New to the forums, and may need some help

Status
Not open for further replies.

TortoiseAWD

Member Since 2012
Hi.

I've been skimming through the forums off and on for a while now, but this is the first time I've felt the need to post.

First, I suppose I should tell you about the four-legged members of the household: We have Jock, a 17-yo male domestic shorthair, his sister/littermate, Boo, and our youngest, Squeakers, a 3-yo torbie female. We adopted Jock and Boo when they were little kittens, but Squeak came to us as at seven months, and was a "free-range" kitty before that. Not surprisingly, Jock and Boo are totally mellow and laid-back, and Squeak varies between a psychotic bundle of energy, and a snuggly "love ME, dammit" attitude (all on her terms, of course).

Jock was diagnosed as diabetic in January of this year . . . his blood sugar was scary high (624), and he had a five-day stay at the vet to get him regulated back to the point where I could care for him. We struggled trying to find the right dosage of PZI for about six months, but no dosage seemed to work quite right. Two units twice daily ended up with a nadir of 35, and his curves were not smooth at all. We tried going to shots once a day, but that didn't work well, either. About six weeks ago, the vet switched us to Lantus. We worked our way up to three units twice/day, but his glucose numbers were still in the 300 - 400 range. A couple of weeks ago, we upped the dosage to four units. After a week, I did a glucose curve (I test at home using my own glucometer), and the numbers were better, ranging from 315 down to 225. The vet said keep him at four units BID, and check again in a week.

Well, I took the first reading of a curve today, and with no change in dosage or diet, his first number this morning was 69. Since it's Labor Day (so I can be home to keep an eye on him), and I'm doing a curve anyway, I went ahead and gave him his normal dosage with breakfast. I'll be taking another reading in about 1/2 hr, and I have some high-carb food and honey ready just in case his numbers dive instead of pulling back up.

So, I'm not new to feline diabetes, but I am relatively new to Lantus. Have any other Lantus users out there experienced something similar? I'm rather surprised at the change over the course of two weeks. A week ago (one week after switching from 3 to 4 units BID), numbers in the 200's and 300's, and this morning (two weeks after the dosage change), double-digits? I'm a type-2 diabetic myself, and when I tested my own glucose level this morning, it was in the range that I've come to expect, so I don't think I'm dealing with a faulty meter or test strips. Also, when I got the low number from Jock this morning, I poked his ear again and took another reading, and it was essentially the same (72). About an hour later, he was at 73, so staying pretty level so far.

If his numbers dive, you may see a 911 from me in the Lantus forums. Thanks for taking time to read my wall of text. Any and all advice appreciated.

Have a safe and happy Labor Day,
Tort
 
Hi Tort and Welcome :)

Please keep testing, as the food could raise his BGs, and when the food wears off, his numbers could drop. Also, the onset of Lantus is about 2 hours after the shot, so I don't know how many hours after you shot it is right now, but please keep testing, and let us know how he's doing.

I won't be around much today, but if you need help, feel free to check in on the Lantus forum. I'll let them know you're post is over here.
 
Hi, welcome to FDMB! :-D :-D Without a lot more data we usually advise newbies (for you new to Lantus) to not shoot that low a number, you don't really know how Jock will react. It sounds like you are well prepared though. Definitely get +1 and +2 tests. Lantus generally starts to take effect about 2 hours after the shot and comes to full effect about +6, but that varies depending on the cat. So you may have a lot of testing to do. 4u is a lot for a cat and hypo situation can last a long time w/ lantus. Keep testing and posting, don't wait until the last minute to post in the Lantus forum either. It is more active than this and members will keep an eye out for you if the know of a potential problem.

Lantus is a depot insulin, for the first week it builds up a reserve in the body which is slowly absorbed. Each shot puts a little into the shed to replace what is released as during the cycle. It usually takes up to a week for the shed to become established and with every increase it needs to be rebalanced and that can take 3 days, w/ some cats a little longer or shorter.

Lantus is also different in that dosing is not base on the preshot, but on the nadir. We test at least 4 times a day (I usually test 8 times), preshot to make sure that it is safe to give the insulin and between 4 to 8 hours after the shot to find the nadir. When that happens will vary w/ the cat and can change over time.
 
Thanks for the advice. I posted in the Lantus forum, and I think I'm just going to abuse his ear every hour until dinner. He may not like it, but it's for his own good (and my sanity). I just really surprised at the drastic change from one week to the next, especially given that we've worked up to the 4 units over about six weeks, each week with a BG curve. My vet said she didn't expect "remission" or a honeymoon period given his age, and how bad his original BG numbers were when he was diagnosed.

Thanks again for replying. I'll be checking the forums frequently today.

Best regards to all,
Tort
 
Hi Tort. I usually post in the Lantus Tight Regulation forum, and I posted that you might need some help.
I would post in that forum, if you need help, as there are usually more people on that forum.

Please test again in 20 minutes, and let us know what number you get.
 
D'oh. I posted in the "relaxed" regulation forum instead. You think it's worth re-posting in the "tight" forum as well? I think I have a handle on what to do if his numbers take a dive (and I hope the extra higher-carb food prevents that . . . it's not on his normal "approved" foods list, but I got him some FF with gravy, and just like me, mmmmmm, gravy).

I'm going to test him again a little after 1:00 (my time, about 15 minutes or so).

Tort
 
Yes...please post in TR forum instead of relaxed. It's easier for us to keep track of you there. Also, can you please take the 911 off the relaxed forum post? I'll watch for you.

Thanks.
 
Marjorie and Gracie said:
Yes...please post in TR forum instead of relaxed. It's easier for us to keep track of you there. Also, can you please take the 911 off the relaxed forum post? I'll watch for you.

Thanks.

New post in the TR forum, 911 removed from RR. Latest number 126, not panicking so much now.

Thanks again,
Tort
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top