New to the forum! Loki diagnosed a month ago, no improvement :(

Status
Not open for further replies.

Blackberry

Member Since 2019
Hello!

My 13-year-old Loki was just diagnosed. He's 14lbs, but only a little overweight; his target weight is probably more like 12lbs. Indoor kitty, very lazy. We have 5 cats at the moment, and we've been through FIV, cancer, urinary crystals, hyperthyroidism, asthma, heart disease, you name it, but this is our first sugar baby. Fortunately, both my husband and I work from home, so we can keep an eye on him almost 24/7.

Sorry, this post turned out really long. I'm writing it half for myself to just get it all straight in my head, put the important parts in bold. I'm just feeling a little lost: the more I read, the more I keep finding things I should have started doing yesterday!

Diagnosis
We started to suspect something was wrong late last year: his appetite had gone through the roof. The vet tested him for hyperthyroidism and diabetes in december, both negative (blood sugar was only 100, even though he gets VERY stressed at the vet). Then his appetite continued to get worse and he started drinking excessive amounts of water, so we insisted on another test April 1: blood sugar was in the 500's! They didn't do a urine test, but the jump was high enough that the vet felt it was a conclusive diagnosis.

Initial Treatment
The vet immediately put him on 3u of vetsulin and scheduled him for a checkup in 2 weeks. (I didn't know at the time that that was a bit reckless to start so high. I assume the vet did it because Loki's such a big cat and his reading was so high.) The vet encouraged us to do 'casual' home testing: he suggested we buy a meter, but said there was no point in testing immediately. He also prescribed a change in diet, both for the diabetes and weight loss: previously, Loki was on Friskies canned and Purina One dry, and they put him on W/D canned & dry.

We were completely overwhelmed! So much information, so much to worry about! I did my research and settled on the Alpha Track 2 meter, but I wasn't happy with the lancet, so we got a Softclix. We've had no trouble giving him the insulin shots: Loki's a pretty laid-back cat.

Early Results
After 2 weeks on 3u vetsulin, Loki tested again in the 500s at the vet. Also, his water consumption had increased. Vet was pleased that we were so gung-ho about the home testing. He increased Loki's dosage to 4u, and asked us to home test a few times a week and let him know how it goes.

Just after this appointment, I learned about 'bouncing' from you wonderful people. I decided to keep him at 3u for another day, and try a glucose curve to check for this 'bounce'. In hindsight, going straight from never-used-a-meter-before to full-glucose-curve was a bad idea, but we didn't have much choice: I was NOT about to start him at 4u without knowing if he's dropping to dangerous levels mid-day.

It. Was. HORRIBLE. Well, the pre-shot and +2 hour checks went okay, but on the +4, we just couldn't get any blood: we FINALLY got a reading, but the poor baby got stuck so many times that we gave up testing for a few days. Anyway, 3 readings isn't much of a 'curve', but I hoped it was enough to at least rule out that he was dropping into hypoglycemia territory: pre-shot was 587, +2 was 378, +4 was 431.

He's been on the 4u for almost a week now. Our priority right now is to just get both him and us used to the testing, and so far the blood tests have gotten MUCH easier. His spreadsheet is pretty spotty right now: we don't want to test more than once or twice a day for the moment, while we're all still new at it, and we're sort of trying to spot check how he looks at various times of day. Unfortunately, as you can see, his readings haven't improved at ALL. I think he's drinking a little less, and his appetite has improved (he's not so frantic about getting every last scrap). Husband thinks he may be a little lethargic, but its hard to tell: he's always been lazy, and it's hard to tell if we're overreacting. Still, he's very responsive to pets and talking to him, and he doesn't seem confused.

Moving Forward

Step 1) Ketone test! The ketostix are in the mail. Should have done that sooner. Vet never mentioned it, and I missed how important it was in the avalanche of information :p Must...be...more...vigilant.

Step 2) Change his insulin dosage (with vet approval, of course). I don't know what the vet is going to recommend when we talk to him next. The gut reaction to his high readings would be "increase the dosage", but from what I've read, it would be better to start over at 1u and work up slowly, in case he's been bouncing. I dearly hope the vet agrees, because I don't know what I'm going to do if he pushes us to 5u or says that dropping to 1u is dangerous.

If we do drop from 4u to 1u, should we drop it abruptly, or taper him down slowly?

As for how quickly to increase it, I found the SLGS guidelines, http://www.felinediabetes.com/start-low-go-slow.htm, though I worry if 0.5 is too slow of an increase if he continues to test super-high at 1u.

Step 3) Reevaluate his diet. I went on a mathematics blitz the past couple days, and I am NOT happy with the W/D diet they put him on. It's actually no lower in calories or carbs than his previous diet, and the nutrition profile isn't good for diabetes: 40% calories from protein, 33% from fat, 27% from carbs. It's also much less calorically dense than his old diet, so the instructions on the bag have him eating a lot more food (by volume) than he's used to: we have to feed it to him spread out over 6 meals a day or he eats it all too fast and throws up, even when we take steps to slow him down.

Fortunately, Loki is not a picky eater. I've put together a new regimen that I plan to run past the vet tomorrow: canned Fancy Feast and a small amount of dry Blue Wilderness. This new diet has an appropriate number of calories (240 per day, as opposed to the 288 of his original diet and 267 of his new diet), only 15% of the calories are from carbs, is more heavily weighted towards canned food so he gets more water, and it's a smaller amount of food overall, closer to what he's used to, so hopefully we can go back to 2-3 meals a day.

Assuming the vet gives the okay, though, I'm not sure when to start phasing in his new diet. It's a pretty steep drop in carbs, and at 4u of insulin, that makes me nervous. Or perhaps we should keep his food as-is for now, and drop the insulin dosage first? Gah.


Overall, I'm just so worried that he's not responding to the insulin, and it seems like every choice we make is a knife's edge for things going wrong if we make the wrong move: raise vs. lower the insulin, test too much and stress him out or test too little and he'll crash, follow the vet's advice blindly vs. ignore the experts, etc. Did I mention that I take anxiety meds? I imagine it shows.
 
Last edited:
First, I'd get rid of the dry food completely....The Blue Wilderness is too high in carbs.

I'd start testing before every shot and at least once mid-cycle on the AM cycle and a "before bed" on the PM cycle. This is especially important if you remove the high carb dry food!!

Vetsulin isn't a real good insulin for most cats, although some cats do fine on it.....it tends to hit most cats hard and fast and then wear off long before the next shot. Lantus, Levemir and ProZinc are better insulin choices for most cats.

Without more data, it's really impossible to say what's going on with Loki, but it's possible that he's getting too much insulin already.

We understand about being a little gun-shy with testing, but it really is the only way to know what's really going on. Make sure he always gets a special treat when you test (whether you're successful or not)

If you reduce the carb load, I'd probably suggest dropping back to 2U. If you drop back too much, you just spend a lot of time working your way back up. Some cats just need more insulin than others but at this point, there's really no way to tell if that's the case with Loki since there's not enough data yet.

One thing I did notice though....the SLGS dosing method is for Lantus/Levemir, not for Vetsulin. Here's the Beginner's Guide to Vetsulin
 
Last edited:
Here's something I wrote up for others for testing...maybe it'll help you too!

It can be really helpful to establish a routine with testing.Pick one spot that you want your "testing spot" to be (I like the kitchen counter because it's got good light and it's at a good height....it also already blocked 2 escape routes due to the wall and the backsplash) It can be anywhere though...a rug on the floor, a table, a particular spot on the couch...wherever is good for you.

Take him there as many times a day as you can and just give his ears a quick rub and then he gets a yummy (low carb) treat.Most cats aren't objecting so much with the poking..it's the fooling with their ears they don't like, but once they're desensitized to it and learn to associate a certain place with the treats, they usually start to come when they're called! Or even when they hear us opening the test kit!

You also have to remember...you're not poking him to hurt him...you're testing him to keep him safe and understand what's going on inside his body. There's just nothing better than truly understanding what's going on inside your kitty's body and with this disease, the more knowledge you have, the more power you have against it. The edges of the ears have very few pain receptors, so it really doesn't hurt them. Also, if you're nervous and tense, it's going to make your kitty nervous and tense too. As silly as it might seem, try singing! It forces you to use a different part of your brain!

It's also important to make sure his ear is warm. A small sock filled with a little rice and microwaved or a small pill bottle filled with warm water (check temp against your wrist like you would a baby bottle) works well

For new kitties, using a heavier gauge lancet is also really helpful. A 25-28 gauge lancet pokes a bigger "hole" than a 31-33 gauge lancet does, so look for "Alternate Site testing" lancets that are usually a lower number

Finding the right "treat" will be a great help too! Freeze dried chicken, bonito flakes, little pieces of baked chicken...whatever low carb treat you can find that he really enjoys will help him to associate the testing with the treat! China's Achilles heel was baked chicken, so I'd bake a piece, chop it into bite sized pieces, put some in the refrigerator and freeze the rest to use as needed. It didn't take long for her to come any time I picked up the meter!

There are more testing tips here:

http://www.felinediabetes.com/FDMB/threads/hometesting-links-and-tips.287/
 
First, I'd get rid of the dry food completely....The Blue Wilderness is too high in carbs.
Alright. The one thing that concerns me is that he still will have to eat 3 meals a day, whether he's on all Fancy Feast or FF + Blue Wilderness; there's no way he'll be able to eat that much food in just two sittings without throwing up. For the moment, that's fine, but if we have to leave (emergencies, business trips, etc), I'm nervous about finding a petsitter that can come 3 times a day. If he gets dry food one meal, we can use an automatic pet feeder for his midday meal, so the petsitter only has to come twice. I am probably overthinking this. Okay, we'll try going all Fancy Feast.

I'd start testing before every shot and at least once mid-cycle on the AM cycle and a "before bed" on the PM cycle. This is especially important if you remove the high carb dry food!!

Without more data, it's really impossible to say what's going on with Loki, but it's possible that he's getting too much insulin already.

We understand about being a little gun-shy with testing, but it really is the only way to know what's really going on. Make sure he always gets a special treat when you test (whether you're successful or not)
Okay, more testing it is. He's already doing so much better on handling the meter. (Well, I guess that's we're getting more proficient and less upset: Loki has been a good boy about it from the start.)

Vetsulin isn't a real good insulin for most cats, although some cats do fine on it.....it tends to hit most cats hard and fast and then wear off long before the next shot. Lantus, Levemir and ProZinc are better insulin choices for most cats. If you reduce the carb load, I'd probably suggest dropping back to 2U. If you drop back too much, you just spend a lot of time working your way back up. Some cats just need more insulin than others but at this point, there's really no way to tell if that's the case with Loki since there's not enough data yet.
kk, really appreciate the advice.

One thing I did notice though....the SLGS dosing method is for Lantus/Levemir, not for Vetsulin. Here's the Beginner's Guide to Vetsulin
Woops, thank you!

And thank you for all the tips! After that one awful attempt, I came back here and poured over the 'helpful tips' page on the forums, and it really helped: we've gotten a successful drop first try, every try since then! I'm frankly pretty shocked. I tried several methods of warming his ear, and the pill bottle full of hot water worked best for him: it fits nice and snugly inside his ear, just right. I picked the Softclix lancet specifically because it was 28, rather than the 30-33 ones that seem to be most marketed to people; he seems to do well on the 2-3 setting, so long as we poke his ear at just the right spot. I've ordered some pain relief neosporin, but he seems to be doing just fine without it; he doesn't even flinch, and I think he forgets anything happened the moment the treat bag comes out :) Right now he's getting W/D treats, but I'll see if I can find something lower carb like one of your suggestions.

Okay, we'll talk to the vet tomorrow about reducing his dosage to either 1 or 2u, see what he says. If the vet doesn't want to drop his dosage, he's going to have to give me a really good reason why not. We'll keep his food consistent for the moment: I don't want to change his food and insulin at the same time, so it's clear which one is responsible for whatever changes we observe, so that means lower his insulin first. In the meantime, we'll step up his testing, see if we can't get a better picture of what's going on midday. If he improves on a lower dosage but his blood sugar rises too much in the second half of his cycle, we'll see about switching him to a slower-acting insulin.

Breath, Blackberry, breathe...
 
If he gets dry food one meal, we can use an automatic pet feeder for his midday meal, so the petsitter only has to come twice. I am probably overthinking this. Okay, we'll try going all Fancy Feast.

There are lots of people here that use the PetSafe 5 auto-feeder....it allows you to program up to 5 meals and works fine with wet food!!

You can put an ice cube in with the food to help keep it cool and fresh....and then when the compartment opens, you've already added extra water to the food! (which we recommend anyway)
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top