Hi everyone. Firstly, thanks all for being here and providing newbies with information. Felix was brought to my vet by his previous owner with a temperature of 90 degrees and he was in the midst of a DKA episode. His former owner couldn't really afford to take care of him so my vet was treating Felix for free. She had gone on maternity leave about 8 months ago and made arrangements for Felix's owner to see another doctor in the practice (free of charge) but the woman didn't bring him in during that time nor had my doctor seen him until a week and a half ago when he was in dire need of medical attention. My vet was extremely upset because Felix is a love and she knew that his owner didn't do the right thing for him. She also put her own cat to sleep from CRF just a few days earlier. I run an animal charity here in NJ so she called me to see if we could do anything. With a cracking voice she told me she "just couldn't put him to sleep." Because of his condition, I knew it would be difficult to adopt him out so I spoke with my husband (who has a huge heart) and we added # 10 (most of which have some medical condition) to our brood.
So my vet fixed him up and I picked him up from the animal hospital two Fridays ago. He was on 2 units of Lantus twice a day but when I brought him back for a checkup on Wednesday, his BG was 700. He was at the end of the 12 hour cycle by the time we had our appointment. So my vet upped his dosage and he was receiving 3 units. After doing more research, I changed his food (he was on Friskies with gravy and also was getting Friskies dry food at his previous owner's home) to Fancy Feast low carb versions and he now only gets wet food as well. I also went out on Friday and purchased a blood glucose monitor. I've learned how to draw a drop of blood from his ear. He's such a good boy, too -- as soon as he sees the plastic shoebox with everything in it he comes running over for his test. It's like he knows we're trying to help him.
So for the last 5 days or so, his 12 hour glucose reading has been 500+. Yesterday morning though, it was 380 and last night 245. This morning it was 103 -- so I tested again to confirm and got a 117 reading. I texted my vet who was not yet at work -- she has been wonderful communicating with me all along via text regarding his readings and how he is doing -- and she told me to skip a dose. Tonight his reading was 410. We're thinking that potentially he may only need one shot a day, but we'll see. If anyone has any insight on this or any suggestions as to other things we can do to help Felix, please, please let me know.
I am going to be doing a lot of reading over the next few days and will probably have some questions. I absolutely love my vet but also know that I need to be educated about this disease in order to have an intelligent conversation with her. Knowledge is power. I'm one of the moderators on the FIP Cat Support group on Yahoo and that is our motto. Without knowledge, how can you know the best way to care for your kitty?
Bless you all for taking such wonderful care of your babies -- they are wonderful creatures who bring such joy to life!!
Hugs to all and I am sure you'll be hearing from me soon,
Kathleen
So my vet fixed him up and I picked him up from the animal hospital two Fridays ago. He was on 2 units of Lantus twice a day but when I brought him back for a checkup on Wednesday, his BG was 700. He was at the end of the 12 hour cycle by the time we had our appointment. So my vet upped his dosage and he was receiving 3 units. After doing more research, I changed his food (he was on Friskies with gravy and also was getting Friskies dry food at his previous owner's home) to Fancy Feast low carb versions and he now only gets wet food as well. I also went out on Friday and purchased a blood glucose monitor. I've learned how to draw a drop of blood from his ear. He's such a good boy, too -- as soon as he sees the plastic shoebox with everything in it he comes running over for his test. It's like he knows we're trying to help him.
So for the last 5 days or so, his 12 hour glucose reading has been 500+. Yesterday morning though, it was 380 and last night 245. This morning it was 103 -- so I tested again to confirm and got a 117 reading. I texted my vet who was not yet at work -- she has been wonderful communicating with me all along via text regarding his readings and how he is doing -- and she told me to skip a dose. Tonight his reading was 410. We're thinking that potentially he may only need one shot a day, but we'll see. If anyone has any insight on this or any suggestions as to other things we can do to help Felix, please, please let me know.
I am going to be doing a lot of reading over the next few days and will probably have some questions. I absolutely love my vet but also know that I need to be educated about this disease in order to have an intelligent conversation with her. Knowledge is power. I'm one of the moderators on the FIP Cat Support group on Yahoo and that is our motto. Without knowledge, how can you know the best way to care for your kitty?
Bless you all for taking such wonderful care of your babies -- they are wonderful creatures who bring such joy to life!!
Hugs to all and I am sure you'll be hearing from me soon,
Kathleen