New to site

Status
Not open for further replies.

Sammysmom

Member Since 2013
Hello everyone!

My fiancé and I are new to the site and have had two cats since 2005 (adopted litter mates at 9 weeks from a rescue shelter). To the best of our knowledge they are half Siamese and half tabby. One of them (Leo) has had little to no health concerns. The other (Sammy) was diagnosed with diabetes about 2.5 years ago. Adopting these two has been such a blessing as we think they are the best kitties ever! However things have been difficult over the last two years. Sammy was first diagnosed when we took him to the emergency vet believing he was blocked but turned out to be frequent urination due to diabetes. Long story short, we were given some hasty advice and while ashamed to admit, we did not do the proper research nor were we informed by our veterinarian about the implications. We had been giving "blind" insulin over the last two years based on veterinary tests and reports. Recently, Sammy was visiting the litter box far too frequently and straining. We rushed him to the nearest ER vet and learned he was blocked. After a pricy and emotionally gut wrenching experience we learned a great deal about urinary health but also diabetes. Since he has discharged we have been attempting home glucose tests and have been more successful these last few times. Before this most recent emergency we were giving two units of prozinc twice daily (every 12 hours) with a combination of wet and dry DM food. After educating ourselves we have switched exclusively to wet DM food. Since then we have been able to get a few at home glucose readings. And now we are stumped. Of course on Tuesday we will consult with our veterinarian, but recent numbers have us somewhat concerned. On sat (1/19) Sam was given 1 unit of insulin with .5 can of DM food at 8 am. At 7pm we were finally able to get enough blood for a glucose test. It was 144. We tried very hard for another reading at 7am but to no avail so we did not give insulin for fear of hypoglycemia. Sam was fed his normal .5 can DM at 8 am. Then we tried all day for another BG test, couldn't get enough blood. Then miraculously before his 8 pm dinner we finally drew enough blood and got a 122 result. An hour and a half later got a 149. We know we need to get a reading at peak hours but now need to get more lancets, which we will do tomorrow. But until then, is there something we should be doing differently? We learned from this site that these are fairly decent numbers but we are still worried. Any advice/ tips would be greatly appreciated. We are so happy to have found this community and look forward to learning more from all of you!
 
Hi and welcome to FDMB.

You are doing a great job. Here are some hints to help you get blood from the ear. If you are not already doing so, try warming the ear before testing with either a warm washcloth or rice sock. Just make sure that it is not too hot. Also try massaging the ear before testing to help get the blood to flow. I usually massage from the base of the ear towards the spot where I am going to test. Also, even if you are not successful, always reward your cat with a low carb treat after you test.
 
I'd suggest you proceed carefully. We suggest not to shoot if the preshot is under 200, until you have some data that will help you know how he might react. And even then, few experienced people shoot under 150 with ProZinc.

I'd work on getting good at the testing. Heating the ear is usually very important in the beginning as warm ears bleed best. You can use a rice sack or a pill bottle filled with very warm water. It also helps at first to use a large lancet. The 30-31 gauge work fine for humans; new diabetics often need 25-27 gauge. And have something behind the ear to poke against- a folded kleenix or the pill bottle or rice sack.

Once you have some numbers mid cycle to see how low the insulin is taking him, then you can have a clearer picture of what is happening. We have a color coded spreadsheet that can be a big help in seeing patterns and trends in his numbers. Here are the directions:
http://www.felinediabetes.com/FDMB/viewtopic.php?f=6&t=18207

It's a little tricky. Ask for help if you have trouble.

I would not shoot a preshot under 200. Wait 20 minutes (without feeding) and retest. We want to be sure the number is definitely rising. Then he is over 200, shoot. BUT based on his previous midcycle numbers, maybe a reduced dose. If you want help figuring out what dose to shoot based on a preshot, post and ask.
 
Thank you for the advice! We have not given insulin since sat. Morning around 8am since his numbers have been low.i have read its better to let them run a little high so we have not given him insulin since.thank you for the tips about testing! This will be very helpful and we appreciate this site!
 
He is drinking a little more than usual although not seeming to pee more than normal.we are going to do another check around 1:05 now that we have more lancets. The rice sock seems to help so hopefully this time we will get a little more blood.
 
Gosh! We are having such a hard time getting enough blood! We did the rice sock, and then after getting some blood massaged and tried the glucometer but it still wasn't enough. Any tricks to trying the left ear as I am right handed and poor Sammy's right ear has been poked so many times! I really want to get a mid- day read so any advice would be much appreciated!
 
You have something behind it to poke against? We used a small makeup sponge; others use a folded kleenix. What size lancet? We found it much easier to use the lancet pen but to take off the clear cap so we should see exactly where we were poking. Where are you poking? Here is a picture of the sweet spot (Step 5):

Sweet spot see step 5
 
Thank you Sue and Oliver! We used a folded up paper towel this time and it was much easier! Sammy has not had insulin since Saturday morning when I gave him 1 unit. Today, we feed him at 8:30 am did not give insulin and at 3 pm BG was at 113! My vet is supposed to call me soon,but given his lowing numbers I'm wondering what you all think?. I so appreciate everyone's help :)
 
Our general guideline is that a cat is in remission when, off insulin, they run from the 40s - 120s with the majority of the time in double digits. Once they are in that range for two weeks, we declare them "off the juice". Since he is newly on wet low carb, I would give him some time and see if he continues to go down in numbers. Take a test when you would normally shoot, and then midcycle and keep track of the numbers. If you want, you can return the DM to the vet (most cats tire of the taste because it is liver based) for a refund. Say he won't eat it. And go buy some Fancy Feast classics or Friskies pate (not too many seafood varieties though). If you get some of the lower carb (4-8% range) it could possibly bring him down further. It does take some cats a week or two of the wet diet before they quit dropping and level off; some drop with the first feeding and don't go down much after that.

If you get some preshots over 200, you might consider a drop of insulin. (Come on and ask for advice) But I would just continue to monitor and see if he comes down on his own. It may be that you have a diet regulated diabetic - the wet low carb can make such a difference!
 
Thanks again, I appreciate the help. We are planning on testing again in about fifteen minutes. Why do you think the vet would suggest DM over fancy feast, which is lower in carbs? Just curious why she would recommend the DM?
 
Most vets get the majority of their nutrition information from the makers of the prescription food. Naturally, the manufacturers tout the benefits - consistent ingredients, high quality, monitored production. And the other incentive for the vet is profit from selling the food. The other problem with the prescription foods is that they are not low carb. There is a web site by a vet who has made a special study of feline nutrition at www.catinfo.org and on it there is a spreadsheet of many prescription and off the shelf foods listing the nutritional analyses. There is also a wealth of other information on the site.
 
I really want to thank everyone for the wonderful advice and support. I am so happy to have found all of you. It has been a few years of battling with friends and family about scheduling due to kitty feeding and insulin. For the most part people don't seem to understand and I'm so grateful to have found a community of people who get it! Thanks to all of you we have become increasingly successful testing Sammy's blood sugar. Now almost a week off insulin we have been getting normal numbers two hours after eating

Wednesday 113
Thursday 84

However today two hours after eating we got, 195 . We are trying to do a mini curve today to get more data, but I would be lying if I said i wasn't slightly disappointed with the 195 :( our vet was thinking that his diabetes had gone into remission. I am wondering what all of you think? Of course I know more data is needed... But was curious if anyone has experienced this before?
 
My guy that has been in remission for over two years did that to me a while back after a year in the 60s he suddenly gives me a 185! Then later that same day hacked up a huge hairball and when I retested the next day he was back down into the 60s again. So it maybe just a fluke for Sammy but it does bear watching

Mel, Maxwell, Autumn & The Fur Gang
 
My vet keeps telling me that DM is the best for this. I have looked at several charts and I see that there ate lower percentages such as fancy feast but the cans are much smaller and I'm having a hard time figuring out just what is the best. I'm not as concerned about money as I am finding the best food as it seems to pay off in the long run to have done research and be willing to pay a little more up front. What to do?
 
A lot of people here feed fancy feast classic pates, friskies pates or Wellness grain free with much success! Plus they are relatively well priced.

I have seen fancy feast as low as 60c in Petsmart ( right now actually) for a 3.5oz can which i think is pretty good. I believe two of those cans are cheaper and more food than in a DM can.. at least where i get it here.
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top