only giving you an average of those highs and lows, looking like the BG levels are good, when in fact, they may be swinging wildly.
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top