tylertheragdoll
Member Since 2014
Hi,
I'm new to the forum and have a 11 y/o male ragdoll named Tyler who was diagnosed w/ diabetes 8/29/14 but haven't done as much reading and extensive research as I should have until I found this board.
Got some Fancy Feast Classic Turkey & Giblets today and already he's a very happy camper with the food. Reduced the insulin from 1u to .5u on Prozinc as he was transitioning from 35% carbs to ~7% carbs. I have my own excel spreadsheet that has all the testing records and the glucose curves I've done since his dx and will be xferring that data to the template that's used on this site.
What I've found is that Tyler quickly metabolizes the ProZinc at a predictable 4 hours after a shot (avg. has been 1u BID) w/ a VERY LOW nadir on Alpha Trak...It was low as it was when it was in the 50s and a high 30 at one time (rubbed corn syrup on his gums right away) but I based it on AT's normal range...not the converted values here that most people use. He would get up into the 250s AT at the end of the curve (PMPS). I thought this might be the somlygi (sp) issue but I have no idea now.
In the meantime, here are his latest readings based on the changes I just made.
10/3/14 - 10/4/14: Tyler's overnight glucose curve on the Alpha Trak II:
5:05pm: 128 after his first FF meal
7:59pm: PMPS of 125, only .5u of ProZinc given after reading
10:11pm: 73...
12:03am: 46!!! Only 4 hrs since his .5u of insulin and no signs of hypoglycemia. Gave him 35% carb dry treat.
12:26am: 63
1:01am: 79
1:29am: 94, had FF meal after reading
2:16am: 123
so tired though...
4:12am: 148
8:05am: 127 No insulin shot given. Fed FF immediately after.
10am: 132
12:03pm: 131, Fed FF
2:01p: 129
3:57pm: 123, Fed FF
5:58pm:132
8:03pm: 108
Tyler's Background, Medical History and Context
2010: Bladder Stones
*Surgical removal of large struvite bladder stones, requiring a diet change of mostly dry Hills "prescription" food from dry "premium" food. Dr. Lynne would be shaking her head if she read this.
*After DM - Rx wet food exclusively had him peeing back in the litter box after only a day so I thought this was a very good sign..until I found out that the Rx canned food was 35% CARBS!!!
2011: Asthma
*Before DM - Put him on low dose of Prednisone daily when asthma attacks were occuring, every other day or 2 when it wasn't.
*After DM - Now use the Flovent inhaler w/ the cute, funny yet daunting AeroKat mask every other day and no asthma attacks whatsoever. Hoping the asthma will cease when he transitions to a mix of the Fancy Feast Classic and raw Feline's Pride.
To Do's, Next Steps & Questions
*Populate the standard SS used at this board w/ the BG data/curves I've recorded since Tyler's dx
*Smaller insulin needles - switching from 40u to 100u. What do you like?Thanks for answering!
*Continue using the lancing device that came w/ the AT kit. I read that there are generic lancets that can be used...Does anyone know which ones? What stores carry them? Thanks for answering!
*Potentially get an autofeeder I've read about this one but I'm concerned about the plastic. Anyone come up w/ ways to deal w/ this other than making your own custom ceramics?Thanks for answering!

Updated Shopping List
-ReliOn meter - Walmart ($15)
-Arkray GlucoCard 01 Sensor Test Strips - ADW (250 strips/$70)
-Ketone testing strips - Walmart
-Generic lancets - local store (100/$5)
-ReliOn U-100 syringes - Walmart
-Sharps Clip - Amazon ($6)
-PetSafe5 Autofeeder - Amazon ($40)
I'll probably have a lot more questions as I continue reading more and more...would really like to get Tyler into remission as it seems realistic w/ the further changes that have been made today alone. Thank you for reading all the way to the end of this post!!! :smile:
I'm new to the forum and have a 11 y/o male ragdoll named Tyler who was diagnosed w/ diabetes 8/29/14 but haven't done as much reading and extensive research as I should have until I found this board.
Got some Fancy Feast Classic Turkey & Giblets today and already he's a very happy camper with the food. Reduced the insulin from 1u to .5u on Prozinc as he was transitioning from 35% carbs to ~7% carbs. I have my own excel spreadsheet that has all the testing records and the glucose curves I've done since his dx and will be xferring that data to the template that's used on this site.
What I've found is that Tyler quickly metabolizes the ProZinc at a predictable 4 hours after a shot (avg. has been 1u BID) w/ a VERY LOW nadir on Alpha Trak...It was low as it was when it was in the 50s and a high 30 at one time (rubbed corn syrup on his gums right away) but I based it on AT's normal range...not the converted values here that most people use. He would get up into the 250s AT at the end of the curve (PMPS). I thought this might be the somlygi (sp) issue but I have no idea now.
In the meantime, here are his latest readings based on the changes I just made.
10/3/14 - 10/4/14: Tyler's overnight glucose curve on the Alpha Trak II:
5:05pm: 128 after his first FF meal
7:59pm: PMPS of 125, only .5u of ProZinc given after reading
10:11pm: 73...
12:03am: 46!!! Only 4 hrs since his .5u of insulin and no signs of hypoglycemia. Gave him 35% carb dry treat.
12:26am: 63
1:01am: 79
1:29am: 94, had FF meal after reading
2:16am: 123
4:12am: 148
8:05am: 127 No insulin shot given. Fed FF immediately after.
10am: 132
12:03pm: 131, Fed FF
2:01p: 129
3:57pm: 123, Fed FF
5:58pm:132
8:03pm: 108
Tyler's Background, Medical History and Context
2010: Bladder Stones
*Surgical removal of large struvite bladder stones, requiring a diet change of mostly dry Hills "prescription" food from dry "premium" food. Dr. Lynne would be shaking her head if she read this.
*After DM - Rx wet food exclusively had him peeing back in the litter box after only a day so I thought this was a very good sign..until I found out that the Rx canned food was 35% CARBS!!!
2011: Asthma
*Before DM - Put him on low dose of Prednisone daily when asthma attacks were occuring, every other day or 2 when it wasn't.
*After DM - Now use the Flovent inhaler w/ the cute, funny yet daunting AeroKat mask every other day and no asthma attacks whatsoever. Hoping the asthma will cease when he transitions to a mix of the Fancy Feast Classic and raw Feline's Pride.
To Do's, Next Steps & Questions
*Populate the standard SS used at this board w/ the BG data/curves I've recorded since Tyler's dx
*Smaller insulin needles - switching from 40u to 100u. What do you like?Thanks for answering!
*

Updated Shopping List
-ReliOn meter - Walmart ($15)
-Arkray GlucoCard 01 Sensor Test Strips - ADW (250 strips/$70)
-Ketone testing strips - Walmart
-Generic lancets - local store (100/$5)
-ReliOn U-100 syringes - Walmart
-Sharps Clip - Amazon ($6)
-PetSafe5 Autofeeder - Amazon ($40)
I'll probably have a lot more questions as I continue reading more and more...would really like to get Tyler into remission as it seems realistic w/ the further changes that have been made today alone. Thank you for reading all the way to the end of this post!!! :smile: