Hi All! My 14yo male cat Rocky was diagnosed with diabetes in May of this year. At that time, we were giving 3u Lantus 2x/day. Fast forward to August and Rocky ended up in the hospital with DKA and a UTI. He was there 6 days while they tried to stabilize him and figure out a new dose. They sent us home giving 1u Lantus once daily. Rocky has always been fed dry food freely. He will not take wet food at all and goes on a hunger strike rather than eat it. He has a water fountain and drinks often.
Lately I've seen a few things that concern me. He's a little slower than usual, even for an older cat. He sleeps a lot, and eats whatever we give him. He even meows for more. He gets about 1 cup a day, but still will not put on weight. Brought him in to vet yesterday. He was 8#. They did a panel to check loads of stuff. No UTI or pancreatitis, but BG was 540 and fructosamine 890. Very high! he also had trace ketones. Vet increased insulin to 1u 2x/day with intentions to recheck in 2 weeks and adjust as needed. He is good with me giving shots, but does not like going to the vet, so insulin curve is out of the question. Vet mentioned possibly self-testing, which I haven't done yet, and wouldn't know what monitor/strips to buy.
I know there are a lot of changes I need to make, but which are most important to start first (besides increase in insulin)? I need the guidance of those of you who have been in my shoes.
Lisa
Lately I've seen a few things that concern me. He's a little slower than usual, even for an older cat. He sleeps a lot, and eats whatever we give him. He even meows for more. He gets about 1 cup a day, but still will not put on weight. Brought him in to vet yesterday. He was 8#. They did a panel to check loads of stuff. No UTI or pancreatitis, but BG was 540 and fructosamine 890. Very high! he also had trace ketones. Vet increased insulin to 1u 2x/day with intentions to recheck in 2 weeks and adjust as needed. He is good with me giving shots, but does not like going to the vet, so insulin curve is out of the question. Vet mentioned possibly self-testing, which I haven't done yet, and wouldn't know what monitor/strips to buy.
I know there are a lot of changes I need to make, but which are most important to start first (besides increase in insulin)? I need the guidance of those of you who have been in my shoes.
Lisa