newbie doing first curve...

Status
Not open for further replies.

Kitties Momma

Member Since 2011
Hello all, this is my first post on this message board, I have been posting on the main board already. I am doing my first home curve with Julius today. He is currently on 1 unit in the AM and .5unit in the PM. He is on a raw diet with supplements. His curve looks like this:
7:17am 222
9:41am 230
12:24pm 219
2:41pm 207
4:58pm 233
He had his 1unit at 7:41am. My vet said if he fell below 200 to not give him his PM dose, he is eating right now and I don't think he will. My question to all of you is for his first curve (he has been on insulin since 2/15/11) does this look like what one would expect? I have not done the ketones test (I bought strips today) I am worried that because he has only been under 200 a few times in the last few weeks that maybe we should increase his dose? I am new to all of this and wanted some feedback. Thanks again!
 
Welcome to Lantus Land.

Just to clarify, was the 222 your AM pre-shot number? If so, we look at your test data the following way:
  • AMPS - 222
  • +2.5 - 230
  • +5.5 - 219
  • +7.5 - 207
  • +10 - 233

The curve looks fine. I do suspect you would like to see Julius in lower numbers, though. One thing we do differently, though, is that we give the same amount of Lantus at the AM and PM shot. By giving different amounts, you are not going to get consistent results. Lantus really likes consistency. If you have read any of the formal dosing protocols, they note that giving the same amount at each shot time is what's recommended. I think that it would be best if you gave 1.0u in the evening and then see what Julius' numbers look like. Once the dose has leveled out, you can assess whether to raise the overall dose.

You might find it helpful to read the starred, sticky notes at the top of the Board.

  • Tight Regulation Protocol: This sticky contains the dosing protocol that we use here. There are also links to the more formal versions -- the Tilly Protocol developed by the counterpart of this group in German and the Queensland/Rand protocol developed by Jacqui Rand, DVM and published in one of the top vet journals.
  • New to the Group: Everything you wanted to know about this forum and more. Info on our slang, FAQs, links to sites on feline nutrition and to food charts containing carb counts, how to do a curve and the components to look for, important aspects of diabetes such as ketones, DKA, and neuropathy, and most important, info on hypoglycemia.
  • Handling Lantus: how to get the maximum use from your insulin and what to not do with it!
  • Lantus depot/shed: This is an important concept for understanding how Lantus works.
  • Becoming Data Ready: What data you need in order to be able to work toward remission or tight regulation.

You might find it easier to keep all of your test data in one place. We all use a spreadsheet that you can attach to your signature. Here's the link to the template.

Please let us know how we can help.
 
Thank you for the tip! I keep hearing that we should be doing the same dose in the AM and PM, but my vet doesn't think so..... why is that?? I will try and figure out the template, I have not been able to save it.... that's why I haven't done it yet... :smile:
 
I bet your vet is trying to avoid hypoglycemia overnight when you're not feeding Julius. My vet recommended the same thing, but I'm following the protocol and after about 40 days, Gracie is responding very well. In my case, inconsistent dosing wreaks havoc on her numbers.


Julius' Mom said:
Thank you for the tip! I keep hearing that we should be doing the same dose in the AM and PM, but my vet doesn't think so..... why is that?? I will try and figure out the template, I have not been able to save it.... that's why I haven't done it yet... :smile:
 
Welcome to Lantus Land. Alot of our vets recommend the same as yours because of the possibility of hypos and they either don't know about the tight regulation protocol, they don't support home testing, or they don't have clients who are willing to monitor to the degree that most of us do. Once we have enough data, many of us shoot at low numbers (well under 100) but the important words there are "enough data" and we know how our cats will respond. When I showed all the info to my vet, she said it was obvious that the FDMB knew much more about FD and managing it than she does. She stays informed but we manage only with the awesome assistance here. Let us know how we can help.
 
Welcome to Lantus Land--You will learn much here from people who have been at this for many years, are up on the latest veterinary info on Feline Diabetes, and those of us living everyday with fd kitties.
The board has been here for 15 years, with the most devoted wonderful people, and we are all committed to helping our cats!--Trying to say that the vets follow different ideas than we do--Our goal here is to have healthy, regulated, happy cats. We all follow a protocol that works, & has the best success rate.

Please read the stickys at the top of the page & that Sienne has given you.
There is so much to learn here, just keep asking questions, and posting what is going on with you kitty.
Someone is here 24/7 to help. Again, welcome to lantus land! :mrgreen:
 
Welcome! We're new, too. Our vet also tried to get us going with the 1unit am/.5 unit pm schedule, too. However, I told her I could easily eyeball .75 unit for each dose once I got the 1/2 unit syringes, and she was fine with us going that route. Like others, our very brief stint with inconsistent dosing did not go well at all. Since you're home testing, you're in a great position to shoot consistent doses since you always know what's going on with Julius's numbers and can avoid having him go hypo.

There is much to learn, and this is the place to do it! There is an incredible wealth of knowledge and support here!

Amy
 
thank you! we are giving him .5u twice a day right now, he went down to 40 the other day and we are being conservative. I am glad to know I am not the only one out there! Why do vets do that?? Shouldn't they know that inconsistent dose leads to trouble?
 
My guess is that, in their own little way, some vets are trying to keep our cats "safe" from going hypo by suggesting some of these inconsistent dosing plans. What they don't realize is that at least some of us caretakers are way on top of things, with our dedication to testing our own kitties. I suspect, though, that home testers are very much in the minority, so our vets aren't used to folks like us.

And, of course, I'm sure there are vets out there who just don't know nearly as much as the folks here do...

Julius is in great hands!

Amy
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top