Squeakycats
Active Member
Hello! My kitty Misha (12 years old, about 14 lbs, neutered male, no other health conditions right now but history of pancreatitis) was on Lantus for several years and went into remission twice, but since his last relapse, we just haven't been able to get him well-regulated--any dose that gave him decent numbers would periodically make him plummet like crazy, possibly because the doses were overlapping.
We recently switched to Prozinc, thinking that maybe the shorter duration of action would be good for him. So far, I am not thrilled with how this experiment is going. I've been getting advice in another thread (I'll add a link here in a sec) but everyone rightly suggested that I bring the conversation over here and ask you Prozinc experts for help!
I had him on 1.2 u for a week, and after a curve confirmed the crappy numbers I'd been getting during spot checks, I went up to 1.4. His first cycle on that dose seemed ok, but the second one took him from an AMPS of 488 to a PMPS of 52 (I am using an AlphaTrak meter at the vet's request and tested twice at PMPS to confirm that number--other test was 56). For the AlphaTrak meter, this is pretty low. I skipped the shot, obviously.
I was then up feeding him high-carb food and re-testing for several hours. In the past, on Lantus, if I fed him a couple of high-carb snacks, he generally leveled out pretty fast and was at a high number in the morning (his lows were always at night). But in this case, it took four hours of steady feeding to get him back into the blue--and this morning's number was still the lowest he's had at AMPS on Prozinc. What is this kitty doing?
I have sent all this info to his vet and am awaiting a reply, but for now I dropped the dose big-time (to .8u). I am using U-100 syringes and the conversion chart, by the way. I don't think I screwed up yesterday morning's dose--I've been doing this a long time and have been extremely careful as we've started this new insulin--so I am extremely puzzled about what happened that kept him so low for so long--I thought Prozinc was "in and out"! Any advice is much appreciated, and I'll post here again when I hear from his vet and/or at shot time tonight...thanks, all!!!!! PS He does have a spreadsheet; the link is in my signature.
We recently switched to Prozinc, thinking that maybe the shorter duration of action would be good for him. So far, I am not thrilled with how this experiment is going. I've been getting advice in another thread (I'll add a link here in a sec) but everyone rightly suggested that I bring the conversation over here and ask you Prozinc experts for help!
I had him on 1.2 u for a week, and after a curve confirmed the crappy numbers I'd been getting during spot checks, I went up to 1.4. His first cycle on that dose seemed ok, but the second one took him from an AMPS of 488 to a PMPS of 52 (I am using an AlphaTrak meter at the vet's request and tested twice at PMPS to confirm that number--other test was 56). For the AlphaTrak meter, this is pretty low. I skipped the shot, obviously.
I was then up feeding him high-carb food and re-testing for several hours. In the past, on Lantus, if I fed him a couple of high-carb snacks, he generally leveled out pretty fast and was at a high number in the morning (his lows were always at night). But in this case, it took four hours of steady feeding to get him back into the blue--and this morning's number was still the lowest he's had at AMPS on Prozinc. What is this kitty doing?
I have sent all this info to his vet and am awaiting a reply, but for now I dropped the dose big-time (to .8u). I am using U-100 syringes and the conversion chart, by the way. I don't think I screwed up yesterday morning's dose--I've been doing this a long time and have been extremely careful as we've started this new insulin--so I am extremely puzzled about what happened that kept him so low for so long--I thought Prozinc was "in and out"! Any advice is much appreciated, and I'll post here again when I hear from his vet and/or at shot time tonight...thanks, all!!!!! PS He does have a spreadsheet; the link is in my signature.