Newbie - Cats BG level 335 how bad is that?

Cleo's mom

Member Since 2025
I just took Cleo's BG for the first time. I used the monitor before her on myself but the monitor didn't clear like it should when I tested her. When I put her strip in it read 335. I honestly have no clue what are good and bad levels for her to have but I looked it up and it said highest normal range was 300. She has had trouble eating today so she hasn't eaten like normal. I think she is a bit nauseous but I don't have meds to give her. I did give her food after this and she ate a bit of it. It had some appetite stimulant in it so hopefully she will want to eat more later. I gave her a salmon puree treat and she devoured it. I gave her her normal Prozinc insulin shot of 1 unit.

Is she okay or do I need to do anything for her?

I use the Relion Premier Classic monitor by the way.
 
Last edited:
I just took Cleo's BG for the first time. I used the monitor before her on myself but the monitor didn't clear like it should when I tested her. When I put her strip in it read 335. I honestly have no clue what are good and bad levels for her to have but I looked it up and it said highest normal range was 300. She has had trouble eating today so she hasn't eaten like normal. I think she is a bit nauseous but I don't have meds to give her. I did give her food after this and she ate a bit of it. It had some appetite stimulant in it so hopefully she will want to eat more later. I gave her a salmon puree treat and she devoured it. I gave her her normal Prozinc insulin shot of 1 unit.

Is she okay or do I need to do anything for her?

I use the Relion Premier Classic monitor by the way.

335 is high ,not be alarmed, not deadly, don't worry, you did good giving the shot, but we need you to create the Spreadsheet please, see Corky's SS below click on Corky's Spreadsheet, good numbers after stabilized are anything in the greens that's when the pancreas begin to heal, but that's too early for Cloe, she's right now in the purple, better than red, please take a few couple of more tests before going to bed, if and when he gets into the 100 please post us,100 is not bad so breath in and breath out ok? but we need that spreadsheet so you can input the daily BG numbers, study Corky's SS for a bit, if you have any trouble creating it let us know and we will one of the members create it for you, but is important to members to see the daily progress of the Bg with the insulin intake, please we want to be there for you to help you, the spreadsheet is the priority to every member that is going able to assist you:bighug::bighug::bighug::cat::cat:
 
@CORKY I was trying to figure out how to do the spreadsheet. It's still complicated even with the description attached. I was waiting until I had more than one number to really focus on it. I just took hers again and it's at 276. I will figure out how to fill the spreadsheet now. I did use Corky's chart and it did help me realize that Cleos number was okay and not something to freak out over. I appreciate the help!
 
@CORKY I was trying to figure out how to do the spreadsheet. It's still complicated even with the description attached. I was waiting until I had more than one number to really focus on it. I just took hers again and it's at 276. I will figure out how to fill the spreadsheet now. I did use Corky's chart and it did help me realize that Cleos number was okay and not something to freak out over. I appreciate the help!
Good is going down, you shot at 6:30 right? If so she’ll be good for the night, I will tag a member so she can create the spreadsheet for don’t worry we need it asap have a good night Cloe has a good mommie:bighug::bighug::bighug::cat:PS
Any concerns please post us right away someone will step in to help
@Wendy&Neko
Can you please assist Cloe’’ mom to set up her spreadsheet please we have been helping her but without the SS is difficult as you know:bighug::bighug::cat::cat:
 
Good is going down, you shot at 6:30 right? If so she’ll be good for the night, I will tag a member so she can create the spreadsheet for don’t worry we need it asap have a good night Cloe has a good mommie:bighug::bighug::bighug::cat:PS
Any concerns please post us right away someone will step in to help
@Wendy&Neko
Can you please assist Cloe’’ mom to set up her spreadsheet please we have been helping her but without the SS is difficult as you know:bighug::bighug::cat::cat:
Download the spreadsheet on GOOGLE Drive and savecit
 
@CORKY I gave it to her at 6:50. Thanks for letting me know she'll be good! I have downloaded the sheet and saved it to my drive. I'll look at yours and the instructions and try to figure it out then link it to my profile! Thank you for the kind words as well! :)
 
tagging @Bandit's Mom who can help with spreadsheets.
AWESOME! I’m excited now we are on our way to get Cloe to healthier number Congratulations! Trust this Forum and it’s member they have saved many lives including my Corky’s I trust them blindly as you can see Corky’s numbers he’s doing excellent, remember never to skip a dose test at 5:30 AMPS/PMPS so if you need us before dosing there will be someone in time before you shoot if in doubt, I shoot Corky at 6:00AM/PM so I will make sure to check the Forum at that time while I feed my babies have a great night:bighug::bighug::bighug::cat::cat:
 
Your previous post

Good job with your first test. :bighug:
She has had trouble eating today so she hasn't eaten like normal. I think she is a bit nauseous but I don't have meds to give her. I did give her food after this and she ate a bit of it. It had some appetite stimulant in it so hopefully she will want to eat more later...
Is she okay or do I need to do anything for her?

Ask your vet for Cerenia and Ondansetron as soon as you can. I'm up to test and feed Kobe around 5:30 CT. I'll check on you too. Hopefully insulin kicks in and Cloe feels a little beter and wants to eat. Can you leave a little food out for her? :bighug:
 
Hi @KatieR
I can help set up your spreadsheet and signature. Will send you a PM with the details I need. Look for it in the Inbox at the top right corner of this page.

Are you testing for ketones regularly? A diabetic cat not wanting to eat can be a concern if there are ketones in the picture.


Here's a link to your previous post:
https://www.felinediabetes.com/FDMB...ng-a-lot-but-has-stopped-eating-again.300011/
Good morning, how did Clo wake up this morning, you know Bandits Mom is absolutely correct I did not mentioned Ketones testing, you test the same way as for the BG But with a ketone monitor and strips, did the Vet mentioned anything about it? Also if she had lab test it would be there weather negative or positive,
 
Good morning, how did Clo wake up this morning, you know Bandits Mom is absolutely correct I did not mentioned Ketones testing, you test the same way as for the BG But with a ketone monitor and strips, did the Vet mentioned anything about it? Also if she had lab test it would be there weather negative or positive,
I saw last nights BGS you do not need to put the time in the slot that’s what the -+2 etc means,.and I am glad Bandits Mom attached the last post to this new one and checked the spreadsheet, by error I tagged the incorrect member for that, see? We are all on Cloe’s watch, here for you someone always steps in. you can continue on the same thread until you have 50 post, then crest a new on with the same tile jut add Continuation in the beginning of the title:bighug::bighug::cat::cat:
 
Last edited:
Normal blood glucose levels are roughly 60 to 150 mg/dl. Ideally you want your cat to stay in this range with insulin and diet. Over 300 isn't great but as long as you are treating the diabetes the numbers will come down. Just have patience :)

General rule is to not give insulin if the cat tests at 150 or less.
 
Normal blood glucose levels are roughly 60 to 150 mg/dl. Ideally you want your cat to stay in this range with insulin and diet. Over 300 isn't great but as long as you are treating the diabetes the numbers will come down. Just have patience :)

General rule is to not give insulin if the cat tests at 150 or less.

If you are going to be home today, try to test Cloe every 2-4 hours to have an idea of todays cycle and the insulin's effect, The Ketones that Kobe referred to IS important especially that Cloe is not eating well and the BG is high, I do not have any experience on Ketones since Corky never had them, but many members can advise you on the subject, try feeding small meals during the day, if you go on Corky's SS scroll it to the right there is a slot for remarks, you can see the feeding schedule etc, you pick your own, but is good to maintain the insulin depot by Cloe eating a few snacks or meals throughout the day. you can also input information such as medications, changes in behavior diet anything that is different that the members can refer to as a pattern against the daily routine and BGs
:bighug::cat::cat:
 
I got a blood ketone meter and it works pretty much just like a Blood Blucose Meter. I have the KetoBM one from Amazon. It takes just a tiny sample. Strips are a little pricey, but I don't have to stalk the litterbox, so it's worth it. Replacement strips are $1 each. There are other options too, if you are interested.

I got her the pee strips and have been collecting her urine. She has been fine, thank goodness! We think she was drinking more water because of her diarrhea. Now that we have been giving her pumpkin to help with her digestion, she seems to be drinking a normal amount again.
 
I saw last nights BGS you do not need to put the time in the slot that’s what the -+2 etc means,.and I am glad Bandits Mom attached the last post to this new one and checked the spreadsheet, by error I tagged the incorrect member for that, see? We are all on Cloe’s watch, here for you someone always steps in. you can continue on the same thread until you have 50 post, then crest a new on with the same tile jut add Continuation in the beginning of the title:bighug::bighug::cat::cat:

Thank you! I put the time in for myself just to keep track of things but I know I don't have to fill it out like that. I do appreciate everyone being so helpful!
 
Normal blood glucose levels are roughly 60 to 150 mg/dl. Ideally you want your cat to stay in this range with insulin and diet. Over 300 isn't great but as long as you are treating the diabetes the numbers will come down. Just have patience :)

General rule is to not give insulin if the cat tests at 150 or less.

Thank you! I didn't really know what was extremely high dangerous and what extremely low dangerous was so I wasn't sure what to numbers to be wary about. Now I know this is normal for her being so new to everything so I'm less stressed.
 
If you are going to be home today, try to test Cloe every 2-4 hours to have an idea of todays cycle and the insulin's effect, The Ketones that Kobe referred to IS important especially that Cloe is not eating well and the BG is high, I do not have any experience on Ketones since Corky never had them, but many members can advise you on the subject, try feeding small meals during the day, if you go on Corky's SS scroll it to the right there is a slot for remarks, you can see the feeding schedule etc, you pick your own, but is good to maintain the insulin depot by Cloe eating a few snacks or meals throughout the day. you can also input information such as medications, changes in behavior diet anything that is different that the members can refer to as a pattern against the daily routine and BGs
:bighug::cat::cat:

She luckily had her appetite back today and has eaten everything I gave her. I have given snacks throughout the day when I test her and that was a good idea. I will keep doing it as well! I have been testing her urine for ketones and she is good. So thank you all for the help and suggestions!
 
Thank you! I didn't really know what was extremely high dangerous and what extremely low dangerous was so I wasn't sure what to numbers to be wary about. Now I know this is normal for her being so new to everything so I'm less stressed.
Good morning I’m glad Cloe is doing better, dangerous BG for ProZinc Is 50 under it can be regulated with food but as a newbie you should watch out for 90-100 1 hour before, that’s why for now you test at +10or +11, post us to help you before you shoot, you do mot need to put the time in the slots check Corky’sxSS Onc the top of +1+2 +3 etc create a Column and type 1-2-3etc , that would be the hour it would be good if you were to test if you are home like every 3 hours during the day for two days to see the reaction of the insulin as the day goes by, also you should have what is called a HYPO KIT , this includes a few cans of medium carbs between 11-15% and some high carb foods between 16-24 %. Some KARO SYRUP or HONEY, I sugesst you may ask the pharmacy for a small syringe so you can use with the syrup is easier to administer bu mouth, these last two are for a quick fix in case she drops 50-, but we can help you, coach you along rather with food to hike up the BG To a safe number to be able to shoot. But I don’t think this will happen just yet with Cloe,,try testing several hours during the day the more data we have the better:bighug::bighug::cat::cat:
Seeing yellow already is great, feeding several meals/snack during the day helps
 
Good morning I’m glad Cloe is doing better, dangerous BG for ProZinc Is 50 under it can be regulated with food but as a newbie you should watch out for 90-100 1 hour before, that’s why for now you test at +10or +11, post us to help you before you shoot, you do mot need to put the time in the slots check Corky’sxSS Onc the top of +1+2 +3 etc create a Column and type 1-2-3etc , that would be the hour it would be good if you were to test if you are home like every 3 hours during the day for two days to see the reaction of the insulin as the day goes by, also you should have what is called a HYPO KIT , this includes a few cans of medium carbs between 11-15% and some high carb foods between 16-24 %. Some KARO SYRUP or HONEY, I sugesst you may ask the pharmacy for a small syringe so you can use with the syrup is easier to administer bu mouth, these last two are for a quick fix in case she drops 50-, but we can help you, coach you along rather with food to hike up the BG To a safe number to be able to shoot. But I don’t think this will happen just yet with Cloe,,try testing several hours during the day the more data we have the better:bighug::bighug::cat::cat:
Seeing yellow already is great, feeding several meals/snack during the day helps

I have gotten the Karo and I have dry food/treats that are higher carb. I'm not sure what/if I can find a higher carb wet can food for her diet but I’ll keep looking.
 
I have gotten the Karo and I have dry food/treats that are higher carb. I'm not sure what/if I can find a higher carb wet can food for her diet but I’ll keep looking.

any food that has gravy should be High Carbs, Fancy Feast has a lot of gravy flavors, and pates that are 0-10% carbs, most of the members enjoy Fancy Feast for our cats, below is a link to Drs Food Chart the third column contains the carb % for each food and a carb calculator is very handy when shopping for food, you will use the %s nutrients in the can :bighug::cat::cat:
NEW FOOD CHART CHECK CARBS/ FF
Cat Food Nutrition Calculator | Elizabeth C Scheyder
 
I have gotten the Karo and I have dry food/treats that are higher carb. I'm not sure what/if I can find a higher carb wet can food for her diet but I’ll keep looking.
Just wanted you to know on Dr Pierson's food chart

the Fancy Feast Gravy Lovers Beef Feast In Roasted Beef Flavor Gravy (which. Dr Pierson’s list says is 20%
Comes back with 14%

These are correct for med carbs
Fancy Feast Gravy Lovers Gourmet Chicken Feast in Gravy 15% Med Carbs



Fancy Feast Gravy Lovers Turkey Feast in Gravy 15% Med Carbs

Fancy Feast Gravy Lovers Chicken and Beef in Gravy 15% Med Carbs

You can even look at the Friskies for high carbs and med carbs.
So buy a few cans of each


https://felinediabetes.com/FDMB/threads/dr-pierson-new-food-

10% and under is low carb
11% -15 is medium carbs.

16- 24 is high carb.

@Cleo's mom
 
Back
Top