Newbie and struggling

Status
Not open for further replies.

Anne & Zener GA

Very Active Member
Hello,

I am new to the list so hope I am doing this right. My 11 year old cat Zener, who has cerebellar hypoplasia, was diagnosed with diabetes three months ago. We spent the first two months with Humulin N without good results and our vet switched us to Lantus almost 4 weeks ago. We are really struggling to get him regulated. He was on dry food and now is completely on wet food - Blue Buffalo and Fancy Feast. At present he is on 2.5 U in the morning and 1.5 at night but his lowest BG is often +12 to +14 and is in the 80s to 90s. I am fearful to give the injection when his values are so low. If we skip a shot, his BG often is in the high 300s at the time of the next injection. I've been reading on the forum for a few weeks and would like some help. Thanks, Anne & Zener
 
Anne you are testing, it sounds like you are diet appropriate...you are likely ready for a visit to the lantus support group.
It is listed under the Insulin Support Groups, then lantus.
Introduce yourself.
I would try to get your spread sheet going but there seems to be a problem with that temporarily.
 
Anne,
I know it is hard to know what to do, where to go. Lori gave you some good advice about going over to the Lantus support group. There are not many there this late but post that you need dosing help, put that in your subject. I know it is crowded over there :lol: but they are really good about helping you and are the experts on dosing for Lantus.

You have already done some great things, testing and the food change, now you just need to get the dosing down ..... having a cat with diabetics is very difficult but we have all been there, it will get easier! Plus what you learn in support, you will then be able to take the best care of Zener. But you need the special advice that the Lantus people have, go learn!!

Nancy and Payne
 
Hi Anne,

I have a CH kitty also, her name is Lilly Grace. Is your Zener mild, moderate or severe? Just curious :-D

Is she difficult to test, does she have the head tremors? I sometimes think about my girl and could not imagine if I had to test her, she shakes so much it would impossible. It's great that you've already done so much for her, you may have a diet controlled kitty soon, at least I hope so.
 
Hi there,

Zener is quite mild and mostly his back legs are affected. Not able to jump and walks with quite a swagger. I got some great advice on the Lantus group!
 
I'm glad you're getting great advice, I was more curious about the CH, there are a few people here with CH kitties, but not that many :) Mine is severe CH, but she's amazing how she can still go to a different room by herself if she needs to.
 
Welcome to the forum! This place is amazing and has helped us so much!

I also live in Flagstaff and Willy is on Lantus. If there's anything you need, let me know!

Stephanie & Willy
 
Hello, I have been struggling with vet care since I have lived in Flagstaff. My current vet seems quite stumped with my cat. Any recommendations for a vet? We live on the west side of town. Thanks!
 
axwphart said:
... My current vet seems quite stumped with my cat...quote]

Because of the diabetes or the cerebellar hypoplasia?

If it is the diabetes and you feel you have a reasonable rapport with the vet, you might read over this sticky Convert A Vet
 
The diabetes and thanks for the sticky! I will take it to my current vet, who is a great listener and spends quality time with us. The CH is what I guess is mild, mostly affects the rear legs, so Zener can walk (with an impressive swagger), run short distances and pull himself up with his front legs. Unable to climb or leap. Has not been a big issue for him once we made our house more accessible. He was recently dx with diabetes.
 
I know nothing about CH but please note that diabetes can cause diabetic neuropathy which can cause the exact hind leg symptoms that you describe...
 
Thanks for the information! His leg strength and walking has not changed since he is getting a bit better regulated on the Lantus. One of the reasons I started home testing was it was impossible to tell if he was hypo because most of the symptoms are the way he is all the time! Thanks again.
 
axwphart said:
Thanks for the information! His leg strength and walking has not changed since he is getting a bit better regulated on the Lantus. One of the reasons I started home testing was it was impossible to tell if he was hypo because most of the symptoms are the way he is all the time! Thanks again.


That's one of the concerns I had when I saw you posting the first time. I went to the CHkitty forum and found the owner of the site has never seen a CH kitty with FD, so I couldn't find out much information.

As you know, with CH kitties we are hyper aware of things that could affect the brain. When Lilly Grace went for her dental I couldn't sleep for days before. The anesthesia can be dangerous, this is why we make sure never to use ketamine and the vet has to watch O2 during surgery to be sure they have enough getting to the brain at all times. CH can get worse if the brain is effected.

I'm so glad that you are hometesting. I'd think your kitty is pretty mild since she can run. I'm also going to assume head tremors aren't too bad, if I tried to test Lilly Grace the way she bounces her head all the time I don't think I could ever do it :oops:
 
Jen & Squeak said:
I know nothing about CH but please note that diabetes can cause diabetic neuropathy which can cause the exact hind leg symptoms that you describe...

And because of that, you may want to pick up some methyl-B12.

It has helped a number of cats with diabetic neuropathy. To the extent that diabetic neuropathy is present, the methyl-B12 could reduce some of the difficulty walking.
 
Thanks for the help! I read on the message board about the methyl B12. Since Zener has been on Lantus his leg strength and walking are back to where they were before his diagnosis, his special version of normal! Will keep in mind the methyl B12, but at present he doesn't seem to have a diabetic neuropathy. Also, he has very mild to almost no head tremors, thank goodness! dancing_cat
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top