Newbie frustrated. Need testing help.

Status
Not open for further replies.

Sandy&Tommy

Member Since 2013
I know that things will get better, but I'm very frustrated. Tommy has become uncooperative about the testing. I know it is because I've had a hard time getting blood. I watched the videos and the first few days went well. Since then it's been one problem after another. I was testing using only the lancet. I used the warm sock. I've cuddled and pampered him before the test. I offer treat bribes. I finally tried the lancet pen, and that actually helps. I have been getting better results as far as blood amounts on the inside of the ear. I hope that is okay to do it there. Some of the problems happen when he struggles to get away, and the blood smears before I get the strip close. I've even tried to wrap him in a towel, and make it worse. I'm off today so I will be getting a curve going. So far today after a few tries I got the AM and +2 results. (on Tommy's SS) To make matters worse, DH won't test when I'm at work, he forgot to put up the dog food yesterday, and the cats climbed up the shelves and knocked over the dry cat food and had a feast. (I'm trying to transition the other cats to wet food) The food is now securely stored. Any suggestions for me? :sad:
 
Re: Newbie frustrated. Need help.

Dont forget to Breathe...

I couldnt test without help so you're doing better than I did...:/

I think there are testing tips here somewhere.. I'll go see if I can find them.

I think you're doing a good job. A curve by yourself?...wow wish I could have done that.

Hang in there, better advice than mine will be here soon.;)

jeanne
 
Re: Newbie frustrated. Need help.

Ok I couldnt find one of those helpful links that so many seem to be able to find in an instant... You may try adding "need testing tips" to your thread title?

Also if you partially load a strip into the meter before you get blood then push the strip all the way into the meter...? Sorry I wasnt more help. :/
j.
 
While you work on blood testing, check my signature link Secondary Monitoring Tools for additional assessments you can make to give you clues to how he's doing.
 
After a good cry I gathered myself and took a deep breath before finding Tommy. I snuggled him without testing for awhile. This time only took two tries. He started out this AM at 497. Gave him his 2 units of ProZinc. +2 was 194, +4 was 129. Almost time for +6. I have been scouring the pages here for information and saw that I could/should put some ointment on ear before the test as well as after the test. I do the after already. Besides regular treats, is just plain tuna or chicken in a can better than finding expensive LC treats?
 
Thanks, Wendy. The +6 test went pretty well. BG at 184. Tommy will enjoy it when I work again tomorrow! :lol: We will be sticking it out together tonight. I'm hoping that this will get easier on him soon!
 
cool!

I usually recommend 3-4 tests a day depending on your schedule - a couple more when you are on weekends

- always before the shot - this is mandatory as you don't want to shoot when too low. As a newbie this too low number is 200 but is reduced over time once you have the data to know if its safe.

- mid cycle - 5-7 hours after morning shot depending on your schedule. This is to see how low he is going. The low point "nadir" is what you base dose changes on since you don't want him dropping too low (under 50).

- before bed (2-3hours after Pm shot) to get an idea of what his overnight plans are. If this number is less than the pre shot test number you may want to set the alarm for a test a few hours later as this implies an active cycle.

Wendy
 
I am wondering about the dry food messing up the picture - probably was a big part of your red preshot this am. He got a fast drop at +4, more than 50%. I would guess the 310 is a bounce from the 129.
 
ProZinc can have a fairly strong swing from pre-shot to nadir to pre-shot. It may settle down over time.
 
So with a bounce the liver sends glucose into the blood like us humans. If he didn't bounce then his BG would have stayed lower, right? This then would signify an adjustment lower is needed? He was 435 this AM I think. (I'm on break from work). He has been eating Friskies classic pates. Thanks for your help!
 
slblunt said:
So with a bounce the liver sends glucose into the blood like us humans...
Yup.

slblunt said:
...If he didn't bounce then his BG would have stayed lower, right? ...
Probably, barring any unusual activity level, vomiting, diarrhea, getting into contraband food...

slblunt said:
This then would signify an adjustment lower is needed? ...

Not necessarily - a diabetic may become accustomed to the elevated glucose levels and when the body drops much below that, even if not a normal number, it may trigger bouncing. Or, if the rate of drop is very fast, that may trigger bouncing.
 
I wouldn't lower the dose unless you see some lower numbers. If it was a bounce, it was a fast one. It varies - some cats take a cycle to bounce and settle back in. Some bounce within hours. As you get more data, you'll be able to see his patterns.

The 435 this am is a little confusing unless he is still in the bounce. What dose did you give last night and what was the preshot number? Wondering if he went low again last night and this am is also a bounce......

The usual advice with ProZinc is not to shoot the bounce - in other words, not to increase the dose because he bounced into a higher range. Since he didn't drop in double digits at nadir, I'd be tempted to stick with the same dose.

One thing that can help smooth out the curve and keep him from dropping 50% early in the cycle is to feed him around +4-6. The idea is that the food might keep the numbers up a tad and
let him drop more gradually. Clear as mud?
 
I was working late last night, so I couldn't get right back. Tommy gets 2 units BID. PMPS was 355 on the 21st. Yesterday AMPS was 445. I work most evenings, so DH gave him his 2 units. (DH won't test) When I got home from work he tested at 77, which was +4. I gave him a couple of Tblsp of HC food before I went to bed.
Todays AMPS was 344. Did I give him too much? I asked my DH if he left out any dog food last night and he said no, she ate it all.

Was using the HC food as a snack the right choice?
Thanks!
 
He wasn't too low using a human glucometer. It didn't say in your signature what kind of meter you are using.

The nadir for ProZinc is around +5 hours after giving the shot. You probably could have fed more low carb food, and the worst that would happen with high carb is he's higher next shot. He can survive that for a short period. The worse that can happen if you don't feed when the glucose is heading down low and you're needing to go to sleep is a hypo. And that can be fatal. So, you did OK.
 
Thank you. :smile: That was my way of thinking as well as trying to avoid a bounce. His +5 just now was 246. I work late again tonight so I will keep in mind the LC instead of the HC. I will test when I get home. I am using the Reli On Prime. I do understand what you are talking about and I am so grateful for everyone's help here. Once I get Tommy regulated it will get easier for both of us. He is getting a lot better at the ear prick so it's not so stressful for both of us.
 
I don't have much advice, but I'm glad to see Tommy is getting better with the pokeys. You're doing a great job! Tommy is a lucky kitty to have such a determined bean looking after him.
 
He does seem to be bouncing around from highs to lows. You were right to be concerned with a 77 at +4 because he could easily have dropped 30 points in the next two hours.

The general advice for low numbers: First feed some low carb food and retest in 30 minutes. If he is continuing to drop, feed some high carb and retest in 15-20 minutes. If he continues to drop in the 40s and below, pull out the honey.

Low carb treats. My kitty likes PureBites. Bonito flakes are also popular. If he is a chicken fan, you can bake or boil some breasts without spices. Cut into small pieces and freeze. Then you can pull out a few bites when you need them.
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top