Hi Sonny's Mom,
Well done for starting to test!
The numbers you're seeing are not at all unusual for a newly diagnosed cat.
You should certainly see an improvement if you switch over to low carb wet food. As Vyktor's Mum said, this must be done
slowly; and only if you are able to monitor Sonny's BG for any fall in numbers.
Here's some info about 'regulation' from the FDMB FAQ's:
6. REGULATION
Q6.1. What is regulation?
A6.1. There are different definitions of regulation. As hometesting becomes more common, we've been getting a better understanding of what cats and their humans might be capable of. Janet & Fitzgerald propose the following "regulation continuum":
- Not treated [blood glucose typically above 300 mg/dl (16.7 mmol/L), poor clinical signs]
- Treated but not regulated [often above 300 (16.7) and rarely near 100 (5.6), poor clinical signs]
- Regulated [generally below 300 (16.7) with glucose nadir near 100 (5.6), good clinical signs, no hypoglycemia]
- Well regulated [generally below 200-250 (11.1-13.9) and often near 100 (5.6), no hypoglycemia]
- Tightly regulated [generally below 150 (8.3) and usually in the 60-120 (3.3-6.7) range, no hypoglycemia, still receiving insulin]
- Normalized [60-120 (3.3-6.7) except perhaps directly after meals -- usually not receiving insulin]
There may also be an extra category of "mostly above 300 (16.7) but with good clinical signs" which occurs with some cats who are getting insulin. We don't know why it happens, but such a cat probably should not be considered to be regulated.
On the other end of the spectrum, it is possible for a cat who is not getting insulin to have blood glucose as low as 40 mg/dl (2.2 mmol/L) on a home glucometer. If you have a non-diabetic cat, try testing her with the same meter to get a safe comparison figure.
Q6.2. Which definition of regulation should be my goal?
A6.2. That depends on your individual situation. Generally, it's thought that a cat will suffer less long-term organ and nerve damage if his average blood glucose is lower rather than higher.
However, because preventing hypoglycemia is a top priority, it may not be practical to try for normal numbers. The ability of your cat to respond to food and insulin in a consistent manner and your own ability to monitor your cat are both important factors in setting your goal.
For most cats who are receiving insulin, "regulated" is a reasonable first goal, after which you can try for "well-regulated".
For the lucky minority who can be diet-controlled, normalization is often achievable.
It’s important to realize that some cats never consistently stay in regulation range in spite of all efforts, and yet they can be happy and healthy anyway.
Ultimately, you should tailor your goals to your cat's individual situation, and you should always consider your cat's quality of life as well as the numbers as you evaluate how well your treatment protocol is working.
The above info is from this document:
http://binkyspage.tripod.com/faq.html
Eliz