Courtney & Mable
Member Since 2021
Hi Everyone,
I'm Courtney and my cat is Mable. My partner and I adopter her about 3 1/2 years ago. She is a grey and white suspected Norwegian forest cat.
Firstly I very much appreciate all of the helpers on here. In the first few weeks this was a great resource to know we were not alone. This is my first post but I've been lurking since the DX. I figured it would be best to share as much info as I can so everyone can get a better overall picture of what 's going on. Broken up into sections.
Background
Her health problems started in the Spring of 2021 with urination outside of her box, on our couches, and alarmingly with bloody urine. We took her in to the vet and they DXed her with struvite crystals, put her on Royal Canin Stox and hills Wet and I believe a stox purina crunchy. She like the royal canin, wouldn't really eat the hills, and then only wanted to eat the crunchies. The crystals dissolved. A few months later in June or July she started drinking from our running tub, so much that she had a couple of coughing fits from drinking too fast. So I bought her a fountain which she was at constantly but other wise ok. There were signs that I missed like her drinking constantly and peeing a lot- I thought it was just because it was summer.
Fast forward to this past July. She was DXed with diabetes July 24th after a couple of days being very sick. throwing up multiple times, lethargy, starting at her water and not eating etc I thought we were going to loose her. We took her to our local (regular) vet Thursday on Friday they called with partial results and again Saturday saying we had to urgently get her to the ER. She had DKA and a cyst on her pancreas. She was brought home on Tuesday. We immediately started insulin per the great emergency vet who said it needed to be treated aggressively. the first few shots I needed help with, after the 3rd day it was fine.
_____
Since DX
We were blind dosing for a few weeks at 2xday .5U lantus. Got a libre installed and tried to start ear poke testing. Libre consistently showing high numbers. About a week or so ago the vet called to have the dose raised to 1U. Mable went hypo at 50 the first day, nadir around 80 and 100 the following two days. So we brought it back down to .5 with recommendation to watch 5-7 days. The (coverage) vet originally thought mabe was going into remission, then smogoyi, but then i sent a journal someone had posted showing the bouncing effect and she agreed that may be happening.
___
Current
Thursday she got a new libre. Starting this past Friday 9/3 we started with .75U and mixing in 1/4 canned friskies pate. Have since stopped the pate to only have 1 changing variable of the insulin dose. Mable's AMPS are 450-500+ with nadirs around ~200. She's having new face twitching/shaking a few hours after the shot. Not sure if because the nadirs are 1/2 AMPS her body thinks she's in hypo?
Last night my partner said to hold after dinner/shot food because she was past 500+ but I think that was a mistake. So today i've been giving her a small spoon of food every 2 hours and the drop seems to be less drastic.
We have a check up next Saturday and an ultrasound for the "cyst" in a few weeks. The vet at the hospital and our vet think she might not really be a true diabetic but this cyst might be making her body think she is. I might need an internal medicine vet.
Questions
- How do i set up a spreadsheet? Where is the template? Do i color code or is it a conditional formatting? I found it once and have another tab open with someone else's but i dont know if its the standard format.
- Vet only wants to treat with DM Purina. I think its too high glycemic but the vet says she doesnt need TR and it doesn't mattter. I would eventually like to switch to friskies. When is this safe to do? In a week after current dose regulates?
- Could the cyst be acromelagy or is that only in the brain?
- Does anyone else have a DKA/Pancreatitis/cyst cat?
I'm Courtney and my cat is Mable. My partner and I adopter her about 3 1/2 years ago. She is a grey and white suspected Norwegian forest cat.
Firstly I very much appreciate all of the helpers on here. In the first few weeks this was a great resource to know we were not alone. This is my first post but I've been lurking since the DX. I figured it would be best to share as much info as I can so everyone can get a better overall picture of what 's going on. Broken up into sections.
Background
Her health problems started in the Spring of 2021 with urination outside of her box, on our couches, and alarmingly with bloody urine. We took her in to the vet and they DXed her with struvite crystals, put her on Royal Canin Stox and hills Wet and I believe a stox purina crunchy. She like the royal canin, wouldn't really eat the hills, and then only wanted to eat the crunchies. The crystals dissolved. A few months later in June or July she started drinking from our running tub, so much that she had a couple of coughing fits from drinking too fast. So I bought her a fountain which she was at constantly but other wise ok. There were signs that I missed like her drinking constantly and peeing a lot- I thought it was just because it was summer.
Fast forward to this past July. She was DXed with diabetes July 24th after a couple of days being very sick. throwing up multiple times, lethargy, starting at her water and not eating etc I thought we were going to loose her. We took her to our local (regular) vet Thursday on Friday they called with partial results and again Saturday saying we had to urgently get her to the ER. She had DKA and a cyst on her pancreas. She was brought home on Tuesday. We immediately started insulin per the great emergency vet who said it needed to be treated aggressively. the first few shots I needed help with, after the 3rd day it was fine.
_____
Since DX
We were blind dosing for a few weeks at 2xday .5U lantus. Got a libre installed and tried to start ear poke testing. Libre consistently showing high numbers. About a week or so ago the vet called to have the dose raised to 1U. Mable went hypo at 50 the first day, nadir around 80 and 100 the following two days. So we brought it back down to .5 with recommendation to watch 5-7 days. The (coverage) vet originally thought mabe was going into remission, then smogoyi, but then i sent a journal someone had posted showing the bouncing effect and she agreed that may be happening.
___
Current
Thursday she got a new libre. Starting this past Friday 9/3 we started with .75U and mixing in 1/4 canned friskies pate. Have since stopped the pate to only have 1 changing variable of the insulin dose. Mable's AMPS are 450-500+ with nadirs around ~200. She's having new face twitching/shaking a few hours after the shot. Not sure if because the nadirs are 1/2 AMPS her body thinks she's in hypo?
Last night my partner said to hold after dinner/shot food because she was past 500+ but I think that was a mistake. So today i've been giving her a small spoon of food every 2 hours and the drop seems to be less drastic.
We have a check up next Saturday and an ultrasound for the "cyst" in a few weeks. The vet at the hospital and our vet think she might not really be a true diabetic but this cyst might be making her body think she is. I might need an internal medicine vet.
Questions
- How do i set up a spreadsheet? Where is the template? Do i color code or is it a conditional formatting? I found it once and have another tab open with someone else's but i dont know if its the standard format.
- Vet only wants to treat with DM Purina. I think its too high glycemic but the vet says she doesnt need TR and it doesn't mattter. I would eventually like to switch to friskies. When is this safe to do? In a week after current dose regulates?
- Could the cyst be acromelagy or is that only in the brain?
- Does anyone else have a DKA/Pancreatitis/cyst cat?