WenDawg
Member
Hi everyone. My cat has recently been diagnosed with diabetes and I just picked him up an hour ago from the vet with a bottle of ProZinc (U40). He received his first dose today at the vet's office and they kept him all day to run a curve. They were waiting for me to completely switch his diet to low carb before starting the insulin.
From everything that I've read on this amazing board, everyone seems to be dosing twice a day. The instructions I was given was to dose once a day. Does this sound correct? :?: They are starting him out on 2 units once a day. It just seems odd to me to only dose once a day when everyone else is dosing twice. I have a monitor, so I am able to test him as frequently as needed. While I don't have a spreadsheet set up within Google documents yet, his numbers consistently run in the mid 300's (without insulin).
I also questioned them because the vet said I didn't need to worry about a 'no shot' cut off point. But, from what I've read on here, a newly diagnosed diabetic cat should not receive a shot if preshot numbers are below 200. Basically, she was saying don't worry about the preshot number, just give him the insulin every day. That sounded a bit odd to me as well.
Thank you in advance!
From everything that I've read on this amazing board, everyone seems to be dosing twice a day. The instructions I was given was to dose once a day. Does this sound correct? :?: They are starting him out on 2 units once a day. It just seems odd to me to only dose once a day when everyone else is dosing twice. I have a monitor, so I am able to test him as frequently as needed. While I don't have a spreadsheet set up within Google documents yet, his numbers consistently run in the mid 300's (without insulin).
I also questioned them because the vet said I didn't need to worry about a 'no shot' cut off point. But, from what I've read on here, a newly diagnosed diabetic cat should not receive a shot if preshot numbers are below 200. Basically, she was saying don't worry about the preshot number, just give him the insulin every day. That sounded a bit odd to me as well.
Thank you in advance!