New to the forum - trying to regulate Shades

Status
Not open for further replies.

Shady's Mom

Member Since 2018
Hi, I'm Shady's Mom and I just found this forum today. Here's our story, comments and suggestions are welcome, mostly I just wanted to say hi and introduce ourselves.

This is my first experience with diabetes and I'm concerned about getting my 13 yr old male cat regulated and on the proper insulin dose.

Shady was diagnosed 11/30/2018 and the vet started him on 1unit of Vetsulin twice daily. Since then the dose has been increased at the following intervals due to continued high glucose test results at the vet's office and only moderate improvement is his symptoms:
11/30 - 1 unit twice a day
12/6 - went to 2 units twice a day
12/13 - went to 2.5 units twice a day
12/17 - went to 3 units twice a day
12/21 - went to 4 units twice a day
We just started 5 units twice daily on Friday 12/28

During this last visit on 12/28 I mentioned a concern about getting high readings in the office due to his stress of the car ride and visit. He said I could get a glucometer to test at home, but didn't advise on brand or how/when to test. I bought an AlphaTrak2 this weekend and started searching for information. I did the first test this morning 2 hours after his AM injections and plan to test going forward before injections and 6-7 hours after his morning injection. Every test, both at the vet and my first here at home with the meter show his BG in the 500s.

After reading some of the posts on the forum, I'm now concerned maybe we missed the proper dose and he's on too much insulin. I look forward to testing regularly to have a better idea what is happening.

A bit of history... earlier this year Shades started to appear paranoid, looking behind him all time, circling at times, and walking a bit wobbly. In July, I took him to the vet who indicated it was a tough thing to diagnose but was concerned that he either had an infection or was having seizures. He was started on Baytril in case of infection and when that didn't help, he was hospitalized for a few days for IV fluids and they started Phenobarbital for seizures. After a few weeks of no improvement, they stopped the Pheno and started him on Prednisolone, now concerned it was instead a brain tumor. Over the next 2-3 weeks, the vet increased the Prednisolone dose to 10mg/day. Then my 20 pound cat lost 7 pounds, started eating ravenously, and began excessive drinking and urination. He became weak and lethargic. As the meds weren't helping anyway, the vet had me lower the dose and ween him off. At that time his glucose was tested and the vet indicated he was pre-diabetic, which can be caused by the steroids, but she thought the symptoms would subside if we weened him off the prednisolone. He became so weak, I started keeping him indoors and that seemed to finally resolve his original "paranoia" symptoms, which have not returned. After weening him off the steroids, I waited monitoring his diabetic symptoms, hoping they would subside, but after several months, in November I switched vets and the new vet diagnosed him with diabetes.
 
Welcome and sorry to hear of all the health scares with Shady. This is the best place for you to be to help your kitty as far as diabetes.

PLEASE copy your initial post above to the main Health board so you can get some help. I am new, but that is a very high dose for most cats from what I know. There may be other things going on such as rebounding. I think steroids, which he was on, May play into the picture also.

If you post to the main health board you will get a quicker response.
 
Also, may want to add to subject something like “Please help, vet keeps increasing dose, I am worried” so there is a sense of urgency when people are scanning the board. I don’t want to scare you, but we have seen people get the wrong advice from vets and only want to keep your baby safe.
 
Hi, I'm Shady's Mom and I just found this forum today. Here's our story, comments and suggestions are welcome, mostly I just wanted to say hi and introduce ourselves.

This is my first experience with diabetes and I'm concerned about getting my 13 yr old male cat regulated and on the proper insulin dose.

Shady was diagnosed 11/30/2018 and the vet started him on 1unit of Vetsulin twice daily. Since then the dose has been increased at the following intervals due to continued high glucose test results at the vet's office and only moderate improvement is his symptoms:
11/30 - 1 unit twice a day
12/6 - went to 2 units twice a day
12/13 - went to 2.5 units twice a day
12/17 - went to 3 units twice a day
12/21 - went to 4 units twice a day
We just started 5 units twice daily on Friday 12/28

During this last visit on 12/28 I mentioned a concern about getting high readings in the office due to his stress of the car ride and visit. He said I could get a glucometer to test at home, but didn't advise on brand or how/when to test. I bought an AlphaTrak2 this weekend and started searching for information. I did the first test this morning 2 hours after his AM injections and plan to test going forward before injections and 6-7 hours after his morning injection. Every test, both at the vet and my first here at home with the meter show his BG in the 500s.

After reading some of the posts on the forum, I'm now concerned maybe we missed the proper dose and he's on too much insulin. I look forward to testing regularly to have a better idea what is happening.

A bit of history... earlier this year Shades started to appear paranoid, looking behind him all time, circling at times, and walking a bit wobbly. In July, I took him to the vet who indicated it was a tough thing to diagnose but was concerned that he either had an infection or was having seizures. He was started on Baytril in case of infection and when that didn't help, he was hospitalized for a few days for IV fluids and they started Phenobarbital for seizures. After a few weeks of no improvement, they stopped the Pheno and started him on Prednisolone, now concerned it was instead a brain tumor. Over the next 2-3 weeks, the vet increased the Prednisolone dose to 10mg/day. Then my 20 pound cat lost 7 pounds, started eating ravenously, and began excessive drinking and urination. He became weak and lethargic. As the meds weren't helping anyway, the vet had me lower the dose and ween him off. At that time his glucose was tested and the vet indicated he was pre-diabetic, which can be caused by the steroids, but she thought the symptoms would subside if we weened him off the prednisolone. He became so weak, I started keeping him indoors and that seemed to finally resolve his original "paranoia" symptoms, which have not returned. After weening him off the steroids, I waited monitoring his diabetic symptoms, hoping they would subside, but after several months, in November I switched vets and the new vet diagnosed him with diabetes.
glad to hear some of the other symptoms have subsided. It's not uncommon to get diabetes from being in steroids.


I think your dose was raised to fast. I'm so glad to hear you got a meter and have started testing!!! This will be a huge huge help.

It says your feeding wet and dry. If it were my cat here's what I would do.

I would switch to an ALL WET low carb food. Perscription food is not necessary.

Lower the dose to no more than 3 while you are still getting the hang of testing.

Start a spreadsheet with all your preshot readings and try to get mid cycle readings. Vetsulin tends to be lowest 4-6 hours after injection.

I'm going to tag Kris to give you basic instruction on getting started.

@Kris & Teasel
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top