Newbie - Bear - on 7 units Lantus BID

Status
Not open for further replies.

Blue

Member Since 2009
Can some people have a look and give a hand to help these guys - vet told to give dose of 7u once a day.

viewtopic.php?f=28&t=21383

Really need to help to lower dose as bean has changed to BID with same dose.
Initial tests are HI.
 
Re: Newbie in Health - Bear - needs dose/start over help

yup she just confirmed now shooting 7u BID.

no answer on ketones yet, feeding friskies wet food.
yes! we have a spreadsheet!
home testing - yes.


Thanks Gayle for cross posting!
 
Re: Newbie in Health - Bear - needs dose/start over help

Hi, I'm here now!
Bear, 13 yr. old Siamese/American Bobtail
7 units Lantis at 7:30 AM
7 units Lantis at 7:30 PM

I'm a little confused about the storage shed concept. It seems that since Bear has been consistently on such a high dosage, his "storage shed" should be full right? But when I tested him at 7:30PM before his shot and before he ate, the meter read HIGH which is anything over 500 I think. Does blood sugar that high mean there was no insulin in his body anymore?

I made a spreadsheet, if it didn't work will someone let me know?

You all are so great, I have never been a part of a message board before and I feel like I've had a giant weight removed from my shoulders!!
 
Re: Newbie in Health - Bear - needs dose/start over help

posted on health...Welcome Bear and kldanzi!
 
Re: Newbie in Health - Bear - needs dose/start over help

Argh, one more question!!

From my understanding, if Bear goes hypo I should be able to see that on the blood glucose test right? The number would be too low? We were at 446 an hour ago... I am getting a little freaked out because ALL he does is act lethargic /sleep or meow incessantly. (He is half Siamese and they are VERY vocal though!)
 
Re: Newbie in Health - Bear - needs dose/start over help

Hi Kldanzi,

glad you got a spreadsheet going.

You're going to get a lot of feedback, plus all the reading suggestions, so hang in there ok?
Lots of people can help you work this out.

I had asked in the health forum, if your vet tested for ketones in the urine, but from what I gather, the vet wasn't a very good one.
It's ok, it happens to most of us unfortunately.
You got your insulin, testing supplies and a huge forum and board to help you out!

I'm thinking others will ask for more numbers, if you have any previous numbers, do add them to your spreadsheet ok?

the HI numbers could be a bounce, so the mid cycle tests come in handy here to see where it came from.

Hang on for others feedback ok?
 
Re: Newbie in Health - Bear - needs dose/start over help

What's your feeding schedule like?
And you're feeding friskies right?

Hypo would be much much lower, so your ok for now.

You do want to stock up on a hypo tool kit thou, with plenty of high carb selections and karo syrup.
 
Re: Newbie in Health - Bear - needs dose/start over help

I just got the meter today and none of the papers the vet gave us had any numbers.....

We are now down to 349 and Bear officially hates me or else thinks that if I keep poking at his ears, the least I can do is give him some more food. (He associates us annoying him with shots as time to eat.)
 
Re: Newbie in Health - Bear - needs dose/start over help

As of this weekend although I leave some out for the other cat which I am going to stop. I have frozen bones and raw food patties on hand as well..... Do you think I should pull one out tonight to feed tomorrow or should I stick with the Friskies until the weekend when I can keep an eye on him during the day?
 
Re: Newbie in Health - Bear - needs dose/start over help

What you can do is to test hourly if possible and you will see how his numbers are changing. It takes a few hours for the shot to start showing you some changes.
Ronnie posted the list of what you may expect:+0 - PreShot number.
+1 – Usually higher than PreShot number because of the last shot wearing off. May see a food spike in this number.
+2 - Often similar to the PreShot number.
+3 - Lower than the PreShot number, onset has started.
+4 - Lower.
+5 - Lower.
+6 – Nadir/Peak (the lowest number of cycle).
+7 - Surf (hang around the nadir number).
+8 - Slight rise.
+9 - Slight rise.
+10 - Rising.
+11 - Rising (may dip around +10 or +11).
+12 - PreShot number.

So your 446 is only the +2 - if you test at +3 and +4, you will get a better idea of how Bear is handling the shot. Nadir or the lowest point in the 12hr cycle will be near a mid point so you can see by your own curve - his numbers will go lower, lower and lower, then you will see them come up again.

He is feeling pretty crappy - imagine how you feel with a high fever or when you have the flu - once his numbers start to come down and then stay down, you will already be seeing him acting relieved. You will see him acting better before you see his numbers improve, so watch how Bear is doing because that matters the most.

Be sure to pick up a box of Ketostix at the pharmacy so you can test for ketones in his urine whenever possible. When his numbers are high, there is a chance for ketones, and if your test strip shows even just a trace, post here right away because it's a serious issue and needs to be fixed quickly.

So for your tests, just post when you have more numbers and people can help you with suggestions.

And have a treat of some sort ready to give when you test. That way, test means treat@!
 
Re: Newbie in Health - Bear - needs dose/start over help

Welcome to FDMB and Lantus Land!

Ronnie and Gayle have provided a ton of information in your post in Health. Sorry if you're feeling more than a little overwhelmed. I know I certainly did when I first got here -- which was a while ago.

There are a couple of basics that are important with diabetes management -- hometesting, proper handling of your insulin, food, and a dosing protocol. You've gotten a head start with hometesting. Now that you have spreadsheet set up and have started to collect test data, we'll be able to help you even more with how to deal with doses.

First -- is this the first time you've shot 7.0u twice a day? If so, do you have a lot of strips on hand and any high carb food? I don't know if you will need it but I want to be sure you're prepared. Can you please get another test in an hour? Give treats when you test! Your cat will associate the test with something yummy! If you don't have low carb treats at home, use food.

I would pick up a box of Ketostix, as was suggested. This will allow you to test for urinary ketones. Once you have the strips, we can offer some suggestions on how to get a sample.

Food: Diabetics need to be on a low carb diet. It doesn't matter if they are humans or cats -- carbs convert to sugar which makes it very hard for insulin to work. Dry food is typically very high carb. Janet & Binky's food charts contain information on most canned (and dry) food that's around along with the carb content. There is a food in every price range. Many of us feed Fancy Feast or Friskies in the low carb varieties. You'll also need to pick up some flavors that are high carb with gravy. We use that to steer numbers should they run low. If you want more info on feline nutrition, this website that is written by a vet will be very helpful.

There is info in the starred sticky note at the top of the Board on how to handle Lantus. Most of us do not purchase the vials. We buy cartridges or pens. The initial investment is more but you get more insulin and you waste less.

Protocols: There is a sticky on this topic as well. This is the information that we base dosing decisions on.

In answer to your question about the shed, if you had been giving Lantus for more than a week, you have a shed (or depot) already established, provided you'd been dosing twice a day. Just because there is a shed, it doesn't mean that numbers won't be high. Blood glucose (BG) levels depend on more than the shed. If you are feeding high carb (HC) food, it may be overwhelming the insulin that you are shooting. The shed is like having a reservoir of insulin. It's what makes Lantus long-acting and for there to be overlap between doses. Other, shorter acting types of insulin peter out before 12 hours and BG levels can then spike. Even though you've been giving Lantus for months, you've been dosing once a day. Lantus is a twice a day insulin in cats. You don't have a shed since it is depleted by the end of 24 hours.

Regarding hypo, to earn a dose decrease, a cat needs to have a test at below 50. We differentiate between a low number and a symptomatic hypo. There are very few cats here who have had a hypo crisis. Even one of the new members who mistakenly shot 5.0u rather than the 0.5u that she was supposed to give, did not have a hypo crisis. The insulin overdose was managed with high carb food and Karo syrup. We keep both on hand.

I have to agree with Gayle. This seems like a lot of insulin to be giving. What was the dose that Bear was started on? In what amounts did you increase his dose to reach 7.0u? (And do you have syringes that are marked in 1/2 units?)
 
its Friskies Meaty Bits canned right?
does it contain gravy?

Is that the name of the brand?

Do you have Karo syrup or honey on hand? Not saying you'll need it, but just in case, ok?

sorry for so many questions! Just want to make sure we got all the facts!

Take your time replying to each post here, you're gonna get hit with a lot! But it's all good info!
 
Sienne,
From one of the earlier posts:

The insulin is Lantis, the starting dose was 5 units (3/10cc syringe).
He is only supposed to get one shot a day.... I really feel like he should be getting 2? Or is the Lantis that long acting?
The dose now is 7 units.
We feed him Friskies Meaty Bits wet food twice a day.... 7:30 AM and PM and there is a small amount of dry food available throughout the day but since switching to the canned stuff he very rarely goes near that, it is mostly for the other cat.
 
Strangely enough I do have Karo syrup! It's vanilla flavored but it's still corn syrup! :-D

Bear was started at 5.0u once a day but the vet didn't feel that was enough. After a month he upped him to 7.0u and we haven't been back since. Mind you, that decision was made off of one blood test. Just this weekend I started giving him two shots because one shot a day just didn't make sense to me after the info I had read. That's why I finally decided to do home testing..... It just didn't seem like the instruction I was given were logical!

I don't have syringes marked in half units right now and btw, does anyone else feel like the pharmacy thinks that they are a druggie or something?? It took Target 45 minutes to put 5 packs of syringes into a bigger paper bag and give it to me and I don't understand why!!

I will probably be able to do one more test tonight, maybe two depending on when I get myself to bed..... I'll get them up as soon as I do it.

Friskies is made by Purina and is in gravy so we'll have to do a switch-over with that.... He'll basically eat ANYTHING, he used to be a big old fatty!

I definitely don't mind the questions, it feels good to finally have someone helping me to get on the right track. My boyfriend loves this cat dearly but has been coming to terms with putting him down. (His back legs are really bad.... I just got my b12? in the mail, does anyone have any experience with that?) I told boyfriend that I would look online and hopefully we can give Mr. Bear a chance at a good life!
 
You don't want B-12. You want methyl-B12 (methylcobalamin). Here's a link. Methyl-B12 is what's used to treat diabetic neuropathy.

If you start to transition to LC food, you will need to test fairly aggressively. Numbers can easily drop several hundred points.

I order syringes on-line from Hocks. I like their GNP brand. They come in a 31 gauge, insulin syringe with 1/2 unit markings. They ship quickly and if you use the link at the top of the Board, FDMB gets a commission. You will need syringes in 1/2 unit increments for dosing since increases and decreases are made in 0.25 to 0.5 unit increments. You don't need a prescription to order syringes on-line.
 
The Friskies sounds fine for a canned food choice. But yes, as Sienne mentions - testing becomes more important as you introduce wet food.

Just a little tip, before you go to bed tonight, leave plenty of food out.

I'm not too sure what we can expect, but please do post at least a couple of numbers tonight.
We want to make sure it is safe to go to bed with Bear's numbers.

Pharmacist always looked at me funny when I'd go in to buy test strips and syringes, they're for my cat, I'd say. Uh-huh, they'd say. :lol:
Fortunately, up here in Canada they don't require prescriptions for these things, so they can't deny me them.
After several explanations, I just stop telling them what it's for.

So yea, that's pretty common.

B12 sounds like a good idea. I used the pill form, diluted into the wet food.
Not too clear on how much to use thou. Hopefully someone can answer that for you.
 
I am having trouble pricking his ears for another time tonight and he is really getting tired of it... Is there a big risk of infection if I use a paw pad?
 
Hi and Welcome! You've gotten great advice thus far from some very knowledgeable people. I just wanted to chime in because my experience is similar to yours. Although my cat, Stu, had been diabetic for 4 years, we had never home tested and essentially were shooting insulin "blind", based on occasional trips to the vet to check glucose levels. We used PZI Vet, an insulin that was discontinued last fall; the vet switched Stu to Lantus last November. He started out at 5 units bid, but when this didn't seem to be working, upped the dose to 7 units bid. Stu seemed to be getting much worse (peeing way too much, drinking way too much) and I was getting very worried and happened to find this message board. It literally saved my cat's life. I cut the dose to 4 units bid on my own, but then I was advised to start over with Lantus at 1.5 units bid and follow the Tilly Protocol for finding Stu's ideal dose. This was in January of this year. To make a long story short, Stu worked up to about 3.5 units bid following the Protocol and then began coming down the "ladder". At present we are at a little less than 1 unit bid. Stu looks good, is moving like a kitten again, and is happy and healthy. Perhaps Bear would also benefit from starting over again with Lantus and following the protocol. You will get high bg numbers at first (but you are already getting them). I do not feel competent to advise you on dosing and am only giving you my opinion. But I know that you will be in good hands if you follow the protocol and the advice of very experienced people like Sienne, Gayle, Ronnie, Deb. Proper food is key. Good luck with Bear. I know that he will improve with the help of this fantastic board.

Ella & Stu
 
The 'before bed' test is pretty important.
I just tested my two at 11pm, just before bed, and Shadoe is very low at 57, so I am staying awake now and gave her some HC foods. You just never know ....

I don't do the pad poke because I am OK with both mine on the ears. The ears do 'learn' to bleed, so it will get much better as you go along.

The friskies food are reasonable in price and good for the carbs - go with the pate's and not the grill or gravy ones. You can take the Binky's list of foods with you when you go for foods. I just feed mostly the Turkey & Giblets 13oz cans, then the other pate flavors as special treats. Stay under 10% carbs for most foods, but keep some MC and HC for times when numbers go too low. I try to keep a couple cans of 16% of friskies turkey or chicken in gravy.. Shadoe loves them.

When in doubt or you have to go out, just leave extra foods because they will eat when they get low.

Sorry I can't help with the b12 stuff but many others here can.
 
The problem with leaving food out is that Bear will eat whatever is in front of him whenever it is in front of him. If I feed him now he will eat it all. Maybe I should have boyfriend feed him when he gets home in an hour or two?
 
Welcome! You found the perfect place to help Bear. My advice is to take the advice you get here! It's overwhelming at first, but you'll be walked through things step by step with tons of support. I have to agree that your vet is not the keenest on dealing with diabetes and neither was mine.

This board is filled with people with invaluable information and available pretty much at all times and have helped SO many people manage feline diabetes even into remission. They really CARE. My cat was diagnosed in May and I can confidently say that we wouldn't be where we are (close to being off insulin) without them.

Diet change was VERY important in our journey. We have three cats and they are all now happily eating low-carb wet food (Fancy Feast). It's hard to decide to make that change, especially with other cats in the equation, but they adjusted fine and it's what was needed. Post as many questions as you want in this thread. Someone has the answer or guidance you need.

I'm sorry Bear is feeling so crumby now. I can't wait to see that his numbers are coming down and he's acting like you never thought he would again. That's the best part of this journey. Glad you're here.

Janice
 
kldanzi said:
The problem with leaving food out is that Bear will eat whatever is in front of him whenever it is in front of him. If I feed him now he will eat it all. Maybe I should have boyfriend feed him when he gets home in an hour or two?

that would be a great idea!

Just so you know, unregulated kitties will eat a lot in the higher numbers, this too will come down.
Mine was very thin and sickly looking at first and was eating almost 3 cans of food a day, he gained the weight back, and as his numbers got better, he ate less.
So do feed as much as he wants, however, when you get lower numbers you'll want to feed smaller portions, spread out, to avoid scarf and barf.
 
Question time!

You mentioned in your health thread that Bear has lost a lot of weight.

Do you happen to know his current weight or rough estimate?
 
welcome to Lantus Land!

Another question (sorry if this has already been asked, I haven't read through both threads yet): has Bear had a history of ketones? Did the vet say anything about ketones?
 
A couple of us have been putting some thought into Bear's introduction to insulin. Generally, the initial dose of Lantus is based on the ideal weight of a cat. For a starting dose of 5.0u, Bear would need to be a very big kitty!! The problem with a high starting dose is that the insulin may not do the job it's supposed to do. Instead, you get high numbers.

What we've suggested in situations such as this is to start over with dosing. How would you feel about starting back at 1.0u of Lantus twice a day? It will take several days for a shed to form before you really are able to evaluate how well Lantus is doing. I also suspect you'll need to bring the dose up but you will be doing this gradually and safely so you don't miss what the optimal dose is. This is a similar situation as what Ella/Stu described.

If Bear's numbers are high, it is advisable to regularly test for ketones. If present at more than a trace level, ketones can be dangerous. Most of us have tested when our cats had high numbers. I still randomly test whenever I catch Gabby using the litterbox. It is a good preventative measure.

As I mentioned earlier, getting syringes with 1/2 unit increments will make your life considerably easier. The Walmart Relion brand of syringe comes in 1/2 units.

Most importantly, please post daily. If we need to increase Bear's dose more quickly, we'd like to give you the support you need to increase his dose without too much worry.
 
Right, we are just not going to be able to get anymore blood tonight. He's had it and I've had it. The first 3 times I got it on the first try but his poor ears are too pricked up now.

I don't know about ketones, I need to get a test for that tomorrow.

He is probably around 10 pounds.
 
Ok, leave him plenty of food if you can, or have your boyfriend feed him some when he gets in.

And please do get a box of ketones test strips. Very important that we know and you know if there is any.

Hope we see you updating tomorrow, remember lots of people here can help you out.
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top