Jen&Eddie
Member Since 2013
Brand new home tester here. Eddie and I (and DH) had our first home test successfully tonight. I've tested twice since then although Eddie has had to suffer through my fumbling inexperience both times. We are currently on 3U ProZinc, having been increased pretty rapidly.
PMPS was 300 which we were excited about (first successful test, yay!), was 200 points lower than the last 500+ that Eddie checked at the vet's on Monday. Before that, his initial test was just over 400, then it climbed to just over 415, and most recently, it was just over 500. Second reading tonight at +2 was 308 presumably from his supper which was fed shortly before his insulin, and maybe a bump from testing treats. We do freeze dried shrimp (which Eddie will kill for) to help facilitate testing. At +4, we're at 98. I don't know whether to be concerned or not. I have been a little suspicious that he might be dipping low and that's what really made me determined to do home testing, regardless of how awful I feel clumsily stabbing away at my poor baby. Thankfully, he has a very forgiving heart.
Since he was upped from one to two, and even more so after upping from two to three units, he gets extremely hungry at roughly 4-5 hours after his dose. Hungry enough to start eyeballing the counter tops and trying to get into the garbage. The last couple nights I gave him a tablespoon or so of LC wet food, being suspicious that he was going a bit low. After that, he's sleepy. Not really lethargic, but sleepy.
My vet and particularly my vet tech are wonderful and caring and helpful and encourage home testing. That said, I'm concerned that perhaps Eddie's vet numbers have been reflecting a bounce or something, since he is usually seen about an hour before his PM shot. Is 3U too much? Do I need to panic about hypo yet?
Should I stay up and test him again? After relaying the 300 PMPS number to our vet, was instructed to continue the 3U and test in 2 hours, and to reduce to 2U if he hit 100 or less. Obviously, he went down significantly more after the 2+ mark.
Thank you so much for your patience and help!
Jen and Eddie
PMPS was 300 which we were excited about (first successful test, yay!), was 200 points lower than the last 500+ that Eddie checked at the vet's on Monday. Before that, his initial test was just over 400, then it climbed to just over 415, and most recently, it was just over 500. Second reading tonight at +2 was 308 presumably from his supper which was fed shortly before his insulin, and maybe a bump from testing treats. We do freeze dried shrimp (which Eddie will kill for) to help facilitate testing. At +4, we're at 98. I don't know whether to be concerned or not. I have been a little suspicious that he might be dipping low and that's what really made me determined to do home testing, regardless of how awful I feel clumsily stabbing away at my poor baby. Thankfully, he has a very forgiving heart.
Since he was upped from one to two, and even more so after upping from two to three units, he gets extremely hungry at roughly 4-5 hours after his dose. Hungry enough to start eyeballing the counter tops and trying to get into the garbage. The last couple nights I gave him a tablespoon or so of LC wet food, being suspicious that he was going a bit low. After that, he's sleepy. Not really lethargic, but sleepy.
My vet and particularly my vet tech are wonderful and caring and helpful and encourage home testing. That said, I'm concerned that perhaps Eddie's vet numbers have been reflecting a bounce or something, since he is usually seen about an hour before his PM shot. Is 3U too much? Do I need to panic about hypo yet?
Should I stay up and test him again? After relaying the 300 PMPS number to our vet, was instructed to continue the 3U and test in 2 hours, and to reduce to 2U if he hit 100 or less. Obviously, he went down significantly more after the 2+ mark.
Thank you so much for your patience and help!
Jen and Eddie