Newbie- Help!!! Hypo support

Status
Not open for further replies.
I feel like i'm aiming right for the vein and it still doesn't bleed! I watch all these video where they poke once and the ear gets a big ol drop. Not my cat! Even the techs at the vet only got 3 readings when she was there... maybe i see why they were discouraging home testing???
 
I'm using a 30g lancet... do I need to go buy 28 or 29 g ones? She does not allow me to do two pokes close together ... the first poke she yowls and pulls hard away
 
The alternate site testing lancets are 25-28 gauge; you are likely to have better luck with them.
 
I've never tried it but I know that some people have better luck with paw pad testing. You could try posting a new thread with that question. Hang in there, it WILL get easier. My kitty loves little pieces of baked chicken breast after her tests.
 
I got it!!!! Yeah! It only took an hour! Ha! so the number is 87. So no insulin tonight. Do I still need to worry about her going hypo? Its been about 24 hours since her last shot. Now do i just test again at 7am tomorrow morning and go from there? Is all the food she needs tonight the 3 oz FF?
 
As long as she's had no insulin, you don't need to worry about going hypo.

I'd try the larger lancets (25-28 gauge).....as you poke more and more, the ears will grow new capillaries and become easier to get blood from. We call it "learning to bleed"

Here's a picture of where to aim, but anywhere you can get the test in is a good place! You can poke on either side (I prefer inside since there's less hair)
sweet spot diagram.jpg


Here's something else you can work on....Most cats just plain don't like having their ears fooled with. Decide on one place in your home you want your "testing spot" to be. I liked the kitchen counter because it was at a good height and had 2 escape sides already blocked (due to the wall and the backsplash) but it can be anyplace that works for you....Even just a particular rug on the floor, as long as it's the same spot. Take her there as many times a day as you can and just give her ears a quick rub and then she gets a yummy treat (low carb of course). Find something she really likes! China's favorite was a little piece of baked chicken (she never liked the freeze dried stuff). As you do this more and more, she'll start to associate that spot with the treat and won't care what you're doing with her ears!
 
You can also try Burrito wrapping....some cats fight being restrained worse than anything, so this is just something you can try and see how it works!

Another option (but it'll take time to get it and it's another cost) is the Cat In the Bag
 
Good resources, thanks. My cat for sure doesn't like it but my problem is more that it doesn't bleed once I poke. Guess tomorrow is another day to practice - yeah ;-) ha
 
Amy, that's a lovely run of 'green' numbers. :D
It may be that Delilah's pancreas can produce enough insulin to cope with a low carb wet diet, but can't produce enough insulin for a diet that's higher in carbs.... Will be interesting to see what her blood glucose level is later on....
 
Wait 30 minutes without feeding and re-test. You may be able to shoot a little late.
 
So clearly 2 units is too much, since she was unshootable. When/if she gets back over 200 mg/dL, I would suggest trying 1.0 unit.

Calculation of Lantus starting dose:
How much does she weigh?
How much should she weigh?
Convert that to kilograms (pounds/2.2)
Multiply by 0.25
Round down to nearest 0.25
... how does that compare to 2.0 units?
 
Last edited:
ok yes... I see... I used say 9lbs cause she's a little skinny. 9 divided by 2.2= 4.09 then 4.09 x .25= 1.02 OK I get it 1 unit it is :)
 
So I'm a little confused about how often I need to be testing? Once I have to shoot the 1 unit I'll need to be around to test every 2 hrs correct?
 
Feeling stupid at this point! So I'm gonna really hope that she stays under 200 but thats probably to much to ask. Can someone explain to me what there plan of action might be at this point???
 
The testing is done
1) at pre-shot
2) whenever possible, at least once a week, between +5 to +7 hours post shot. more gives you better understanding of how the insulin is working
3) a before bed test alerts you if she's heading too low and you need to intervene, or if you can relax and go to bed.
4) an actual curve of tests from pre-shot to pre-shot, every 2 hours is helpful when you can't get mid-cycle tests very often.
 
The plan of action now is to check before meals. If she's over 200 mg/dL, give 1 unit.
And read up on Lantus and how it works in the Lantus forum.
 
Ok so now it is ok to just check at 8pm before I feed her tonight. If its over 200 and I need to give her insulin then I'll need to test before bed... and do i need to test again at +6 (2am)? Also usually she eats the whole 3 oz can of FF but this morning is the first time she hasn't. Do I leave the rest of the meal out for her to munch on when she's hungry or will that mess things up?
 
Yes, check tonight before feeding.
Testing before bed is fine.
You can test at +6 if you want although most folks try to do that during the day.
You can leave her food out to graze; that is actually better for the glucose levels. Pick it up 2 hours before the evening meal/test.
 
When you have a moment, could you add a few tidbits to your signature? It will help us give you feedback without having to go look in all your past posts.

Editing your Signature

In the upper right corner of the screen, within the dark blue bar, you will see ID, Inbox, and Alerts

Click on your ID.

On the left, under Settings, Click on Signature.
This is where you will put information that helps us give you feedback.
This is where you paste the link for your spreadsheet, once it is set up.
Add any other text, such as
your name,
cat's name,
date of Dx (diagnosis)
insulin
meter
any other pertinent issues like if there are any food issues, history of DKA, hepatic lipidosis, pancreatitis, allergies, IBD, etc.
Click the Save Changes button at the bottom.

Always click the Save Changes button at the bottom when you have changed anything.
 
So PMPS was 195 so I feed her (she expects to be able to eat after her test. Always hungry!) and didn't give insulin. Will be interesting to see was her number is in the am. Please be low... please be low... please be low....
 
Take a look at my signature link Glucometer Notes to better understand what glucometers do and what the numbers mean. No calculations are involved.

It is likely safe to shoot 1 unit because 195 is within the +/- 20% variance meters are allowed. If you're still concerned she might go too low, skip until tomorrow.
 
Very good resource, thank you! I think I do wanna wait till morning, I don't want her to go hypo while I'm a sleeping and tomorrow I'll be able to do more testing. Thank you for your help
 
So what do you think? Delilah was at 201 this morning. Do I need to test and see how high the BG is going after she eats? when would that be? Does a kitty just barely at 200 and just slowly raising need insulin or could it be the high carb food I gave her when she was hypo?
 
Ok so today I tested at 8am got 201 then I feed her FF and didn't sho0t. I rechecked at 9am was still about the same at 205 and I shot 1 unit. Hope she doesn't fall too low. I will try my best to test every two hours; Is that enough testing?
 
Understanding the spreadsheet/grid:

The colored headings at the top are the ranges of glucose values. They are color-coded to clue you in as to meaning.

Each day is 1 row. Each column stores different data for the day.

From left to right, you enter
the Date in the first column
the AMPS (morning pre-shot test) in the 2nd column
the Units given (turquoise column)

Then, there are 11 columns labeled +1 through +11
If you test at +5 (5 hours after the shot), you enter the test number in the +5 column
If you test at +7 (7 hours after the shot), you enter the test number in the +7 column
and so on.

Halfway across the page is the column for PMPS (evening pre-shot)
To the right is another turquoise column for Units given at the evening shot.

There is second set of columns labeled +1 through +11
If you snag a before bed test at +3, you enter the test number in the +3 column.

We separate day and night numbers like that because many cats go lower at night.

It is merely a grid for storing the info; no math required.
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top