new to testing

Status
Not open for further replies.

Sonny's Mom

Member Since 2015
So Sonny has been on insulin now for almost 2 weeks. I picked up the Relion testing equipment this weekend and got the first sample this evening before I gave him his insulin. His number was 489 - assuming that is high, figure I should retest in a couple hours to see where we are at? He is now eating the dry MD food exclusivley and didnt want to try change to wet food until I started testing.
Any suggestions on how to proceed from here? He is still urinating a lot, think his weight is stable, but will check that tomorrow.
Susanne
 
Just took a second sample his number was down to 360 at 917pm. That's good, how much better should it be? Is it possible wet food will help?
 
You want to change the food over slowly adding more low carb wet and less dry food over about a week to try and avoid tummy problems and also so you can keep tabs on what's happening with his BG.

In the Tech Forum there is a spreadsheet you can set up and attach to your signature for Sonny's BG tests. You'll see in the spreadsheet that there are no times rather the columns are AMPS +1 +2 etc. this refers to the BG result just before the insulin is given (AM PreShot) and the BG results at how many hours after the insulin was given, eg +1 would be filled in if you got a test one hour after you shot.

Using the + system means we can all understand each other across different time zones. For example I have no idea where 9.17pm is in Sonny's cycle. If that was at +1 I'd be concerned you need to keep a close eye on him whereas if it was close to mid cycle there would be no need to be concerned.

Congratulations on mastering the home test and welcome to the vampire club :)
 
Hi Sonny's Mom,

Well done for starting to test! :cat:

The numbers you're seeing are not at all unusual for a newly diagnosed cat.
You should certainly see an improvement if you switch over to low carb wet food. As Vyktor's Mum said, this must be done slowly; and only if you are able to monitor Sonny's BG for any fall in numbers.

Here's some info about 'regulation' from the FDMB FAQ's:

6. REGULATION

Q6.1. What is regulation?

A6.1. There are different definitions of regulation. As hometesting becomes more common, we've been getting a better understanding of what cats and their humans might be capable of. Janet & Fitzgerald propose the following "regulation continuum":
  • Not treated [blood glucose typically above 300 mg/dl (16.7 mmol/L), poor clinical signs]
  • Treated but not regulated [often above 300 (16.7) and rarely near 100 (5.6), poor clinical signs]
  • Regulated [generally below 300 (16.7) with glucose nadir near 100 (5.6), good clinical signs, no hypoglycemia]
  • Well regulated [generally below 200-250 (11.1-13.9) and often near 100 (5.6), no hypoglycemia]
  • Tightly regulated [generally below 150 (8.3) and usually in the 60-120 (3.3-6.7) range, no hypoglycemia, still receiving insulin]
  • Normalized [60-120 (3.3-6.7) except perhaps directly after meals -- usually not receiving insulin]
There may also be an extra category of "mostly above 300 (16.7) but with good clinical signs" which occurs with some cats who are getting insulin. We don't know why it happens, but such a cat probably should not be considered to be regulated.
On the other end of the spectrum, it is possible for a cat who is not getting insulin to have blood glucose as low as 40 mg/dl (2.2 mmol/L) on a home glucometer. If you have a non-diabetic cat, try testing her with the same meter to get a safe comparison figure.

Q6.2. Which definition of regulation should be my goal?


A6.2. That depends on your individual situation. Generally, it's thought that a cat will suffer less long-term organ and nerve damage if his average blood glucose is lower rather than higher.
However, because preventing hypoglycemia is a top priority, it may not be practical to try for normal numbers. The ability of your cat to respond to food and insulin in a consistent manner and your own ability to monitor your cat are both important factors in setting your goal.
For most cats who are receiving insulin, "regulated" is a reasonable first goal, after which you can try for "well-regulated".
For the lucky minority who can be diet-controlled, normalization is often achievable.
It’s important to realize that some cats never consistently stay in regulation range in spite of all efforts, and yet they can be happy and healthy anyway.
Ultimately, you should tailor your goals to your cat's individual situation, and you should always consider your cat's quality of life as well as the numbers as you evaluate how well your treatment protocol is working.

The above info is from this document:
http://binkyspage.tripod.com/faq.html

Eliz
 
Thank you for all the information. For now I guess Sonny fits into the not regulated but clinically ok range. my goal this week will be to start switching over to wet food, slowly. I'll add a little a day to his dry food and see how it goes. I hate to keep pricking his ear but he seems ok with it so will monitor the change during the week.
I will take a look at the spreadsheet and try and figure that out too.
Seems tedious but my kitty is worth it. Thanks for all the support.
 
Over time, you'll gather data in Sonny's spreadsheet that will help you to learn his pattern of response to insulin. The data will act as a guide to the most important times you need to test mid-cycle (to check his nadir) and will assist you in ensuring that Sonny is on a safe insulin dose. All going well, Sonny's BG will gradually get lower. Having a record of his data will save you an awful lot of anxiety at lower numbers. (I speak from experience. ;) )
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top