New...

coryb

Member Since 2020
the badg has been eating nothing but ff low carbs for most of the week. we started his first dose of Lantus 0.5 on sat 2/22. the week prior to starting, while transitioning food BID testing showed pretty solid high 200s...once insulin has been started...high 300s. will be able to do curve on sat...am I just getting the #s after the insulin stops working before next dose, NDW, somagyi?...pretty consistent ketone tests neg, worried about weight loss, fatty liver
 
A couple of questions & observations

Last Night's PMPS & Units boxes are blank; did you skip a dose last night?

On 2/23, it appears you shot your AM shot 1 hour late? But then moved it 30 min earlier in the PM?

I see you mention Alphatrak in your notes - are all of the measurements in your spreadsheet done with the Relion Prime? Or were you previously using the Alphatrak & switched somewhere on this sheet?

It would definitely be good to get some additional numbers to see what's happening between those doses.

Someone more senior than me might be able to weigh in; I just wanted to clarify the above as it might help them to provide you feedback!
 
A couple of questions & observations

Last Night's PMPS & Units boxes are blank; did you skip a dose last night?

On 2/23, it appears you shot your AM shot 1 hour late? But then moved it 30 min earlier in the PM?

I see you mention Alphatrak in your notes - are all of the measurements in your spreadsheet done with the Relion Prime? Or were you previously using the Alphatrak & switched somewhere on this sheet?

It would definitely be good to get some additional numbers to see what's happening between those doses.

Someone more senior than me might be able to weigh in; I just wanted to clarify the above as it might help them to provide you feedback!
 
no, he had dose last night and pre shot was high 300s(have to look at meter for exact), yes, we had a late am shot & then gave pm @11.5hrs...I use relion almost exclusively, but do have alpha track for emergencies. I wish I were able to get more daily numbers, but most of my curves will be done on weekends.
 
Hello and Welcome to the best place you never wanted to be!

It's great that you've been able to get those pre-shot tests - they're critical!

After you've had a chance to catch your breath, please read and select a dosing method: SLGS is slower, and TR is a more aggressive method.

Here's the link to the dosing methods: http://www.felinediabetes.com/FDMB/...-low-go-slow-slgs-tight-regulation-tr.210110/

Looks like you may be moving from dry to FF low carb? If so, that's a great idea. Numbers may continue to come down as you transition off the dry food.

Love that you have the shot time on your SS - helps me to keep track of that on mine - so I hope you find it helpful. Most of us here use regular time rather than military...7:00 and 7:00 for instance in a column just before the AMPS (AM pre shot) and PMPS (PM pre shot)...

You'll be able to get more numbers as time goes on unless you're working...that's a bit more difficult and sometimes schedules have to be arranged for that - some people get up an hour earlier so they can test/feed/shoot and then grab another test before leaving for work. Please do get in the habit of getting a test or two in the evening - especially at least one before you go to bed for the night - kitties love to go low at night - very important to get a few of those.

Again, welcome to the forum! There will be others who'll come along to say hello and offer other suggestions :)
 
Hi there !

It looks to me in checking that SS that maybe the 0.5 unit dose needed a bit of time to break through that wall of higher numbers... The blue PMPS you got is encouraging. Sometime after starting insulin, you will notice that trend of higher numbers coming back after you have been on a dose for a little while. That is called glucose toxicity- it generally just means that they need more insulin. It can happen when a cat gets used to those higher BG numbers. Then it can take a bit more insulin break that trend and lower those numbers. Often, that in return can cause some bouncing. It can take the cat awhile to stop overreacting to better, lower numbers and stop bouncing back to those higher ranges , but they will.
You will definitely need some patience, but you are off to a great start. Keep reading through some post and asking questions :)

Here are some helpful post from the forum on NDW since you mentioned it :)
http://www.felinediabetes.com/FDMB/threads/new-dose-wonkiness-ndw-and-failed-reductions.46012/

Another post on the importance of doing BG checks at different times throughout the day/night so that you are able to handle certain BG trends ( like lower Preshot numbers)
This post was helpful for me to avoid getting a lower PM preshot number and then feeling like I didn't know what to do or have time to figure it out
http://www.felinediabetes.com/FDMB/...y-to-shoot-handle-lower-pre-shot-numbers.147/
 
Back
Top