my Casey bear
Member Since 2011
I am not sure what I should do for my 8/1 PM shot.
Leading up to this point:
I started to home test Casey even before I found a new vetthat was not insistant on prescribing only Humulin H. While in search of the new vet Casey's BG#'s were in the mid - upper 200's. I found a new vet whom prescribed Lantus (1u bib) and told me I should change my cats' feedings from freestyle to only 1/2 hr bid. While waiting to receive the Lantus, I desided to start on the new feeding regiment...Casey became stress about food (or the lack there of) and her BG#'s rose into the 300's. I gave Casey her first shot of insulin 6 days ago, 0.5u Lantus. By the nesxt morning I believed I was not give her enough so I upped her dose to 0.75 and maintained that for 8 cycles. Casey's PS #'s remained there until I when back to a semi-freestyle feeding - dropping her #'s back into the 200's for 3 cycles before they started going into the #00's again. So I upped her dose yesterday morning to 1.0u and finally started to see the numbers go down, however there dose not seem to be much of an upswing to it. Which leads my to my question.
I believe her PMPS BG will be below 200, or at least a very low 200, and am not sure what to do. I have read that newbies should skip shooting in this situation, but I don't really think I should do that. :?: Should I skip a dose, reduce it, or maintain the course? If reducing, how much?
Ok...it is know time get her dinner ready and her PS test, I will add the results afterward...
Roberta
and Casey
Leading up to this point:
I started to home test Casey even before I found a new vetthat was not insistant on prescribing only Humulin H. While in search of the new vet Casey's BG#'s were in the mid - upper 200's. I found a new vet whom prescribed Lantus (1u bib) and told me I should change my cats' feedings from freestyle to only 1/2 hr bid. While waiting to receive the Lantus, I desided to start on the new feeding regiment...Casey became stress about food (or the lack there of) and her BG#'s rose into the 300's. I gave Casey her first shot of insulin 6 days ago, 0.5u Lantus. By the nesxt morning I believed I was not give her enough so I upped her dose to 0.75 and maintained that for 8 cycles. Casey's PS #'s remained there until I when back to a semi-freestyle feeding - dropping her #'s back into the 200's for 3 cycles before they started going into the #00's again. So I upped her dose yesterday morning to 1.0u and finally started to see the numbers go down, however there dose not seem to be much of an upswing to it. Which leads my to my question.
I believe her PMPS BG will be below 200, or at least a very low 200, and am not sure what to do. I have read that newbies should skip shooting in this situation, but I don't really think I should do that. :?: Should I skip a dose, reduce it, or maintain the course? If reducing, how much?
Ok...it is know time get her dinner ready and her PS test, I will add the results afterward...
Roberta
and Casey