Newbie! 5/28 Lucy PMPS 126; +2 79; +3 68; +4 74; +5 77

Status
Not open for further replies.

mariko

Member Since 2011
Hi, My name is Mariko, and my diabetic cat's name is Lucy.
I am a newbie here, but I have been getting help at the Health forum, and was suggested I post here for more specialized help.

my previous post at Health

Lucy is now 15 years and 9 months old, was originally diagnosed with diabetes in July 2011, went in remission in February 2012, and was diagnosed again in April 2013.
I tested her more often than I normally could today because today is her first day back up on 0.5u.

She seems to be feeling pretty good the past couple of days, jumped up on a cat tower and some furniture even though she had not done that for a while. It was quite a graceful jump for an old girl. Her appetite is good, too. I like that since she often has decreased appetite.

I will update this post with her PMPS and some more tests later today.
Please let me know what your think about her numbers.

Thank you - Mariko & Lucy
 
Re: Newbie! 5/28 Lucy AMPS 180; +2 122; +6 130; +8 115; +10

Welcome to LL, Mariko and Lucy! Lucy is a very beautiful girl - and my Grandmother's name was Lucy, so it's near and dear to my heart!

It sounds like Lucy is feeling good, and that is fabulous - the most important part of all this. Her numbers are looking very pretty...nice and flat, with no huge bounces. You've gotten an awesome number of tests in!

Once again - welcome, and feel free to ask as many questions as you want!

Amy (& Trixie)
 
Re: Newbie! 5/28 Lucy AMPS 180; +2 122; +6 130; +8 115; +10

Welcome to TR!!! It's a great place to be, and such a great community!
 
Re: Newbie! 5/28 Lucy AMPS 180; +2 122; +6 130; +8 115; +10

Welcome to Lantus Land!

Sorry to hear that Lucy fell out of remission. We'll do whatever we can to help get her off the juice again. Great job on the curve today and, more importantly, great numbers for Lucy!

There is a great deal of information in the starred sticky notes at the top of the Board. I'd encourage you to take a look at the New to the Group and the Tight Regulation Protocol stickies.

I'm curious as to why you reduced Lucy's dose on 5/24 and 5/25.
 
Re: Newbie! 5/28 Lucy AMPS 180; +2 122; +6 130; +8 115; +10

Thank you all very much for your warm welcome!
I just updated her PMPS - 126. a little lower than her normal PS numbers, but I gave her full 0.5u as I can test and monitor her tonight. I hope I did right.

Sienne, the reason I reduced her dose on 5/24 and 5/25 is my....beginner's error.... :oops: ..... because I didn't understand about "depot" and delayed/early shot correctly.
I now have better understanding, thanks to the patient teachers at the Health.
I didn't increase the dose back to 0.5u on 5/25 because I was giving her sub-Q fluid on that day, she went lower than normal after sub-Q fluid in the past, so I was worried..... But again I got a good advice on this too (insulin at the bumbum and sub-Q at the scruff), and it worked great.

I have read these stickes. So much useful information.

Thank you - Mariko & Lucy
 
Re: Newbie! 5/28 Lucy AMPS 180; +2 122; +6 130; +8 115; +10

Hi again.
I just tested her PM+2, and it was 79.
This is quite low for her, and this is her first day back on unit 0.5u.
Should I be alarmed? Should I be testing her every hour?
Please let me know! - Mariko & Lucy
 
Re: Newbie! 5/28 Lucy AMPS 180; +2 122; +6 130; +8 115; +10

Mariko

Glad you found your way over here. I didn't mean to alarm you this morning but you see how much info you can get from the +2.

This is a great number. I would feed her two good tsps of low carb food and test her at +3. Please post here ok?
 
Re: Newbie! 5/28 Lucy AMPS 180; +2 122; +6 130; +8 115; +10

Marje! I'm so glad to hear from you. Thank you very much for checking back on Lucy!
OK, I will feed her 2 tsps of low carb food, and test her at +3.
That would be about 30 min from now.
I ran to the store to get some gravy fancy feast in case for tonight after testing +2 before posting here, so I'll be back in 30 min.
Thank you! - Mariko & Lucy.
 
Re: Newbie! 5/28 Lucy AMPS 180; +2 122; +6 130; +8 115; +10

She is going even lower.... +3 was 68.
I am a little bit scared....
Could you please let me know what I do next?
Thank you - Mariko & Lucy
 
Re: Newbie! 5/28 Lucy AMPS 180; +2 122; +6 130; +8 115; +10

Hi Mariko and welcome from a neighbour across the bridge. Will Lucy eat another 1-2 tsp of LC at this point?

It'll help us if you update the subject line on your first post to reflect the PM numbers. That's what shows up so people will notice she's going low. So, update it to 5/28 Lucy PMPS 126 +2 79 +3 68.
 
Re: Newbie! 5/28 Lucy AMPS 180; +2 122; +6 130; +8 115; +10

She's still good! Give her two more tsp of LC...think she will eat it?

You can retest in 30. I will wait for your test. Remember...you are in control because you are testing and you have food.
 
Re: Newbie! 5/28 Lucy AMPS 180; +2 122; +6 130; +8 115; +10

Yes.. yes... I will calm down now.
Do you mean 30 min after she eats the 2tsps (she will eat). That will be around +4.
Or do you mean 30 min since the last test? That will be just about now.
I'll go feed her, and check here again. Thank you - Mariko & Lucy.
 
Re: Newbie! 5/28 Lucy AMPS 180; +2 122; +6 130; +8 115; +10

It's usually test....then feed. Wait 30 mini, retest.

We call this lather, rinse, repeat. The food will hopefully help her surf in these great numbers.

When you can, could you please update the subject line just so we can keep an eye on when numbers change? Thank you!

Breathe :-D
 
Re: Newbie! 5/28 Lucy PMPS 126; +2 79; +3 68

Oh???
When I said "feed" her, I meant the 2tps of LC food, not the regular meal.
She eats her meals right after the AM shot and PM shot.
Maybe my English is causing confusion? Sorry, not my first language....

I'd like to confirm so I'll do it right in future... whenever you advise me to "give her xxx food and test in yyy", I should test in yyy first and then feed xxx?
I was doing them in the order that was written - that's not correct?

I gave her the 2tsps of LC about 10 min ago, so I'll test her again in about 20 min.
I updated the subject, thank you for letting me know.

Thank you - Mariko & Lucy
 
Re: Newbie! 5/28 Lucy PMPS 126; +2 79; +3 68

You are fine! So is your English! I am confusing you...I'm sorry.

We use food to manage the curve, if necessary. So if numbers are in green and start down, we give some food to flatten them out or, if they are below 50, bring them up.

So once you test her, if she is still dropping, you give her two tsp of low carb food, wait 30 mins and test again to see if she has stopped or if you need to feed more.

It takes about 30 mins for food to affect the BG.

Does that help?
 
Re: Newbie! 5/28 Lucy PMPS 126; +2 79; +3 68

I got it!!! I understand now!
I apologize for confusion.
Test --> give her food ---> wait 30 min ---> test --->and so on.
It makes sense. I do need to breath....
I will be back in 15 min.
Thank you and sorry again for taking your time. I'll think more in future before typing.... Mariko
 
Re: Newbie! 5/28 Lucy PMPS 126; +2 79; +3 68

You are doing great! There is a relearning curve.

I will wait for your next test :-D
 
Re: Newbie! 5/28 Lucy PMPS 126; +2 79; +3 68; +4 74

+4 test (30 min after giving her 2tsp of food) was 74.
She went up, but marginally, but it's good.
Now, do I stop giving her food, and test at +5?

And Wendy & Neko, thank you for welcoming Lucy & me.
We are neighbors!
And your cat has a Japanese name like me!

Mariko & Lucy
 
Re: Newbie! 5/28 Lucy PMPS 126; +2 79; +3 68; +4 74

Perfect! Yes, you can give her an hour. Based on this morning, I wonder if she might throw an inverted curve where she is higher at midcycle and then comes down after.
 
Re: Newbie! 5/28 Lucy PMPS 126; +2 79; +3 68; +4 74

Mariko

I only work on Wed so I need to get to bed. It's 11 here and I need to be up at 5:30. I just wanted to be sure you got her up a bit.

If you click on the "Handling Low Numbers" link in my signature block, it will give you some good info. However, if you just do as we've discussed, she should be ok. If she drops below 50, give her higher carb food.

Do you think you will be ok?
 
Re: Newbie! 5/28 Lucy PMPS 126; +2 79; +3 68; +4 74

OK, I'll test her +5, and post here again.

Marje and Gracie said:
Based on this morning, I wonder if she might throw an inverted curve where she is higher at midcycle and then comes down after.

Does this mean I will not be sleeping tonight?
That is fine it needed, at least I can keep her safe, but I don't know how I'm going to manage during AM cycles on weekdays while I'm at work.....

Mariko & Lucy
 
Re: Newbie! 5/28 Lucy PMPS 126; +2 79; +3 68; +4 74

Marje,
Thank you for staying up with me.
I'll manage.
Thank you again - Mariko & Lucy
 
Re: Newbie! 5/28 Lucy PMPS 126; +2 79; +3 68; +4 74

I'ts impossible to predict whether she will just be flat the rest of the night or come down just a bit. If she is up at +5, I'd lay down for a few hours and maybe grab a +8, or +9 depending on whether she goes up alot or a little.

If she is up at +5 and you need to get to bed after the +5, feed her a larger helping of food or leave food out for her.

She might be one of these kitties that just loves flat numbers and not low numbers. She's been looking pretty flat to me in her cycles!

Sienne and Dyana are on early in the morning if you need help. Wendy is going to check in on you for the +5 test tonight.
I will also have my husband check in at +5. I know Wendy has an early day tomorrow, too. My husband, 'Mike, is very good with low numbers...you can trust him :-D And if he needs to, he can wake me.

I'm sorry to leave you....normally I wouldn't but my work days are very long.

Hope you rest. Great job!
 
Re: Newbie! 5/28 Lucy PMPS 126; +2 79; +3 68; +4 74

Lucy's +5 is 77, marginally up.
If anybody is available to give me an advice, would it be safe for me to not give food and sleep for 3 hours or so until I check her +8?
Mariko & Lucy
 
Re: Newbie! 5/28 Lucy PMPS 126; +2 79; +3 68; +4 74

Hi Mariko, I think you could feed her a couple tsp of her regular LC food and snooze for a few hours. It looks like she is surfing now.
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top