New to this Board changing insulin from Novolin N to Prozinc

Status
Not open for further replies.

Donna G.

Member Since 2021
My vet has me switching my cat from Novolin N to Prozinc. Has anyone else done this? My cat’s been diabetic for 5 years and takes 5 units Novolin N twice daily. Lately, last six months, he has had a few hypoglycemic episodes so our vet wanted to switch him to Prozinc 2 units twice a day and then do a glucose curve in 7-10 days. I monitor my cat at home with Alphatrak glucometer before shots and also spot check him at other times. It seems the Novolin N doesn’t last long and increasing the dose causes low blood sugar and that is why our vet wants to try him on Prozinc. Any guidance or experience anyone has had would be appreciated. Thank you.
 
My boy was diagnosed in January of 2020 & he was on novalin as well. He was also switched to prozinc in June of this year. Since having all of his teeth pulled on October 11th & taking the dry food away he has went from 6units to 1.5 units in less than a month. Prozinc is working great for him & we are hoping for remission! I think your kitty will do well with it, just keep doing what your doing, & good luck to you!
 
My vet has me switching my cat from Novolin N to Prozinc. Has anyone else done this? My cat’s been diabetic for 5 years and takes 5 units Novolin N twice daily. Lately, last six months, he has had a few hypoglycemic episodes so our vet wanted to switch him to Prozinc 2 units twice a day and then do a glucose curve in 7-10 days. I monitor my cat at home with Alphatrak glucometer before shots and also spot check him at other times. It seems the Novolin N doesn’t last long and increasing the dose causes low blood sugar and that is why our vet wants to try him on Prozinc. Any guidance or experience anyone has had would be appreciated. Thank you.
Welcome glad you are switching to Prozinc and are home testing
So we can help you can you please fill out your signature

Tap on the blue writing
Here is a link helping us to help you link. If you noticed, our members have some basic information about their cat's in their signature. This helps us to not pester you by asking the same questions (your cat's name, insulin type, date of diagnosis, etc.) repeatedly. We also have a link to our spreadsheet in our signature. We are very numbers driven. The spreadsheet is a record of your cat's progress. By linking it in your signature, we can follow along and provide feedback should you need the help.

The signature is at the end of members post see mine it's in gray with the information we need
 
Last edited:
When will you be starting the Prozinc?
Buy the U-40 syringes with half unit markings because we adjust the dose by 0.25 units
We can tell you where to purchase them
Do you have any tests that you can add to your spreadsheet, I will ask Bhooma one of our members to set it up for you. She will be sending you a private message look for it in your inbox up top
If you have any of the BG numbers for your kitty when you were testing with the Alpha Trak
You can fill them in on your Spreadsheet. I'll give you the link that will explain how to enter them
Also let Bhooma know you will be switching to Prozinc and when so she can note that on your spreadsheet.

This link will explain how to use the spreadsheet
https://felinediabetes.com/FDMB/threads/how-to-use-the-spreadsheet.241653/

Also can you please read all about Prozinc here is the link
https://felinediabetes.com/FDMB/threads/prozinc-dosing-methods.225629/

@Bandit's Mom
Thanks Bhooma:cat:
 
Last edited:
When will you be starting the Prozinc?
Buy the U-40 syringes with half unit markings because we adjust the dose by 0.25 units
We can tell you where to purchase them
Do you have any tests that you can add to your spreadsheet, I will ask Bhooma one of our members to set it up for you. She will be sending you a private message look for it in your inbox up top
If you have any of the BG numbers for your kitty when you were testing with the Alpha Trak
You can fill them in on your Spreadsheet. I'll give you the link that will explain how to enter them
Also let Bhooma know you will be switching to Prozinc and when so she can note that on your spreadsheet.

This link will explain how to use the spreadsheet
https://felinediabetes.com/FDMB/threads/how-to-use-the-spreadsheet.241653/

Also can you please read all about Prozinc here is the link
https://felinediabetes.com/FDMB/threads/prozinc-dosing-methods.225629/

@Bandit's Mom
Thanks Bhooma:cat:
 
Good morning. I got the U-40 syringes and the Prozinc yesterday afternoon from our vet. They advised to start the 2U of Prozinc last night, so I did. Nicky’s preshot reading at 7pm was 335. I made sure he ate and then gave the 2U Prozinc. This morning Nicky’s preshot reading at 6:45 am was 538. He ate and I gave him 2U of Prozinc at 6:50 am. He did well through the night. I am relieved he is off the Novolin N because he had about 4 low blood sugar issues on it in the past six months! I purchased an alphatrak meter about a month and a half ago and began testing him daily before each shot, after about 4-5 hours and some days every 2 or 3 hours. I keep a daily log now of all his BG reading, food eaten, times etc. Trying to be consistent and avoid any more low blood sugar events at all costs. Last week I did a 12 hour glucose curve while he was on Novolin N for our vet and that is why she recommended switching to Prozinc. I appreciate all the information from these boards and this website. It allowed me to become educated and figure out how to handle my cat’s diabetes much better. Thank you!
 
Hi and welcome to the forum.
Im going to send you a link for the spreadsheet, signature and hypo box as well as other used fuel information for new members.
If you have rouble setting up the spreadsheet I can tag @Bandit's Mom to help you.
For us to help we need all this vital information.
HELP US HELP YOU

Make sure you test before every dose and again around +4 to +7 to see how the dose is affecting your kitty.
Are you feeding snacks during the cycle as well as the preshot meal?
Looking forward to seeing the data on the SS. If you could enter the last few weeks of the Novolin insulin and the start of the Prozinc insulin, that would be helpful.

Because you have reduced the dose of insulin when swapping, I would strongly recommend you test the urine for ketones daily.
To do this you need a bottle of Ketostix from Walmart or a pharmacy.. Collect a urine sample and dip the test strip into the urine and read it exactly 15 seconds later against the colours on the side of the bottle. If there are any ketones at all, I would tell the vet as that would most likely indicate that the dose needs to be increased.
 
Thank you. I have been testing as you advised. Now that Nicky is on Prozinc I’m trying to make sure he doesn’t overeat—with Novolin N I always had to leave some food out to avoid a low blood sugar episode, and then there was the risk of over feeding. I notice his behavior improving on the Prozinc he’s more active. I’m sure there will be a dose adjustment when we go back to vet in 10 days. I want to make sure not to over feed him. He’s a 19 pound cat! He eats about 6-7 oz Friskies pate and about 1/2 cup Hills Glucosupport dry food. I’m not a fan of dry food but after he was hospitalized about a month and a half ago due to low blood sugar, the only food they could get him to eat was the Hills dry glucosupport. So, I bought a bag from vet to keep him eating when he came home. He was only in hospital about a day and a half. Although I keep Karo syrup in house and administered that to him due to the low blood sugar, he wasn’t coming around quick enough, so I took him to the emergency hospital here. It has taken me until now to wean him off the dry food onto more wet and also get him back on a good feeding schedule! Wasn’t happy with previous vet, and they offered no after hours services, so I decided to switch him to a new vet at the 24/7 hospital. They seem better equipped to help us there and also offer boarding with 24/7 staff if we need to ever visit family out of state (which we don’t plan to do unless emergency). I’m not sure how to upload the spreadsheet, I usually use an iPad, but could try it on laptop if necessary. I’ve been keeping a daily written log. Right now I’m picking up all the food around noon so that he will eat well by around 5pm and then I can give second shot. I’m home most of day so if somethings wrong I will notice. Can you advice about the spreadsheet? Not sure how to use it, upload it. Thanks.
 
Hi I can tag one of our members to do the spreadsheet for you, her name is Bhooma
@Bandit's Mom
She will send you a private message so look for it in your inbox above,she can also do your signature for you. The signature is at the end of everyone's post in gray, it's information about our kitties.
I will give you the link to see if you can do the signature yourself, if you can't Bhooma will help you
Thank you Bhooma
Here is a link helping us to help you link. If you noticed, our members have some basic information about their cat's in their signature. This helps us to not pester you by asking the same questions (your cat's name, insulin type, date of diagnosis, etc.) repeatedly. We also have a link to our spreadsheet in our signature. We are very numbers driven. The spreadsheet is a record of your cat's progress. By linking it in your signature, we can follow along and provide feedback should you need the help.
 
Also for your hypo kit if Nicky drops too low
Med and High Carb food



Fancy Feast Gravy Lovers Gourmet Beef Feast in Gravy 20% High Carbs

Fancy Feast Gravy Lovers Gourmet Chicken Feast in Gravy 15% Med Carbs

Fancy Feast Gravy Lovers Turkey Feast in Gravy 15% Med Carbs

Fancy Feast Gravy Lovers Chicken and Beef in Gravy 15% Med Carbs

Good idea to mark the cans with magic marker how many carbs

Since Nicky eats Friskies you can look at the food chart and look for the Friskies medium and high carb food to keep in the house
https://felinediabetes.com/FDMB/threads/dr-pierson-new-food-chart.174147/
 
I’m not sure how to upload the spreadsheet, I usually use an iPad, but could try it on laptop if necessary. I’ve been keeping a daily written log. Right now I’m picking up all the food around noon so that he will eat well by around 5pm and then I can give second shot. I’m home most of day so if somethings wrong I will notice. Can you advice about the spreadsheet? Not sure how to use it, upload it. Thanks.
Hi, I have sent you a PM (Private Message) with the details I need to set up your spreadsheet and signature.
 
Have you decided on which dosing method you want to follow
Here are the 2 dosing methods for Prozinc for you to choose one it will tell you when to increase or decrease his dose.We increase or decrease by 0.25 units at a time
Do you have the syringes with the half unit markings, makes it easier to adjust

https://felinediabetes.com/FDMB/threads/prozinc-dosing-methods.225629/

I believe it’s start low go slow since Nicky’s new to Prozinc. I use the U-40 syringes but still have packages of the U-100’s left (don’t use anymore). Which syringes have half markings and would I get them at pharmacy or ask vet?

Some good news. This morning my cat’s BG reading improved from yesterday. It was 365 before his AM shot. Yesterday it was in the 400’s.

Donna
 
I believe it’s start low go slow since Nicky’s new to Prozinc. I use the U-40 syringes but still have packages of the U-100’s left (don’t use anymore). Which syringes have half markings and would I get them at pharmacy or ask vet?

Some good news. This morning my cat’s BG reading improved from yesterday. It was 365 before his AM shot. Yesterday it was in the 400’s.

Donna
You can get either one of these , When I was using the U-40 syringes I liked the Ulticare
You will probably need a script for them, my vet never carried the half unit markings
Give your vet a heads up about wanting them, then you can call ADW diabetes and they will contact your vet, ask your get for refills also, you can then go on their website and order the refills.Create an account with them.

https://www.adwdiabetes.com/product/18553/ulticare-u40-pet-29g-3-10cc-1-2in-half-unit
Or
https://www.adwdiabetes.com/product/16363/carepoint-vet-u-40-syringe-29g-half-unit
 
Thank you, will get them!
Donna
Don't know if you saw what I added
You will probably need a script for them, my vet never carried the half unit markings
Give your vet a heads up about wanting them, then you can call ADW diabetes and they will contact your vet, ask your get for refills also, you can then go on their website and order the refills.Create an account with them.

Try and keep your spreadsheet up to date and add SLGS to your signature and spreadsheet up top :cat:
 
On 11-7 did you give any insulin at all?
Just a reminder about SLGS about Prozinc
Hold the dose for at least a week:
  • Unless your cat won’t eat or you suspect hypoglycemia
  • Unless your kitty falls below 90 mg/dL (5 mmol/L). If kitty falls below 90 mg/dL (5 mmol/L) decrease the dose by 0.25 unit immediately.
After 1 week at a given dose perform a 12 hour curve, testing every 2 hours OR perform an 18 hour curve, testing every 3 hours. Note: Random spot checks are often helpful to "fill in the blanks" on kitty's spreadsheet. The goal is to learn how low the current dose is dropping kitty prior to making dose adjustments.
  • If nadirs are more than 150 mg/dl (8.3 mmol/L), increase the dose by 0.25 unit
  • If nadirs are between 90 (5 mmol/L) and 149 mg/dl (8.2 mmol/L), maintain the same dose
  • If nadirs are below 90 mg/dl (5mmol/L), decrease the dose by 0.25 unit
I would re read about SLGS :cat:
 
Last edited:
You can get either one of these , When I was using the U-40 syringes I liked the Ulticare
You will probably need a script for them, my vet never carried the half unit markings
Give your vet a heads up about wanting them, then you can call ADW diabetes and they will contact your vet, ask your get for refills also, you can then go on their website and order the refills.Create an account with them.

https://www.adwdiabetes.com/product/18553/ulticare-u40-pet-29g-3-10cc-1-2in-half-unit
Or
https://www.adwdiabetes.com/product/16363/carepoint-vet-u-40-syringe-29g-half-unit

I’ve been using the ulticare U-40 syringes also. I noticed the syringes are less expensive on the adwdiabetes website than Chewy. I used to purchase the old insulin, Novolin N, from Walmart. They do not stock Prozinc. I guess I need to purchase Prozinc from the vet or Chewy and need prescription. I always used to keep an extra bottle of insulin in refrigerator as back up, in case I dropped it. Vets tech advised not to do that with Prozinc. I’m not sure I agree. What does everyone here do? Keep extra bottle? Taking cat back to vet in about a week for follow up and would like to get prescription for extra bottle Prozinc and also prescription if needed for syringes. What do you think? Thanks. Donna
 
I’ve been using the ulticare U-40 syringes also. I noticed the syringes are less expensive on the adwdiabetes website than Chewy. I used to purchase the old insulin, Novolin N, from Walmart. They do not stock Prozinc. I guess I need to purchase Prozinc from the vet or Chewy and need prescription. I always used to keep an extra bottle of insulin in refrigerator as back up, in case I dropped it. Vets tech advised not to do that with Prozinc. I’m not sure I agree. What does everyone here do? Keep extra bottle? Taking cat back to vet in about a week for follow up and would like to get prescription for extra bottle Prozinc and also prescription if needed for syringes. What do you think? Thanks. Donna

Here is a coupon for the syringes
It might be cheaper to get the prozinc from chewys ,your get might charge more
Yes you will need a script for the insulin
10
adw-coupon-dia10.jpg

10% off your next order!
 
Did you know that Hills glucosupport dry food is around 17% carbs that's high
No, but I’ve been tapering him off of it. He’s eating mostly wet and maybe 1/4 dry. Today will cut back more. Luckily my cat loves the fancy feast pate, use 3 ounce cans. I really don’t understand why vet would sell products like this. They must get a kickback!
 
On 11-7 did you give any insulin at all?
Just a reminder about SLGS about Prozinc
Hold the dose for at least a week:
  • Unless your cat won’t eat or you suspect hypoglycemia
  • Unless your kitty falls below 90 mg/dL (5 mmol/L). If kitty falls below 90 mg/dL (5 mmol/L) decrease the dose by 0.25 unit immediately.
After 1 week at a given dose perform a 12 hour curve, testing every 2 hours OR perform an 18 hour curve, testing every 3 hours. Note: Random spot checks are often helpful to "fill in the blanks" on kitty's spreadsheet. The goal is to learn how low the current dose is dropping kitty prior to making dose adjustments.
  • If nadirs are more than 150 mg/dl (8.3 mmol/L), increase the dose by 0.25 unit
  • If nadirs are between 90 (5 mmol/L) and 149 mg/dl (8.2 mmol/L), maintain the same dose
  • If nadirs are below 90 mg/dl (5mmol/L), decrease the dose by 0.25 unit
I would re read about SLGS :cat:

Yes I gave 2U of the Prozinc. I just waited a few hours to test the BG that day
 
No, but I’ve been tapering him off of it. He’s eating mostly wet and maybe 1/4 dry. Today will cut back more. Luckily my cat loves the fancy feast pate, use 3 ounce cans. I really don’t understand why vet would sell products like this. They must get a kickback!
Good to get him off the dry and you are doing it slowly, taking them odd dry food can drop their BG considerably. About the vets selling the dry food ,probably because they listen to what Hills says about it.
About an extra bottle of prozinc ,I'm going to tag a member that has used it and ask her, I'm sure as long as it's not used it will last
 
Yes I gave 2U of the Prozinc. I just waited a few hours to test the BG that day
Can you just fill in that you gave 2 units that night so members don't think you skipped
Nice he's off the dry food completely you can remove that from your signature

Can you go and add SLGS to your signature and spreadsheet up top where it asks you
Do you know how to do that?

Thanks for adding SLGS to your spreadsheet
To add it to your signature tap on your name up top and a drop box will appear tap on signature and add it then hit save
@Donna G.
 
Last edited:
I always used to keep an extra bottle of insulin in refrigerator as back up, in case I dropped it. Vets tech advised not to do that with Prozinc. I’m not sure I agree. What does everyone here do? Keep extra bottle? Taking cat back to vet in about a week for follow up and would like to get prescription for extra bottle Prozinc and also prescription if needed for syringes. What do you think? Thanks. Donna
@JanetNJ
Hi Janet would an extra bottle be good until the expiration date on it ?
Thanks
 
Good morning everyone. Wanted to post an update about Nicky. He seems to be feeling better on the Prozinc. I’ve noticed he’s more active and last few days since he’s almost totally off dry food (Hills prescription glucose support— I now just give him a few pieces as a treat after testing his blood sugar), I see less water drinking and urine in litter box. Tomorrow we go back to vet for follow up. Going to let them do glucose curve there (will do future one at home). Will show vet my spread sheet. I think Nicky needs an increase in the Prozinc from the daily readings I’m getting. This week the U-40 syringes I ordered with half markings will be here. I’m hoping the vet will suggest increasing by a half unit. He now is on 2U twice a day. Hoping she won’t recommend going up a full unit. We can try a half more then monitor and after so many days if not improving we could then go up another half. What do you think? I like our vet but from past experience feel most vets are too aggressive when increasing the insulin. Want to avoid a low blood sugar episode. Appreciate your opinions. Thank you! Donna
 
Good morning everyone. Wanted to post an update about Nicky. He seems to be feeling better on the Prozinc. I’ve noticed he’s more active and last few days since he’s almost totally off dry food (Hills prescription glucose support— I now just give him a few pieces as a treat after testing his blood sugar), I see less water drinking and urine in litter box. Tomorrow we go back to vet for follow up. Going to let them do glucose curve there (will do future one at home). Will show vet my spread sheet. I think Nicky needs an increase in the Prozinc from the daily readings I’m getting. This week the U-40 syringes I ordered with half markings will be here. I’m hoping the vet will suggest increasing by a half unit. He now is on 2U twice a day. Hoping she won’t recommend going up a full unit. We can try a half more then monitor and after so many days if not improving we could then go up another half. What do you think? I like our vet but from past experience feel most vets are too aggressive when increasing the insulin. Want to avoid a low blood sugar episode. Appreciate your opinions. Thank you! Donna
You reduced a LOT when you switched insulins. I think your dose is much too low. I’d go ahead and raise it with the next shot.
 
I just emailed that question to our vet and am going to reschedule cats visit tomorrow, emailed her Nicky’s spreadsheet. I can check his sugar at home, I think it’s not necessary to drive him to vet, stress him, and get same conclusion. Do you think I should increase him about a half unit as opposed to a whole unit? Thank you!
 
I just emailed that question to our vet and am going to reschedule cats visit tomorrow, emailed her Nicky’s spreadsheet. I can check his sugar at home, I think it’s not necessary to drive him to vet, stress him, and get same conclusion. Do you think I should increase him about a half unit as opposed to a whole unit? Thank you
I will tag
@JanetNJ
about how much you should increase his dose, we usually only increase by 0.25 units but see what Janet has to say, you really have no test at night , you need to be testing Nicky after his night time pre shots ,you are only seeing half the picture
Can you add SLGS to your signature also :cat:
@JanetNJ
Thanks Janet
 
Last edited:
I now just give him a few pieces as a treat after testing his blood suga
Rather than giving the Hills glucose support for treats most members give freeze dried treats , they are low carb, you can probably find them in some local pet stores also
I did a search for you on here and copied what some members said they use,

When testing you can give them a treat so they will associate after testing they will get a reward, any freeze dried treats are ok such as
PureBites Freeze-Dried Cat Treats with Chicken Breast 2.3 oz ()https://www.amazon.com/dp/B071P

Also chewys has freeze dried treats also


The freeze dried treats you can get at petsmart, petco and order from chewy. Purebites is popular (cheaper if you buy the dog food ones). My crew like vital essentials it's dehydrated freeze dried raw comes in flavors

freeze dried minnows, made by Vital Essentials. I also buy the ones made for dogs. They're the same as the freeze dried minnows for cats. just cheaper. They also carry other freeze dried treats. I ordered mine through Amazon.

I think the vital essentials are more of a crunchy texture than the purebites

If you cat likes any of these you can buy the bigger bags for dogs they are the same ,you will get more for your money just break then up into smaller pieces
@Donna G.

You can Google freeze dried treats and see what other ones there are and different flavors
Just make sure that is the only ingredient in them meaning turkey, chicken, minnows etc

Here is another one , I see you can get these in different flavors also just look
You may have to break any freeze dried treats in half if they are too big
https://www.amazon.com/Vital-Essent...ocphy=9003521&hvtargid=pla-630511512365&psc=1

Flavor Name: Duck Liver
  • Ahi Tuna


  • Chicken

  • Chicken Giblets

  • Chicken Hearts

  • Duck Liver


  • Minnows

  • Rabbit
@Donna G.
 
Last edited:
Thank you. I will be home all day so I will check him after increasing dose to be sure everything good. Didn't want to reschedule vet tomorrow but we live in a rural area and I must drive a bit to the 24/7 veterinary clinic, which is closer than regular (previous) vet. So far I was taking Nicky about every two weeks for past few months for glucose curves. Then one of the ER vets told me to get glucometer and check him at home. Will increase the Prozinc half unit and monitor him. Appreciate everyone’s help.
 
Thank you. I will be home all day so I will check him after increasing dose to be sure everything good. Didn't want to reschedule vet tomorrow but we live in a rural area and I must drive a bit to the 24/7 veterinary clinic, which is closer than regular (previous) vet. So far I was taking Nicky about every two weeks for past few months for glucose curves. Then one of the ER vets told me to get glucometer and check him at home. Will increase the Prozinc half unit and monitor him. Appreciate everyone’s help.
If you’re testing at home there’s really no reason to bring him to the vet for big tests. Once I started testing at home my cat didn’t go back for a year. I would occasionally send a snapshot of recent numbers but that’s it (until she developed other conditions).
 
Update: increased Nicky’s insulin a half unit to 2.5 units Prozinc 2x daily. Left the vet a message to call back to discuss and emailed her Nicky’s spreadsheet. Will test his BG in a few hours again, after evening shot. My cat eats about 3 oz wet pate in morning and then about another 1 or 1/2 oz around noon. Then he eats another 2 or 2 1/2 oz 4:30-5pm. Then another 1 or 1 1/2 oz by 9pm. Then I pick up all food so no more eating until morning. He eats about 7 ounces on average wet pate a day. It varies a bit day to day. But he usually never eats more than 8 oz wet food. Going to purchase the high protein treats and substitute for the few pieces of Hills dry glucosupport that I give as treat after testing blood sugar. I’m wondering if the BG readings I get are a bit high because he has food in him (not in the morning before the shot). That is why I wouldn’t want to rush to increase his insulin by a full unit. Overall his behavior is better—runs up and down stairs, drinks less water and less urine in litter box. Also playing more. I think when they do glucose curves at vet the cats are too stressed to eat and then BG numbers are different than home. I feel “stuck” in that I need to comply with doing some glucose curve, fructosamine occasionally at vet because I need a prescription from them for Prozinc. Fortunately in my state, we do not need prescriptions for the insulin needles. Any thoughts on feeding? My vet says feed two times a day and nothing between shots if possible. That doesn’t work for my cat, but I try to monitor amount of food not overfeed. Since Nicky is 19 pounds I also don’t want to over or under feed. Not always sure about how much food to give. Appreciate suggestions about what I’m doing! Thank you. Donna
 
We do not feed our cats only 2 times a day.I see nothing wrong the way you have been feeding him.
I don't think the higher reading have anything to do with you feeding him during the cycles.
If his ideal weight is 19 lbs you would multiply that by 20
So 19x20=380 calories a day
If he's overweight feed him less
What would you say his ideal weight should be

Tell your vet you will do the curves yourself at home and send her the results

You can always tag @JanetNJ if you have a question about dosing since she's a prozinc user :cat:

Hi Janet she just increased by half a unit like you suggested I guess she will just have to wait and see how Nicky does on 2.5 units
@JanetNJ
 
Last edited:
When we adopted Nicky he was about 2 years old and I think he weighed about 17 pounds. He was a large cat. Unfortunately his foster mom fed him only dry food because she was at work all day out of house. It took me awhile to get him off dry food. After that about a year he gained more weight, maybe I overfed him at that point because he loved the wet food. His weight shot up to 21 pounds and he was diagnosed diabetic. To me he could probably lose a pound or pound and a half. I just worry about reducing food amount due to him getting a low blood sugar event. He had a few of those when he was on Novolin N.
 
I really didn't see any low sugar events on your SS with the Novolin N
but glad he's on Prozinc now
If you want Janet to take a look at this and give you her opinion I would tag her :cat:
One suggestion try and get more night time tests in so you can see how the increase is working for him

 
Really not sure how dosing is with Prozinc as compared to Novolin N as far as units. But I see Prozinc is slower and more gentle compared to the harsh ups and downs with the Novolin N. Because of that I’ve become paranoid about increasing too fast, however I know it’s not healthy for Nicky to stay in high numbers too long either. Glad Nicky’s on Prozinc! Feel much more at ease.
 
Really not sure how dosing is with Prozinc as compared to Novolin N as far as units. But I see Prozinc is slower and more gentle compared to the harsh ups and downs with the Novolin N. Because of that I’ve become paranoid about increasing too fast, however I know it’s not healthy for Nicky to stay in high numbers too long either. Glad Nicky’s on Prozinc! Feel much more at ease.
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top