Newbie Help with dosing vetsulin

Discussion in 'Caninsulin / Vetsulin and N / NPH' started by NinaMaria, Mar 4, 2022.

  1. NinaMaria

    NinaMaria New Member

    Joined:
    Mar 4, 2022
    Looking for advise on Faye's spreadsheet. changed his dose to 2.25 units vetsulin, but his numbers have just been climbing since the change. I believe the 408 is just stress from his vet visit this morning. also questioning if maybe it could be the effectiveness of the vetsulin, was told by the vet that its good for up to 3 months after first puncture if kept in the fridge. Any advise and help is appreciated. Link to his SS below

    https://docs.google.com/spreadsheet...GxFWaqqM5IAzpDxBuX1FFrEa3jS0/htmlview?lsrp=1#
     
  2. FrostD

    FrostD Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    May 27, 2020
    Keep increasing by 0.25U every 5-7 days until you see blue nadirs. Unfortunately he's got some glucose toxicity, so have to keep increasing until you get a breakthrough, then he should hopefully see some dose decreases (any time you get a number under 90, that's a 0.25U reduction). When you see blue nadirs you may want to hold closer to 7 days, ultimately you will hold the dose completely when nadirs are 90-149

    What's his diet, and what meter are you using? Great job testing btw
     
  3. NinaMaria

    NinaMaria New Member

    Joined:
    Mar 4, 2022
    Thank you, his diet is 1/2 can of friskies pate every 6 hours. The meter I use is region premier.
     
    FrostD likes this.

Share This Page