Newbie here hello all

Status
Not open for further replies.

Stacy n kendra

Member Since 2018
How many times a day should I check w my glucose meter. I did a glucose curve last sun but she was on feeding tube not bad numbers not wonderful either. Yesterday she ate on her own royal canine pr notice her drinking slightly more checked her levels then 430 high 390 this morning any ideas
 
HI there, and welcome to you both.

If your little one is on insulin the normal drill is as follows:

1. Remove food for 2 hours before insulin is due.

2. Test blood glucose level (preshot test) to make sure it's safe to give the next insulin dose.

3. Depending on which insulin is being used you either wait a little while before giving the dose (e.g. 30 mins for Vetsulin/Caninsulin, 45-60 minutes for Novolin N) or, in the case of longer-acting insulins with typically 'gentler' onset you can give the insulin dose just after feeding (Lantus, Levemir).

4. Test at least once between insulin doses each day (mid-cycle test) to determine how low the current dose is taking your kitty (the nadir blood glucose level). The best time to test mid-cycle again depends on the insulin in use. Ideally, it is best to do mid-cycle tests for both morning and evening insulin cycles because many cats run lower on one cycle than the other (usually the night time cycle, but not always). Obviously, you can only test as often as your own schedule will allow.

If you let us know which insulin you're using we can give you a better idea of the best times to do mid-cycle tests in order to determine your kitty's nadir BG.


Mogs
.
 
Last edited:
With glargine (aka Lantus) it's OK to give the injection straight after your kitty has eaten as it typically has a gentler onset than the likes of Vetsulin/Caninsulin or Novolin N.

There's a very active Lantus and Levemir insulin support group here at FDMB. Here's a link to their sub-forum.

http://www.felinediabetes.com/FDMB/forums/lantus-glargine-levemir-detemir.9/

There are a lot of helpful 'sticky' posts at the top of the board which will tell you a lot about your insulin and how it works. The first sticky covering the basics for Lantus users notes that, on average, Lantus nadir is around +6 hours after the dose is administered. However, nadir time varies from cat to cat and, even for an individual cat, the nadir time can move around a bit.

The general recommendation is to do a check at +2 hours after the dose was administered and compare the +2 reading to the preshot (PS) reading. If the +2 test is the same or lower than the PS reading then the cycle may be more 'active', in which case it's recommended to do further checks later in the cycle to check how low the current dose is taking the BG levels (Lantus is dosed based on nadir BG). Here's a link to the relevant sticky post:

http://www.felinediabetes.com/FDMB/...the-basics-new-to-the-group-start-here.18139/



Mogs
.
 
Ty so much my head is spinning so much info but love it . She is still on feeding tube hopefully will come out mon when my vet comes to house . It's hard to pull food from her right now since I want her to eat asap n available for her
 
This morning she only ate a little before I had to go to work but heard her eating all night so was happy but knew she wouldn't be super hungry so I only gave her 1 dose instead of 2 as the hospital she was out said
 
This morning she only ate a little before I had to go to work but heard her eating all night so was happy but knew she wouldn't be super hungry so I only gave her 1 dose instead of 2 as the hospital she was out said
I'm sorry your little one (name?) has had eating problems and needed the feeding tube. I'm glad that the hospital she was treated at has given you guidelines on how to handle her insuiln dosing when she hasn't eaten enough.

What led to the eating difficulties? And when was your little one diagnosed with diabetes?

Ty so much my head is spinning so much info
There's a huge vertical learning curve in the early days, alright! It's great that you've already got home testing down pat. That's such an advantage. :)


Mogs
.
 
I'm sorry your little one (name?) has had eating problems and needed the feeding tube. I'm glad that the hospital she was treated at has given you guidelines on how to handle her insuiln dosing when she hasn't eaten enough.

What led to the eating difficulties? And when was your little one diagnosed with diabetes?


There's a huge vertical learning curve in the early days, alright! It's great that you've already got home testing down pat. That's such an advantage. :)


Mogs
.
Kendra is her name not sure why she wasn't eaten did a ultra sound n took a peice of her liver no cancer fatty liver n she has been ibd for a year now just check her levels without food 2 hrs 199 for her good it she ate some much today don't want to eat now n have to give her insulin within hour
I'm sorry your little one (name?) has had eating problems and needed the feeding tube. I'm glad that the hospital she was treated at has given you guidelines on how to handle her insuiln dosing when she hasn't eaten enough.

What led to the eating difficulties? And when was your little one diagnosed with diabetes?


There's a huge vertical learning curve in the early days, alright! It's great that you've already got home testing down pat. That's such an advantage. :)


Mogs
.
Got dieabet about a month ago don't know why she wasn't eaten caused her to have fatty liver and she has been ibd since last Feb did all test nothing much showed up, still has feeding tube in but eating on her own since yesterday . She ate so much today she don't want to eat n need to give her insulin ugh checked her levels before eaten 2 hours 199 pretty good for her but now what
 
Are you confident of being able to get Kendra to eat fairly well throughout the next 12 hours and are you in a position to monitor her BG levels?


Mogs
.
 
As long as you're sure she'll eat throughout the cycle and that you'll be able to check her BG at intervals I'd suggest going with the reduced dose recommended by your vet. If in any doubt, I'd suggest ringing your vet for advice.


Mogs
.
 
She will eat over night so that will help this **** is hard in glad I found someone to talk to i thought ibd was hard that's a piceu of cake lol not really
 
It's tough at first because there's so much new to learn, but it does get better. We'll do all we can to help you both. :)

:bighug:


Mogs
.
 
Some helpful safety information for you (which I hope you'll never need! ;) ):

How to treat hypos

Note that FDMB info posts are primarily written for members who use human meters to measure their cats' BG levels. If you're using a human meter then the 'take action' number is when a BG reading is at 50 or below. If you're using an Alphatrak pet meter then you need to intervene to bring numbers up if the meter reads 68 or below.

Hypo Toolkit


Mogs
.
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top