littleorangecat said:
Hi. My kitty was just diagnosed one week ago. She also has chronic pancreatitis and asthma. It's a long story, but she has been on pred for a long time and it is the only thing that has controlled either condition (including inhalers). In Nov. she was severely ill with an acute attack of pancreatitis and I almost lost her. I understand that the pred is not ideal for the control of her diabetes but I feel that for now, this is something I have to work with. Additionally, I am unwilling to try a diet change right now since after several different foods, we are on one that seems to be doing okay (yes, it's dry & full of carbs). I want to put this out up front because I don't want you all to think I am ignoring good advice. I just feel that her myriad conditions are very complicated and mean that I have to be very careful in balancing them all.
Her glucose at the vet one week ago was 448. Today it was 437 (+11). She was on 1.25 U Lantus BID. I made the unfortunate mistake of buying the Freestyle Lite which was a whopping 200 points lower than the vet's meter today. The vet wants to up the Lantus to 2 U BID for two weeks and then recheck. I have read "start low and go slow" several times but how slow and low? Is that a reasonable jump for a 12 pound cat? Her pred is also being lowered 25% (from 10mg to 7.5mg). Also, does the new, higher dose take affect immediately or does it have to build up (the shed)? I did go get a Relion today so I will be able to home test. Tonight her +3 is 311. I will start a spreadsheet as soon as I can figure that out :lol:
Thanks,
Little Orange Cat
OK let me get the food issue out of the way.
You already know that you will have issues with the high carb dry food; you won't have much luck or an easy time regulating with that food, but we can work with what is being fed now by just giving more insulin. Just remember that when you are ready to switch from high carb dry food to low carb wet food, you are going to see a BIG drop in BG numbers... if LOC is carb sensitive like my Shadoe, the 400s may be the norm if you don't add more insulin to cancel out those carbs. No problem. There are some people who are unable to get their cats to eat the LC wet.
I know everyone is going to be after you to get that sheet up... until you do, just log all your test numbers in a lil' book and then you can populate the sheet later.
You definitely want to test before each shot, and another time just before bed.
I know what the vet wants you to do; it may be an idea to increase a bit slower so that you just leap right over the good dose for LOC. If you are at 1.25u now, maybe try 1.5u and then hold that 1.5u dose for 4-6 shots (2-3 days) and see how her numbers adjust.
As for the shed, yup, any change you make, the shed has to adjust. if you decrease dose, the shed needs to dump the extra, and if you up the dose, the shed needs to be 'topped up'. That's the reason you need to hold a dose for a few days, to be sure the shed is filled and to see if she likes this new dose better. I suggested upping dose to 1.5u so that you can get back on the measure lines of the syringes. If the 1.5u is not enough, you can then go up to a full 2u..... it's alot easier to measure the insulin with lines!
Your test at +3 of 311 is nice to know but the best test is before you give the shot. What if you tested and you got a 65 BG.... you may want to delay the shot. Now imagine if you did not test, but her BG was 65, and you just blindly gave her a normal shot.... you could be reaching for the karo pretty soon if she had a hypo incident.
Now let's get to the pancreatitis. To treat, you need 3 things:
Nausea meds - you can try with just ordinary pepcid AC 10mg tabs. Cut them in 4 and give 1/4 twice a day. Daily max is 5mg for cats.
Pain meds - you need to be giving pain meds for pancreatitis as it's VERY painful, ask any human who has had pancreatitis. Buprenex is pretty common and will def help.
Fluids - giving fluids at home is easy enough to do, give 100cc - 200cc a day depending on what your vet advises is needed.
You treat pancreatitis with nausea meds, pain meds, and fluids.
My Shadoe had frequent problems with pancreatitis, and my new vet said to start giving her B12 shots. I got a vial and gave her shots once a week and now, she rarely has issues. You may want to mention B12 to your vet and see if it's a good idea. You are already giving insulin shots, so giving another one for the B12 is no big deal.
As for the pred and other health issues, I have no experience so I can't comment.
here are some links with info on Hypo issues, what to do, and how to prepare:
List of Hypo symptoms
How to treat HYPOS-They can kill! Print this out!
Jojo’s HYPO TOOLKIT
You may want to pick up some KETOSTIX at the pharmacy so you can test urine for ketones.
Ketones
Finally, here are some food links. Take a look at Binky's list and maybe pick up a couple cans of the LC wet food to be ready to introduce it. It's important to know that there are a great deal of animals who are DIET CONTROLLED so down the road, it may be worth a try to offer a bit of the wet food too.
Binky’s Food Lists
Feeding Your Cat: Know The Basics of Feline Nutrition
List of Low-Carb/Med.-Fat Food for Cats with Diabetes AND Chronic Pancreatitis